The Red River Resistance was a sequence of events that led to the creation of the Province of Manitoba.

For 200 years, most of what would become Manitoba was under the control of the Hudson’s Bay Company (HBC). The area was called Rupert’s Land and HBC was working with the British Government to transfer this land to the newly formed country of Canada. The Métis were left out of this process, despite being the majority of the people living in the area at the time.

In 1869 the Métis living in the Red River Settlement, blocked this transfer of land and created the provisional government. It was made up largely of Métis settlers, led by Louis Riel and they were determined to enter Confederation – if they entered it at all – on their own terms.

To stress the need for negotiations, the Métis stationed themselves at Upper Fort Garry, while the Canadian faction were stationed at Lower Fort Garry. As tensions rose, armed conflict broke out between the two sides.

The Métis further asserted their rights by establishing the List of Rights which allowed for further negotiations with Canada and served as a basis for the Manitoba Act. These developments showcase the Red River Settlement working constructively to find a solution to the threats posed by the original plan for the land transfer.

As the unrest continued, Riel’s provisional government established the Legislative Assembly of Assiniboia to negotiate an agreement. Through the collective diligence of the Assembly, the Manitoba Act was passed and the Province of Manitoba entered into Confederation.

La résistance de la rivière Rouge est une séquence d’événements qui a mené à la création de la province du Manitoba.

Pendant 200 ans, la majorité de ce qui représente maintenant le Manitoba était sous l’emprise de la Compagnie de la Baie d’Hudson (CBH). La région portait le nom de Terre de Rupert et la CBH travaillait avec le gouvernement britannique pour transférer cette terre au nouveau pays du Canada. Cependant, même si les Métis étaient majoritaires dans la région à ce moment-là, ils ont été exclus du processus.

En 1869, les Métis qui vivaient dans la Colonie de la Rivière-Rouge ont bloqué ce transfert et créé un gouvernement provisoire. Ce gouvernement était principalement composé de colons métis dirigés par Louis Riel. Ils étaient déterminés à faire partie de la Confédération, et ce, à leurs propres conditions.

Pour faire comprendre la nécessité de négocier, les Métis s’étaient placés à Upper Fort Garry, tandis que la faction canadienne s’était positionnée à Lower Fort Garry. Un conflit armé a éclaté des deux côtés alors que la tension montait.

Les Métis ont solidifié leurs droits en établissant la Liste des droits, ce qui leur a permis de continuer à négocier avec le Canada et a servi de fondement à l’Acte du Manitoba. La Colonie de la Rivière-Rouge s’efforçait donc de trouver une solution constructive aux menaces découlant du plan original de transfert de la terre.

Lorsque l’agitation montait, le gouvernement provisoire de Louis Riel a établi l’Assemblée législative d’Assiniboia dans le but de négocier une entente. Grâce à la diligence collective de l’Assemblée, l’Acte du Manitoba a été adopté et la province du Manitoba est entrée dans la Confédération.