Maker of replica: Parks Canada Conservation Department (maker of original unknown)
Date: 1980 (Date of original 19th c.)
Media: Maraglass Epoxy (original object porcelain)
Dimensions: 11 cm (h) x 3.8 cm (w)
Registration number: X.80.3.12-.13

Location: Living room

This white palm-sized statuette of St. Joseph is a reproduction of one that is owned by the St. Boniface Museum. According to legend, one day when Riel was praying in his cell after he had been arrested, the statue fell off a shelf and broke. He took this to be an omen of bad things to come.

The original statue is Parian. Parian porcelain was used in the nineteenth century to cast small figures, busts, and occasionally other stoneware such as vases or jugs. The medium was useful because it allowed for mass-production and affordable prices, but the final appearance looked like carved marble. Parks Canada’s reproduction – made from Maraglass Epoxy and then coloured white – was cast from the original statue in 1980. It is meant for interpretive use and it is currently on display at Riel House. Louis Riel came from a Catholic Métis household and the original statue belonged to his family.

The fact that this statue is a representation of Joseph is also significant: Riel and the Catholic community at Red River recognized St. Joseph as the primary patron saint of the Métis people. Among Catholics St. Joseph is also identified as the patron saint of Canada, immigrants, fathers, working people, and a variety of other social groups and places. In religious painting and sculpture saints are typically recognizable from specific attributes and physical traits. Joseph, the husband of Mary, was a carpenter. Though this statue is headless, St. Joseph is recognizable here by the carpenter’s square that he holds in his left hand.

Fabricant de la réplique : Service de conservation de Parcs Canada (auteur de la statuette originale inconnu)
Date : 1980 (date de l’original 19e s.)
Matière : Résine Maraglass (objet original en porcelaine)
Dimensions : 11 cm (h) x 3,8 cm (l)
Numéro d’enregistrement : X.80.3.12-.13

Lieu : Salon

Cette statuette blanche de la taille d’une main qui représente saint Joseph est une reproduction de la statuette appartenant au musée de Saint-Boniface. Selon la légende, la statuette est tombée d’une étagère et s’est brisée un jour où Louis Riel priait dans sa cellule après son arrestation. L’histoire dit que Louis Riel a considéré cet incident comme un mauvais présage.

La statuette originale est en parian. Le parian est une porcelaine qui était utilisée au 19e siècle pour mouler des petits personnages, des bustes et parfois des poteries telles que des vases ou des cruches. La matière était pratique, car elle permettait de produire en série et à des prix abordables, et son apparence finale semblable à celle du marbre sculpté. La reproduction de Parcs Canada – faite en résine Maraglass puis teinte en blanc – a été moulée à partir de la statue originale en 1980. Elle est utilisée à des fins d’interprétation et est exposée à la Maison-Riel. Louis Riel était issu d’une famille métisse catholique et la statue originale appartenait à sa famille.

Le fait que cette statue représente saint Joseph est également important : Louis Riel et la communauté catholique de la colonie de la rivière Rouge reconnaissaient saint Joseph comme le saint patron du peuple Métis. Chez les catholiques, saint Joseph est également le patron du Canada, des immigrants, des pères, des travailleurs et d’une variété d’autres groupes sociaux et lieux. Dans la peinture et la sculpture religieuses, les saints sont reconnaissables grâce à certains traits physiques et attributs typiques. Joseph, l’époux de Marie, était un charpentier. Bien que la statuette n’ait plus de tête, saint Joseph est reconnaissable à l’équerre de charpentier qu’il tient dans sa main gauche.