Lower Fort Garry National Historic Site recounts a turning point in Canada’s history. On the banks of the Red River stand the original buildings of the fort, surrounded by limestone walls and underneath expansive prairie skies. Explore over 46 000 objects and nine buildings, including the the Big House, Fur Loft and Men’s House representing the mid-1800s in the fort. Step outside the fort walls and discover historic viewscapes, alongside the Indigenous encampment, Blacksmith shop and Farm Manager’s House. With one of the finest collections of early stone buildings in Western Canada, Lower Fort Garry will inspire you with its architectural and historical significance.

Lower Fort Garry National Historic Site boasts unparalleled film, photographic and recreational possibilities which leave visitors feeling re-energized and inspired to return. To care for this site and ensure visitor experiences are not impacted, commercial film and photography activities have special considerations.


How to apply
 

Commercial film and photography activities require approval by Parks Canada. A Parks Canada Film and TV Request Form must be completed in full and submitted a minimum of 15 days prior to the intended commercial film/photography activities to allow sufficient time for evaluation.

Please be sure to follow all park regulations while photographing or filming in the Parks Canada places. Consult the Guide to film/photo shoots at Parks Canada for rules relating to small-scale travel media film/photo shoots.

Download Film and TV Request Form (343 kb)

Download Photography Request Form (343 kb)

 
What we look for
 

Applications are assessed against Canada's National Parks Act, National Parks General Regulations and the project’s potential contribution to public awareness, appreciation and understanding of Canada’s national parks and Parks Canada. Parks Canada reserves the right to deny applications that do not support Parks Canada’s mandate, values and operating principles.

If applications are approved, a film/photography permit will be issued.

 
Insurances and fees
 

Proof of comprehensive liability insurance policy must be received by Parks Canada in order for application to be complete.

Please note that a non-refundable application fee may apply. Fees are assessed based on the scope, location and crew size associated with the project. Discounts may apply once the nature of the proposal has been evaluated.

Further information regarding Insurance and Fees can be found on the Parks Canada Film and TV Request Form.

Download Film and TV Request Form (343 kb)

Download Photography Request Form (343 kb)

 
Aerial filming
 

Usage of aircraft, including Unmanned Aerial Vehicles (UAVs/drones) are restricted under the Canada National Parks Act and National Parks of Canada Aircraft Access Regulations.

Supplementary information governing the use of UAVs in Canada can be found through the National Parks of Canada Aircraft Access Regulations, and the Aeronautics Act.

Additional information and/or permissions are required for all aerial filming requests. Further direction from Parks Canada will be provided upon receipt of aerial filming requests.

 

Contact us

Ellen Paulley
ellen.paulley@canada.ca
Public Relations and Communications Officer
204-984-1758


Interested in filming or taking photos in Riding Mountain National Park? Contact:

Shane Robins
pc.info-riding@canada.ca
Promotions and Non-Personal Media Officer, Riding Mountain National Park
204-848-7112

Le lieu historique national de Lower Fort Garry raconte un tournant de l’histoire du Canada. Sur les berges de la rivière Rouge se dressent les bâtiments originaux du fort, entourés de murs en pierre calcaire, sous l’immense ciel des prairies. Découvrez plus de 46 000 objets et neuf bâtiments, dont la grande maison, l’entrepôt de fourrures et la maison des hommes célibataires représentant le milieu des années 1800 au fort. En dehors des murs du fort, vous apercevrez des paysages historiques en plus du campement autochtone, de la forge et de la maison du gérant de la ferme. Grâce à l’une des plus belles collections d’anciens bâtiments en pierre de l’Ouest canadien, l’importance architecturale et historique de Lower Fort Garry ne manquera pas de vous inspirer.

Le lieu historique national de Lower Fort Garry présente des possibilités inégalées de tournage de films, de séances de photos et de loisirs qui ré-énergisent les visiteurs et les incitent à revenir. Afin d’assurer le bien-être de ce lieu et de faire en sorte que l’expérience des visiteurs ne soit pas amoindrie, les séances de photos et les tournages de films commerciaux doivent respecter diverses considérations.


Comment faire une demande
 

Les tournages de films et les séances de photos de nature commerciale doivent être approuvés par Parcs Canada. Vous devez dûment remplir une demande de permis pour tournage de films et d’émissions télévisées auprès de Parcs Canada et nous l’envoyer au moins 15 jours avant la date proposée du tournage ou de la séance de photos afin de nous donner suffisamment de temps pour évaluer votre demande.

Veuillez prendre soin de respecter tous les règlements du parc lorsque vous faites des séances de photos ou des tournages dans les lieux de Parcs Canada. Consultez le Guide sur les tournages et les séances de photos à Parcs Canada pour prendre connaissance des règlements concernant les séances de photos et les tournages de voyage de moindre envergure.

Télécharger le formulaire de demande de tournage de films et d’émissions télévisées (348 kb)

Télécharger le formulaire de demande de photographie (348 kb)

 
Ce dont nous avons besoin
 

Les demandes sont évaluées en fonction de la Loi sur les parcs nationaux du Canada, du Règlement général sur les parcs nationaux et de l’apport éventuel du projet en matière de sensibilisation, d’appréciation et de compréhension du public concernant les parcs nationaux du Canada et Parcs Canada. Parcs Canada se réserve le droit de refuser les demandes qui ne s’inscrivent pas dans son mandat, ses valeurs et ses principes de gestion.

Les demandes qui seront approuvées recevront un permis de tournage ou de séance de photos.

 
Assurances et frais
 

Pour que votre demande soit complète, Parcs Canada doit recevoir la preuve de votre assurance-responsabilité globale.

Veuillez prendre note qu’il y a parfois des frais de demande non remboursables. Ces frais sont prélevés en fonction de la portée, du lieu et de l’effectif de tournage ou de photographie du projet. Un rabais peut vous être accordé une fois que la nature de votre proposition a été évaluée.

De plus amples renseignements sur les assurances et les frais se trouvent sur le formulaire de demande de tournage de films et d’émissions télévisées de Parcs Canada.

Télécharger le formulaire de demande de tournage de films et d’émissions télévisées (348 kb)

Télécharger le formulaire de demande de photographie (348 kb)

 
Tournages aériens
 

En vertu de la Loi sur les parcs nationaux du Canada et du Règlement sur l’accès par aéronef aux parcs nationaux du Canada, l’utilisation d’aéronefs et de véhicules aériens sans pilote (UAV ou drones) est assujettie à des restrictions.

De plus amples renseignements sur l’utilisation d’UAV au Canada se trouvent dans le Règlement sur l’accès par aéronef aux parcs nationaux du Canada et dans la Loi sur l’aéronautique.

Des renseignements supplémentaires doivent être fournis et/ou des permissions additionnelles s’avèrent nécessaires pour toutes les demandes de tournages aériens. Parcs Canada vous donnera plus de détails après avoir reçu vos demandes de tournages aériens.

 

Pour communiquer avec nous

Jared Kist
jared.kist@canada.ca
Par intérim Gestionnaire, relations externes, Unité de gestion du Manitoba
204-983-2851


Vous voulez tourner des films ou prendre des photos au parc national du Mont-Riding? Coordonnées :

Shane Robins
pc.info-riding@canada.ca
Agent, Promotion et Médias sans personnel, Parc national du Mont-Riding
204-848-7112