Seek the thrill of adventure in Churchill, Manitoba... and see the astonishing Prince of Wales Fort built 250 years ago on the bare, windswept coast of Hudson Bay. Get a real sense of a fur trader’s life in the subarctic at this massive stone outpost. Hop on a boat to the fort and experience unforgettable whale watching en route – more than 3,000 beluga whales gather in the Churchill River in July and August.

Featured things to do

Hours of operation

Prince of Wales Fort
Open July to August

Cape Merry Battery
Open Oct. 10 – Nov. 18, 2017 
Guided tours available

Complete schedule


Free admission for youth in 2018. Other fees still apply.
Detailed fees list

Contact us

Telephone: 204-675-8863
Toll-free: 1-888-773-8888

Sites nearby

  • Wapusk National Park

    A vast subarctic wilderness of tundra and boreal forest, Wapusk protects one of the world’s largest known polar bear maternity denning areas, as well as more than 200 bird species, caribou, wolverine, arctic hare and foxes.

  • York Factory National Historic Site

    Perched incongruously amid vast tundra wilderness, York Factory was the Hudson’s Bay Company’s major trading and administration centre for centuries. Its grounds and grand Depot, filled with artifacts, provide profound insights into a pivotal period in Canada’s founding days.

Vivez une aventure forte en émotions à Churchill au Manitoba. Découvrez l’impressionnant fort Prince-de-Galles, construit il y a 250 ans sur la côte dénudée de la baie d’Hudson balayée par les vents. Saisissez ce qu’était la vie des commerçants de fourrure des régions subarctiques dans cet avant-poste éloigné fait de pierres massives. Un petit tour en bateau jusqu’au fort vous permettra d’observer les baleines. Une expérience inoubliable : plus de 3000 belugas se rassemblent dans la rivière Churchill pendant les mois de juillet at d'août.

En vedette

Heures d’ouverture

Le Fort-Prince-de-Galles
Ouvert de juillet à août

La Batterie du cap Merry
Ouvert 10 octobre au 18 novembre 2017
Visites guidées offertes

Horaire complet

Tarifs

Entrée gratuite en 2017. Les autres frais s’appliquent.
Tarification complète

Nous joindre

Téléphone : 204-675-8863
Sans frais : 1-888-773-8888
Courriel : mannorth.nhs@pc.gc.ca

Sites de Parcs Canada à proximité

  • Parc national Wapusk

    Wapusk est un vaste territoire sauvage subarctique où cohabitent la toundra et la forêt boréale. Il protège non seulement une des plus grandes aires de mise bas des ours polaire au monde, mais aussi des caribous, des carcajous, des lièvres, des renards arctiques et plus de 200 espèces d'oiseaux.

  • Lieu historique national York Factory

    Se dressant curieusement au beau milieu de la solitaire toundra, le vaste entrepôt de York Factory renferme un trésor d’artéfacts illustrant une période charnière de la fondation du Canada, car il fut pendant plusieurs siècles le centre névralgique des opérations de la Compagnie de la Baie d’Hudson.