A ceremony will be held at Lower Fort Garry National Historic Site to honour members of Treaty No. 1 First Nation communities who served to protect Canada and her allies during both world wars. Parks Canada, in collaboration with the seven Treaty No. 1 First Nations and the Canadian Armed Forces, will host this community event in the presence of Chiefs and Elders as well as veterans, political and military dignitaries. The world war veterans of Treaty No. 1 will be represented by the late Sgt. Tommy Prince, Canada’s most decorated Indigenous veteran, to be recognized by Parks Canada as a Hometown Hero. We will also recognize the collective and valorous contributions of many other members from Treaty No.1 communities with an Honour List.

The event will take place at Lower Fort Garry National Historic Site (St. Andrews, MB) on August 3, 2019 with a pipe ceremony starting at 9:00 a.m. and the ceremony starting at 10:15 a.m.

Hometown Heroes

Canada's participation in the First World War (1914-1918) and the Second World War (1939-1945) touched every community in this country. Parks Canada invites Canadians to join us in commemorating individuals from all walks of life who made unique contributions to the war effort. During these global conflicts, civilians and those in the armed forces played a crucial role in protecting and building their communities and thus Canada as a whole. Get to know the remarkable stories of these Hometown Heroes, honour their memory and express your gratitude for their service by visiting Parks Canada's National Historic Sites, National Parks, and National Marine Conservation Areas.

We Will Remember Them...


Here he is shown (right) with a brother at Buckingham Palace, where he was awarded two gallantry medals
(C.J. Woods / Department of
National Defence / Library and
Archives Canada / PA-142289)

Hometown Hero Honouree Sergeant Tommy Prince (1915-1977)

A member of the Brokenhead Ojibway Nation, Tommy Prince is Canada’s most decorated Indigenous veterans. He served during the Second World War and Korean War. Prince began his service with the Royal Canadian Engineers and in 1942 joined the 1st Special Service Force (FSSF), which the Germans nicknamed the “Devil’s Brigade.” He re-enlisted and served two tours in Korea with the Princess Patricia’s Canadian Light Infantry.

Like so many other Indigenous veterans, upon his return to Canada following the Second World War, Prince was denied his full veterans’ benefits and faced hardships throughout the remainder of his life.

Une cérémonie commémorant les membres des Premières Nations du Traité no 1 qui ont contribué à la protection du Canada et de ses alliés dans le cadre des deux guerres mondiales se déroulera au lieu historique national de Lower Fort Garry. Parcs Canada, en collaboration avec les sept Premières Nations du Traité no 1 et les Forces armées canadiennes, sera l’hôte de cet événement communautaire en présence de chefs et d’aînés, de vétérans ainsi que de dignitaires politiques et militaires. Les vétérans des guerres mondiales qui ont fait partie du Traité no 1 seront représentés par feu le sergent Tommy Prince, le vétéran autochtone le plus décoré du Canada, qui sera reconnu par Parcs Canada comme un héros de chez-nous. Nous soulignerons aussi les contributions collectives et valeureuses de nombreux autres membres des communautés du Traité no 1 grâce à notre liste d’honneur.

Cet événement se déroulera au lieu historique national de Lower Fort Garry (à St. Andrews, au Manitoba) le 3 août 2019. La cérémonie du calumet commencera à 9 h, suivie du reste de la cérémonie à 10 h 15.

Les héros de chez-nous

La participation du Canada à la Première Guerre mondiale (1914-1918) et à la Seconde Guerre mondiale (1939-1945) a touché toutes les communautés du pays, sans exception. L'Agence Parcs Canada invite les Canadiens et les Canadiennes à se joindre à elle afin de rendre hommage aux personnes de tous âges qui ont contribué à l'effort de guerre. Lors de ces conflits mondiaux, les civils et les soldats ont joué un rôle crucial dans la défense et l'édification non seulement de leurs communautés, mais aussi du pays tout entier. Découvrez les histoires remarquables de ces héros de chez-nous. Rendez hommage et exprimez votre reconnaissance à ces personnages pour le service qu'ils ont rendu en visitant les lieux historiques nationaux, les parcs nationaux et les aires marines nationales de conservation de Parcs Canada.

Nous nous souviendrons d'eux...


Nous le voyons ici (à droite) avec son frère au palais de Buckingham, où il a reçu deux médailles pour bravoure
(C.J. Woods / Ministère de la
Défense nationale / Bibliothèque
et Archives Canada / PA-142289)

Le sergent Tommy Prince, héros de chez-nous à l’honneur (1915-1977)

Tommy Prince, membre de la nation des Ojibwé Brokenhead, est le vétéran autochtone le plus décoré du Canada. Il a joué un rôle dans la Seconde Guerre mondiale ainsi que dans la guerre de Corée. Il est d’abord entré au service du Corps du génie royal canadien, puis en 1942, il a été muté à la Première Force de Service spécial, surnommée « Brigade des diables » par les Allemands. Ensuite, il s’est engagé dans l’armée de nouveau, allant en Corée deux fois avec la Princess Patricia’s Canadian Light Infantry.

À l’instar de nombreux vétérans autochtones, à son retour au Canada après la Seconde Guerre mondiale, le sergent Prince n’a pas eu droit aux avantages complets destinés aux anciens combattants et il a vécu des années difficiles pendant le restant de ses jours.