This summer, Parks Canada welcomes you to a very special Knowledge Sharing Series at Lower Fort Garry. Immerse yourself in the cultural perspectives of First Nations artists through writing, film and astronomy, among other teachings.

On select Saturdays throughout July and August, our guests will speak about their experiences and share knowledge that they have gained over the years. Anyone wanting to learn more about and connect more deeply with First Nations culture is invited and encouraged to attend.

Admission to all events in included with your daily admission to Lower Fort Garry National Historic Site.


Guests

Ian Ross

July 9 – Ian Ross

Join us for a book club and Q&A with writer and playwright Ian Ross.

Bio: Ian Ross was born in McCreary, Manitoba. He calls the First Nation of Pinaymootang, the Métis community of Kinosota and the city of Winnipeg, home. His play, fareWel, won the Governor General’s Award for English Drama in 1997. His commentaries as Joe from Winnipeg on CBC radio and television, as well as NCI, were very popular. Ian has also been a drama instructor and educator for several years. He continues to write and live in Winnipeg.

 


Lisa Meeches

July 23 – Lisa Meeches

The series continues with celebrated film producer Lisa Meeches and a showing of We Were Children, which won two Canadian Screen Awards.

Bio: A member of both the Order of Canada and Order of Manitoba, Lisa Meeches is one of the most dynamic and respected producers in the film industry. She is Anishinaabe from Long Plains First Nation, Sandy Bay First Nation and Ebb & Flow First Nation. 

Lisa has produced numerous projects to critical acclaim including The Sharing Circle, Canada’s longest-running Indigenous television series; Ice Road TruckersTipi Tales; two-time Gemini Award winner Elijah and two-time Canadian Screen Award winner Jack.

She served as an executive producer We Were Children, is widely praised by residential school survivors for its power to heal, while general audiences have been moved by its accurate and truthful portrayal of the impacts of Canada’s colonial past. The film won two Canadian Screen Awards and was nominated for two others.


Carl Stone

August 6 – Carl Stone

Join Carl Stone to learn more about First Nations ceremonies and traditional teachings.

Bio: Carl William Stone (BA) was born on the Brokenhead Ojibway Nation and raised by his Grandmother Eliza Stone. She was a respected Elder and of the Anishinaabe Midaywin Society.

For the last 45 years, Carl has been active in the reclaiming of the Anishinaabe Spiritual and Cultural ways of his people. In the mid-1970s, Carl was one of two young men of the Brokenhead Ojibway Nation who played a role in bringing back the Traditional Drum to the Nation. After 100 years of silence, the Brokenhead Drum sounded its voice once again.

Carl is currently retired but works as an Elder-in-Residence for the Indigenous Student Centre at the University of Manitoba two days a week. Carl also works in ceremonies such as the Sundance, Sweat lodge, and other ceremonies, he is an Elder’s helper, and holds guest lectures on traditional teachings and spirituality.


Wilfred Buck

August 20 – Wilfred Buck

You’ll be looking up to the sky for the final installment of the Knowledge Sharing Series as Ininiw (Cree) astronomer Wilfred Buck helps us understand the cosmos.

Bio: Wilfred Buck is an Indigenous astronomer, author, educator, Sun Dance Chief, Knowledge Keeper and Portable Planetarium owner and operator.

Wilfred originates from Opaskwayak Cree Nation (OCN) and is a graduate of the University of Manitoba with two degrees in education. He has 25 years of experience as an educator and served as a Science Facilitator at the Manitoba First Nations Education Resource Centre for 15 years.

Cet été, Parcs Canada vous invite à assister à une série très spéciale sur le partage des connaissances à Lower Fort Garry. Plongez dans la vision culturelle des Premières Nations grâce à l’écriture, au film et à l’astronomie, entre autres apprentissages.

Certains samedis de juillet et d’août, nos invités parleront de leurs expériences et partageront leurs connaissances acquises au fil des années. Toute personne désirant en savoir plus sur la culture des Premières Nations et bâtir des liens plus étroits avec elle est invitée à ces rencontres et encouragée à y assister.

L’accès à toutes ces activités est compris dans le droit d’entrée quotidien au lieu historique national de Lower Fort Garry.


Invités

Ian Ross

9 juillet – Ian Ross

Joignez-vous à nous pour un club de lecture et une séance de questions et réponses avec l’auteur et dramaturge Ian Ross.

Biographie : Ian Ross est né à McCreary, au Manitoba. Il est membre de la Première Nation Pinaymootang et habite la communauté métisse de Kinosota et la ville de Winnipeg. En 1997, sa pièce fareWel a remporté le Prix du Gouverneur général dans la catégorie Théâtre de langue anglaise. Ses chroniques à la radio et à la télévision de CBC, sous le nom de Joe de Winnipeg, ont été très populaires. Ian a également été enseignant et instructeur de théâtre pendant plusieurs années. Il vit à Winnipeg où il continue à écrire.


Lisa Meeches

23 juillet – Lisa Meeches

La série se poursuit avec la célèbre productrice de films Lisa Meeches et la présentation du film We Were Children, gagnant de deux prix Écrans canadiens.

Biographie : Membre de l’Ordre du Canada et de l’Ordre du Manitoba, Lisa Meeches compte parmi les producteurs les plus dynamiques et les plus respectés de l’industrie cinématographique. Elle est une Anichinabée de la Première Nation de Long Plain, la Première Nation de Sandy Bay et la Première Nation Ebb and Flow. 

Lisa Meeches a produit de nombreux projets encensés par la critique, dont The Sharing Circle, la plus longue série télévisée autochtone; Ice Road TruckersTipi Tales; Elijah, gagnant de deux prix Gémeaux; et Jack, gagnant de deux prix Écrans canadiens.

Le film We Were Children, pour lequel elle a agi comme productrice déléguée, a été chaudement accueilli par les survivants des pensionnats autochtones pour son pouvoir de guérison, tandis que le grand public a été touché par ce tableau exact et sincère de l’impact du passé colonial du Canada. Le film a remporté deux prix Écrans canadiens et était en nomination pour deux autres prix.


Carl Stone

6 août – Carl Stone

Joignez-vous à Carl Stone pour en apprendre plus sur les cérémonies et les enseignements traditionnels des Premières Nations.

Biographie : Carl William Stone (B.A.) est né dans la Nation ojibwée Brokenhead et a été élevé par sa grand-mère Eliza Stone, une aînée respectée de la Anishinaabe Midaywin Society.

Depuis 45 ans, Carl milite pour la réappropriation des pratiques culturelles et spirituelles anichinabées de son peuple. Au milieu des années 1970, il a été l’un des deux jeunes hommes de la Nation ojibwée Brokenhead qui ont joué un rôle dans le retour du tambour traditionnel au sein de la Nation, et après 100 ans de silence, le tambour de Brokenhead s’est de nouveau fait entendre.

Aujourd’hui à la retraite, Carl continue de travailler deux jours par semaine à titre d’aîné en résidence au Indigenous Student Centre de l’Université du Manitoba. Il participe également à des cérémonies comme la danse du soleil, la cérémonie de la suerie et d’autres. Il est un assistant de l’Aîné et fait des conférences sur les enseignements traditionnels et la spiritualité des Premières Nations.


Wilfred Buck

20 août –Wilfred Buck

Attendez-vous à observer le ciel pour la dernière tranche de la série sur le partage des connaissances, alors que l’astronome ininiw (cri) Wilfred Buck nous aidera à comprendre le cosmos.

Biographie : Wilfred Buck est un astronome autochtone, qui est aussi auteur, éducateur, chef de la danse du soleil, gardien du savoir et propriétaire et exploitant d’un planétarium portatif.

Wilfred est membre de la Nation crie Opaskwayak et titulaire de deux diplômes en éducation de l’Université du Manitoba. Il a 25 ans d’expérience en tant qu’éducateur et a été animateur scientifique au Manitoba First Nations Education Resource Centre pendant 15 ans.