Activities

Artifact Bingo

It's Bingo, Lower Fort Garry style! The Bingo card squares are filled with pictures of artifacts found throughout the historic site. The Bingo caller, a Parks Canada interpreter, describes what each picture represents utilizing the actual artifact. A fun, interactive program suitable for all ages.

Length: 45-60 minutes
Workshop Fee: $2.40 per student

Build-a-Fort

In cooperative groups, students will learn how to build mini versions of a tipi and a Red River frame house. This is an excellent activity providing students the opportunity to reinforce and build on the skills learned in Cluster 0 as well as the Grade 3 and 5 science curricula.

Length: 45-60 minutes
Workshop Fee: $2.40 per student

Advanced activities

NEW Get the Scoop: Ice Cream at Lower Fort Garry

Could there have been ice cream at Lower Fort Garry in 1851? Join and explore the delectable history of ice cream with your class. This multidisciplinary program will challenge students with the basics of a scientific inquiry while being immersed in the stimulating story of how this tasty treat came to the prairies. After the inquiry students are invited to taste their final product!

Length: 45-60 minutes
Workshop Fee: $4.90 per student

NEW Treaty Negotiation Activity

Respecting the spirit and intent of treaty negotiations, students will gain an understanding of an important historical and contemporary relationship through a hands-on learning opportunity. This engaging activity gives students the chance to negotiate their own treaty, and encourages them to reflect on the longevity and lasting impacts of these decisions.

Length: 45-60 minutes
Workshop Fee: $4.90 per student

Bake-a-Bannock

In small teams, students will learn the basics of heritage cooking. From the quern to the hearth students participate in the preparation of bannock and butter, and get to sample the fruits of their labour.

This program is tied to the social studies curriculum (Identity, Culture and Community & The Land: Places and People), and engages students in a cultural activity. Specific learning outcomes for grade five include Clusters 1, 2, 3 and 4.

Length: 45-60 minutes
Workshop Fee: $4.90 per student

Campfires and Communities

Gather around, find a comfortable spot near the fire and take part in one of Manitoba’s oldest traditions, storytelling. An experienced Interpreter will captivate you with Indigenous legends and share the story of Manitoba’s origins. You will also learn about the significance of colours in some Indigenous cultures while making your own medicine wheel bracelet.

  • Grade 1 – Clusters 1, 2 & 3: I Belong, My Environment, Connecting with Others
  • Grade 2 – Cluster 1: Our Local Community
  • Grade 3 – Clusters 1 & 3: Connecting with Canadians, Communities of the World
  • Grade 4 – Clusters 3 & 4: Living in Manitoba, History of Manitoba
  • Grade 5 – Clusters 1 & 3: First Peoples, Fur Trade
  • Grade 6 – Cluster 4: Canada Today: Democracy, Diversity and the Influence of the Past

Length: 45 minutes
Workshop Fee: $4.90 per student

Heritage Chocolate Workshop

Discover the delicious history of chocolate. Cocoa has been enjoyed by kings, governors, soldiers and fur traders alike. Students will work together to prepare a heritage hot chocolate recipe and enjoy the delicious rewards of their labour.

Length: 45-60 minutes
Workshop Fee: $4.90 per student

Mini Mounties Police Drill

In this fun and interactive activity, students dress up as members of the North West Mounted Police and learn about the founding of this historic police force while participating in a series of drill activities. Students tailor their uniforms by creating their own pill-box hats to take home!

This activity provides students the opportunity to reinforce and build on the skills learned in Social Studies (Identity, Culture and Community & The Land: Places and People). Specific learning objectives met by this activity are: Grade 4 Clusters 3 & 4; Grade 5 Cluster 4; Grade 6 Cluster 1.

Length: 45-60 minutes
Workshop Fee: $4.90 per student

Activités

Bingo d'artefacts

C'est le bingo, à la manière de Lower Fort Garry! Au lieu de chiffres, ce sont des images d'artefacts découverts un peu partout au lieu historique qui figurent dans les cases des cartes de bingo. Le meneur de jeu, un interprète de Parcs Canada, explique chaque image en se servant de l'objet réel représenté. Une activité interactive amusante pour les personnes de tous les âges.

Durée : 45-60 minutes
Frais de l’atelier : 2,40 $ par élève

Construit un fort

En groupe, les élèves construiront des versions miniatures d’un tipi et d’une maison de la rivière Rouge. Il s’agit d’une excellente activité pour permettre aux élèves de perfectionner les compétences acquises dans le regroupement 0 et dans le cadre des programmes de sciences de 3e et 5e années.

Durée : 45-60 minutes
Frais de l’atelier : 2,40 $ par élève

Activités améliorées

NOUVEAU Incroyable! De la crème glacée à Lower Fort Garry

Aurait-il pu y avoir de la crème glacée à Lower Fort Garry en 1851? Explorez l’histoire savoureuse de la crème glacée avec votre classe. Ce programme multidisciplinaire mettra les élèves au défi d’apprendre les rudiments d’une recherche scientifique tout en les plongeant dans l’histoire stimulante de l’arrivée de cette délicieuse gourmandise dans les Prairies. Après l’enquête, les élèves sont invités à déguster leur produit final!

Durée : 45-60 minutes
Frais de l’atelier : 4,90 $ par élève

NOUVEAU Activité de négociation de traités

Dans le respect de l’esprit et de l’intention de la négociation des traités, les élèves acquerront des connaissances sur une relation historique et contemporaine importante par l’entremise d’un exercice pratique. Dans le cadre de cette activité stimulante, les élèves auront l’occasion de négocier leur propre traité et de réfléchir à la pérennité et aux répercussions durables de ces décisions.

Durée : 45-60 minutes
Frais de l’atelier : 4,90 $ par élève

Cuisson de bannock

En petites équipes, les élèves apprennent les bases de la cuisine patrimoniale. De la meule au feu de camp, les élèves participeront à la fabrication de bannock et de beurre, et pourront savourer le fruit de leurs efforts.

L’activité est liée au programme scolaire des sciences sociales (Identité, culture et communauté et La terre : lieux et personnes) et stimule la participation des élèves à une activité culturelle. Elle répond aux résultats d’apprentissage spécifiques des regroupements 1, 2, 3 et 4.

Durée : 60 minutes
Frais de l’atelier : 4,90 $ par élève

Feux de camp et communautés

Rassemblez autour d’un feu de camp pour participer à une des plus vieilles traditions au Manitoba, raconter des histoires. Un guide chevronné va raconter des légendes indigènes, l’histoire de la fondation du Manitoba et vous guider dans la confection de vos propres bracelets à roue médecine.

  • 1er Année – Regroupements 1, 2, 3 & 4 : La citoyenneté active et démocratique, Je suis chez moi, Mon Environnement, Mes relations avec les autres
  • 2e Année – Regroupement 2 : Ma communauté locale
  • 3e Année – Regroupements 1 & 3 : Ma place parmi les Canadiens et les Canadiennes, Explorons le monde
  • 4e Année – Regroupements 3 & 4 : Vivre au Manitoba, Histoire du Manitoba
  • 5e Année – Regroupements 1 & 3 : Les Premiers Peuples, La Commerce des Fourrures
  • 6e Année – Regroupement 4 : Le Canada Aujourd’hui : Démocratie, diversité et l’influence du passé

Durée : 45-60 minutes
Frais de l’atelier : 4,90 $ par élève

Atelier de confection de chocolat du patrimoine

Découvrez l’histoire savoureuse du chocolat. Le cacao a été apprécié des rois, des gouverneurs, des soldats et des commerçants de fourrures. C’est à vous maintenant de préparer un chocolat chaud à l’ancienne et de déguster le fruit de vos efforts!

Durée : 45-60 minutes
Frais de l’atelier : 4,90 $ par élève

Mini-gendarmes : exercices militaires de la police à cheval

Dans le cadre de cette activité amusante et interactive, les élèves pourront s’habiller comme des membres de la Police à cheval du Nord-Ouest et se renseigner sur la fondation du service de police historique tout en participant à une série d’exercices militaires. Les élèves fabriquent une partie de l’uniforme : ils confectionnent leur chapeau qu’ils rapporteront à la maison!

Cette activité donne aux élèves la possibilité de renforcer et d’approfondir les compétences apprises en sciences sociales (Identité, culture et communauté et La terre : lieux et personnes) et répond aux résultats d’apprentissage spécifiques, notamment : 4e année – regroupements 3 et 4; 5e année – regroupement 4; 6e année – regroupement 1).

Durée : 45-60 minutes
Frais de l’atelier : 4,90 $ par élève