Ghost tours, storytelling and beer-making—oh my! Mark your calendar for the Friday Campfire Series at Lower Fort Garry this summer. This new after-hours series of events invites you to experience the Fort through fresh eyes with a variety of hands-on workshops, themed tours and engaging activities.

Come experience prairie summer nights the way they were intended: in the great outdoors, surrounded by good friends.

Stories at Sunset

Gather your family around the campfire at Lower Fort Garry! Taste bannock cooked over an open fire, play a drum, join in bracelet making, and engage in traditional stories—there’s something for everyone!

  • Dates: Dates: July 5, August 2
  • Time: Time: 7 - 9 pm
  • Fee: Fee: $4.90 person
  • Reserve your spot:Reserve your spot: Reserving a spot is highly recommended for this program as there is a maximum of 50 participants. To reserve, call 204-785-6050, or go to Lower Fort Garry or the Parks Canada Kiosk at the Travel Manitoba Visitor Information Centre at The Forks.

Ghost Tours

Do you think Lower Fort Garry is haunted? Discover for yourself on a guided Ghost Tour of the fort. On this nocturnal journey, you will learn about the site’s lesser known history as an asylum and a prison, and hear the spooky stories that linger within the old stone fort walls.

This two-hour program will depart from the Visitor Centre, beginning at 8 pm. The last tour of the night departs at 9 pm.

  • Dates: Dates: July 12, July 26, August 23
  • Time: Time: 8 - 11 pm; Length: 2 hours
  • Fee: Fee: Adults $12.70; Youth (17 and under) $4.90; Seniors $11.45
  • Reserve your spot:Reserve your spot: Reserving a spot is strongly recommended for this program. To reserve a tour at a time that works for you, call 204-785-6050, or go to Lower Fort Garry or the Parks Canada Kiosk at the Travel Manitoba Visitor Information Centre at The Forks.

Note: This program is recommended for ages 13 and up.
Open Flame Brewing

Make your own authentic beer at Lower Fort Garry. Our brewmasters will guide you step-by-step using a traditional recipe—and at the end of the night, you’ll take home a growler of your very own!

  • Dates: Dates: July 19, August 9
  • Time: Time: 5 - 9 pm
  • Fee: Fee: $55.00 person
  • Reserve your spot:Reserve your spot: Booking ahead is required for this event. Purchase tickets online from Friends of Lower Fort Garry.

Note: This is an 18+ event. You must bring valid government issued photo ID.

Visites de lieux hantés, récits d’histoires et fabrication de bière — mais oui! Inscrivez à votre agenda de cet été les feux de camp du vendredi soir au Lower Fort Garry. Dans le cadre de cette nouvelle série après les heures normales d’ouverture, nous vous invitons à voir le fort d’un nouvel œil grâce à divers ateliers, à des visites thématiques et à des activités intéressantes.

Venez voir à quoi devraient vraiment ressembler les soirées d’été dans les prairies : en plein air, entourés de bons amis.

Histoires au coucher du soleil

Rassemblez votre famille autour du feu de camp de Lower Fort Garry! Dégustez du pain bannock cuit sur le feu, jouez du tambour, faites des bracelets et écoutez des histoires d’antan. Il y en a pour tous les goûts!

  • Dates : Dates : De 5 juillet Complet au 2 août Complet
  • Time: Heures : De 19 h à 21 h
  • Fee: Coût : 4,90 $ par personne
  • Réservez vos places :Réservez vos places : Nous vous recommandons fortement de faire une réservation pour ce programme, car il n’y a que 50 places. Pour réserver, composez le 204-785-6050, ou encore, rendez-vous au Lower Fort Garry ou au kiosque de Parcs Canada situé au Centre d’information aux visiteurs de Voyage Manitoba à La Fourche.

Visites de lieux hantés

Croyez-vous que le Lower Fort Garry est hanté? Venez tirer vos propres conclusions lors d’une visite nocturne des lieux du fort, pendant laquelle vous aurez l’occasion de vous familiariser avec l’histoire moins connue des lieux, qui ont servi d’asile et de prison. Vous prendrez connaissance des histoires effrayantes qui subsistent à l’intérieur des vieux murs en pierre.

Cette visite dure deux heures. À partir du Centre d’accueil, à compter de 20 h. Le départ de la dernière visite de la soirée est à 21 h.

  • Dates : Dates : Les 12 Completet 26 juillet Completainsi que le 23 août Complet
  • Heures : Heures : De 20 h à 23 h (visites d’une durée de 2 heures)
  • Coût : Coût : 12,70 $ pour les adultes; 4,90 $ pour les jeunes (17 ans et moins); 11,45 $ pour les personnes âgées
  • Réservez vos places :Réservez vos places : Nous vous recommandons fortement de réserver vos places. Pour réserver une visite à l’heure qui vous convient, composez le 204-785-6050, ou encore, rendez-vous au Lower Fort Garry ou au kiosque de Parcs Canada situé au Centre d’information aux visiteurs de Voyage Manitoba à La Fourche.

Remarque : Activité recommandée pour les personnes de 13 et plus.
Fabrication de bière

Faites votre propre bière authentique au Lower Fort Garry. Nos maîtres brasseurs vous montreront comment procéder en se servant d’une recette traditionnelle. À la fin de la soirée, vous repartirez avec votre propre cruchon!

  • Dates : Dates : Le 19 juillet Annulé et le 9 août
  • Heures : Heures : De 17 h à 21 h
  • Coût : Coût : 55,00 $ par personne
  • Réservez vos places :Réservez vos places : Vous devez réserver vos places pour cette activité. Auprès des Amis de Lower Fort Garry(en anglais seulement).

Remarque : Activité réservée aux personnes de 18 ans et plus,
avec présentation d’une pièce d’identité valide avec photo, émise par le gouvernement.