Artist Michael Belmore and curator Natalia Lebedinskaia pose with sculpture Coalescence, which features 16 stones carved to fit one another, and inlaid with copper leaf, to give the appearance of glowing coal.
“The work itself is like a community, a bunch of individuals who make a community— who once connected become something, create something.” - Michael Belmore

Severe spring flooding in Northern Manitoba has brought many challenges to the town of Churchill, but for one internationally renowned artist, the heavy waters mirror the themes of his most recent art piece.

Michael Belmore is an Indigenous artist who recently unveiled a visionary installation called Coalescence in front of the Parks Canada Visitor Centre in Churchill. Inspired by the interconnection of land and water, Belmore conceived Coalescence as a modern reflection of the effects of ancient glacial movements through Central and Western Canada.

To represent the message of movement and connection, the piece was intended to be divided up with portions migrating south to Riding Mountain National Park, The Forks National Historic Site, and Grasslands National Park. Each site would become the permanent location for one of four segmented portions of the finished sculpture. The final segment would remain in Churchill as a permanent fixture on the eastern shore of the Churchill River at Cape Merry Battery, part of Prince of Wales Fort National Historic Site. Ironically heavy spring flooding in Northern Manitoba have meant the exhibit is unable to make the summer migration as originally planned, and the movement and installation of Coalescence will be delayed by roughly a year. Although this is a significant change from the original plan, it speaks to the intimate connection water and land hold, deepening the message of Belmore’s work.

This is only one of a series of Landmarks 2017 initiatives which consist of contemporary art pieces that are being installed in Parks Canada’s national parks and national historic sites across the country. The 11 curated exhibits aim to inspire the public to explore and deepen their connection to the land while also creating opportunity for thoughtful discussion.

Belmore’s distinctive exhibit, curated by Natalia Lebedinskaia of the Art Gallery of Western Manitoba, made its public debut on June 10, 2017 as part of this esteemed Canada 150 Signature Initiative.

To create the piece, Belmore carved and carefully positioned 16 large stones, hand selected from the surrounding Churchill landscape, to create a permanent representation of the temporary foam of lapping waves. The precisely placed stones were then inlaid with copper leaf giving the illusion of radiating heat. Over time, the stones will settle into place, and the copper will green and slowly fade to black.

For more information, visit Landmarks 2017.

L’artiste Michael Belmore et la conservatrice Natalia Lebedinskaia près de la sculpture Coalescence, composée de 16 pierres sculptées de façon à s’assembler et incrustées de feuilles de cuivre de façon à donner l’impression de charbon luisant.
« L’œuvre elle-même ressemble à une communauté, à un groupe d’individus qui forment une communauté, qui, une fois liés, deviennent quelque chose, créent quelque chose. » Michael Belmore

De graves inondations dans le nord du Manitoba ont posé nombre de problèmes pour la ville de Churchill, mais pour un artiste de renommée internationale, les eaux reflètent les thèmes de sa toute dernière création.

Les importantes inondations dans le Nord du Manitoba ont entraînés de nombreuses difficultés pour la ville de Churchill, mais pour un artiste de renommée internationale, les eaux abondantes reflètent les thèmes abordés dans sa plus récente œuvre.

Michael Belmore, artiste autochtone visionnaire, a récemment dévoilé son œuvre devant le centre d’accueil de Parcs Canada à Churchill. Inspiré par le lien entre la terre et l’eau, l’artiste a créé Coalescence, une réflexion moderne sur l’effet des mouvements des anciens glaciers dans le Centre et l’Ouest du Canada. Pour transmettre le message du mouvement et du lien, l’œuvre devait être divisée, certaines composantes migrant vers le sud, au parc national de Mont-Riding, au lieu historique national de La Fourche et au parc national des Prairies. Chaque endroit deviendrait l’emplacement permanent de l’un des quatre segments de l’œuvre. Le dernier segment demeurerait à Churchill, sur la rive orientale de la rivière Churchill à la batterie du cap Merry, qui fait partie du lieu historique national Fort Prince-de-Galles.

Ironiquement, les grandes inondations printanières dans le Nord du Manitoba ont empêché cette migration estivale comme c’était prévu. Le déplacement et l’installation de Coalescence seront reportées d’environ un an. Bien qu’il s’agisse d’un changement important par rapport au plan initial, il illustre bien le lien étroit qui existe entre l’eau et la terre, donnant un sens encore plus profond au message de l’œuvre de Michael Belmore.

Ce n’est là que l’une des initiatives de Repères 2017 qui consistent en œuvres d’art contemporaines installées dans les parcs et lieux historiques nationaux de Parcs Canada au pays. Les 11 expositions commandées visent à inviter le public à explorer la terre et à s’en rapprocher ainsi qu’à susciter des occasions de discussions enrichissantes.

L’exposition de l’œuvre particulière de Michael Belmore, organisée par Natalia Lebedinskaia de la galerie Art Gallery of Western Manitoba, est ouverte au public depuis le 10 juin 2017 dans le cadre des projets Signature de Canada 150.

Pour créer son œuvre, Michael Belmore a sculpté et placé soigneusement 16 grosses pierres qu’il a sélectionnées à la main dans la région de Churchill en vue d’illustrer de façon permanente l’écume temporaire formée par le clapotis des vagues. Il a disposé avec précision les blocs dans lesquels il a incrusté des feuilles de cuivre pour donner une impression de chaleur rayonnante. Au fil du temps, les pierres prendront leur place; le cuivre verdira et tournera lentement au noir.

Renseignements : Repères 2017