Born on October 22, 1844, Louis Riel was the leader of the Métis Nation and the founder of the province of Manitoba.

Honoured as the father of Manitoba, Riel named the province and became the first leader of the Legislative Assembly of Assiniboia, the legislature established under the provisional government that brought Manitoba into Confederation in 1870.

Riel was responsible for creating the List of Rights, which contents formed the basis of the Manitoba Act and emphasized cultural, linguistic, and minority rights.

Riel was elected as a Member of Parliament to serve in the House of Commons in Ottawa three times. Although he took an Oath of Allegiance to Queen Victoria and signed his name in the register, he was never able to assume his seat due to political pressures.

Despite his numerous successes, Riel made sacrifices in his life for the greater good of the Métis Nation, but also for the First Nations, English, and French within Manitoba. Twice he led resistance movements in defence of Métis political and land rights, in Manitoba in 1869-70 and in Saskatchewan in 1885.

Today, Manitobans celebrate Riel on the third Monday of February each year, a provincially recognized holiday. Across Canada, people also honour Riel on November 16. This date marks the anniversary of the day that he gave his life for the Metis Nation.

Learn more about Louis Riel, his family, and the Métis people at Riel House National Historic Site. The site was home to Louis Riel’s family, and following his death his body was returned to his family home to lay in state prior to his burial in the St. Boniface Cathedral cemetery. An Historic Sites and Monuments Board of Canada plaque commemorating Riel as a National Historic Person is also located at the site.

Louis Riel est né le 22 octobre 1844. Ce chef de la Nation métisse est le fondateur de la province du Manitoba.

C’est Louis Riel, le père du Manitoba, qui a nommé la province. Il a également été le premier chef de l’Assemblée législative Assiniboia, l’organe législatif établi pour le gouvernement provisoire qui a permis au Manitoba de faire partie de la Confédération en 1870.

C’est à lui que l’on attribue la création de la Liste des droits, mettant l’accent sur les droits culturels et linguistiques, ainsi que sur les droits des minorités. Cette liste a aussi servi de fondement à l’Acte du Manitoba.

Louis Riel a été élu député à la Chambre des communes à Ottawa à trois reprises. Même s’il a fait un serment d’allégeance à la reine Victoria et signé son nom sur le registre, il n’a jamais réussi à occuper son siège en raison de pressions politiques.

Malgré ses nombreuses réussites, il a fait, de son vivant, des sacrifices pour le bien de la Nation métisse, mais aussi pour les Premières Nations, les Anglais et les Français installés au Manitoba. Il a dirigé deux mouvements de résistance dans le but de défendre les droits politiques et fonciers des Métis, au Manitoba en 1869-1970, puis en Saskatchewan en 1885.

De nos jours, les Manitobains célèbrent la vie de Louis Riel le troisième lundi de février de chaque année. Il s’agit d’un jour férié reconnu dans la province. Ailleurs au Canada, les gens rendent hommage à Louis Riel le 16 novembre. Cette date marque le jour où il a donné sa vie pour la Nation métisse.

Apprenez-en plus sur Louis Riel, sa famille et les Métis au lieu historique national de la Maison-Riel. C’est là qu’habitait la famille de Louis Riel. Après son décès, sa dépouille a été renvoyée chez lui pour y être exposée avant son enterrement au cimetière de la cathédrale de St. Boniface. Une plaque de la Commission des lieux et monuments historiques du Canada commémore Louis Riel à titre de personnage historique national.