© Her Majesty the Queen in Right of Canada, represented by the Chief Executive Officer of Parks Canada, 2018.

Cette publication est aussi disponible en français.

The Forks National Historic Site of Canada Management Statement 2018.

  • ISBN R64-105/71-1-2018E-PDF
  • Cat. no. 978-0-066-26490-5

For more information about the management statement or about The Forks National Historic Site of Canada

The Forks National Historic Site of Canada

Mailing address:
145 McDermot Avenue
Winnipeg, MB
Canada
R3B 0R9 

Telephone:
204-983-6753

Fax:
204-984-0679


Front cover image credits

Parks Canada

Foreword

The Honourable Catherine McKenna, Minister of the Environment and Minister responsible for Parks Canada

Canada’s national parks, national historic sites and national marine conservation areas belong to all Canadians and offer truly Canadian experiences.

These special places make up one of the finest and most extensive systems of protected natural and cultural heritage areas in the world.

The Government is committed to preserving our natural and cultural heritage, expanding the system of protected places and contributing to the recovery of species-at-risk. At the same time, we must continue to offer new and innovative visitor and outreach programs and activities so that more Canadians can experience Parks Canada places and learn about our environment, history and culture.

This new management statement for The Forks National Historic Site of Canada supports this vision.

Management statements are developed through extensive consultation and input from various people and organizations, including Indigenous Peoples, local and regional residents, visitors and the dedicated team at Parks Canada.

National parks, national historic sites and national marine conservation areas are a priority for the Government of Canada.

I would like to thank everyone who contributed to this management statement for their commitment and spirit of co-operation.

As the Minister responsible for Parks Canada, I applaud this collaborative effort and I am pleased to approve The Forks National Historic Site of Canada Management Statement.

Catherine McKenna
Minister of Environment and Climate Change and Minister responsible for Parks Canada

Recommendations

Recommended by and original signed by

Daniel Watson

Chief Executive Officer
Parks Canada

Trevor Swerdfager

Senior Vice-President, Operations
Parks Canada

Elvis Riou

A/Field Unit Superintendent, Manitoba Field Unit
Parks Canada

Introduction

The Parks Canada Agency manages one of the finest and most extensive systems of protected natural and historic areas in the world. The Agency’s mandate is to protect and present these places for the benefit and enjoyment of current and future generations. This management statement outlines Parks Canada’s management approach for the portion of The Forks National Historic Site, referred to in this document as Parks Canada Place, owned and administered by Parks Canada.

The Forks National Historic Site is located at the junction of the Red and Assiniboine Rivers in Winnipeg, Manitoba. It has witnessed many of the key events in western Canadian history, including thriving precontact Indigenous cultures, the fur trade, the exploration and settlement of Western Canada, the creation of the Province of Manitoba, and the establishment of the City of Winnipeg. The site lies within Treaty No. 1 territory, part of the traditional lands of many First Nations, and is the Birthplace of the Métis Nation and the Heart of the Métis Nation Homeland. The Forks National Historic Site is a public gathering place for recreational, commercial and educational use. It is a focal point for tourism in Winnipeg, receiving over four million visits a year.

The Forks National Historic Site in its entirety is co-owned and operated by Parks Canada, The Forks North Portage Partnership and The Canadian Museum for Human Rights (Figure 1). Parks Canada’s portion of the site, Parks Canada Place, is largely green space, 3.6 ha of the 25.3 ha of the designated site.

Visitor facilities and infrastructure at Parks Canada Place are minimal, including: an orientation node with public restrooms; interpretive signage; a playground with splash pad; a small open-air amphitheatre; a dock on the Red River; and a 382 m portion of the Winnipeg Riverwalk along the Red River (Figure 2). Frequent river floods render the Riverwalk, dock, and amphitheatre inoperable for portions of the year.

The cultural resources within Parks Canada Place consist of buried archaeological resources and viewscapes. Minimal site infrastructure and approximately one to two meters of fill, deposited during the railway era, ensures the continued legibility and well-being of the historic evidence that remains in situ. Parks Canada continues to review all projects and proposals for the site to minimize or mitigate potential impacts to cultural and natural resources.

Partnerships and working relationships with Treaty No. 1 First Nations, the Manitoba Métis Federation, tourism organizations, businesses, and not-for-profit organizations continue to play an important role in how Parks Canada manages Parks Canada Place. Collaboration with others enhances opportunities and allows Parks Canada to present heritage programs and offer other services in and around the site.

Management objectives

There are two opportunities that Parks Canada will pursue, expressed below as results-based objectives.

  1. The presentation of First Nation and Métis culture is increased.

    The Forks area holds a special meaning for First Nations and the Métis. Parks Canada collaborates with Treaty No. 1 First Nations and the Manitoba Métis Federation so that their perspectives and knowledge are a part of site management, decision making, and programming.

    • Parks Canada collaborates with Treaty No. 1 First Nations and the Manitoba Métis Federation for program and product development, interpretive content and visitor experiences to ensure that their history, stories and traditions are shared and celebrated at the site.
    • The majority of First Nation and Métis programming is created and presented by members of those cultures who are aware of, and benefit from, economic and employment opportunities.
  2. The visibility of Parks Canada Place at The Forks National Historic Site is increased through an enhanced visitor offer, services, and an identified presence on site.

    Parks Canada endeavours to incrementally increase the visibility and profile of Parks Canada Place within the greater Forks National Historic Site.

    • Parks Canada has increased the visibility of Parks Canada Place through identifier signage and branding on site.
    • A strategic review of site infrastructure identifies possible new investment or under-performing assets to allow Parks Canada effectively and sustainably meet its mandate.
    • Contemporary, interactive paid programming which complements and competes favourably in the local and regional tourism market is provided by Parks Canada and third party partners.

Summary of Strategic Environmental Assessment

Parks Canada is responsible for assessing and mitigating the impacts of management actions on ecosystems and on cultural resources. The Cabinet Directive on the Environmental Assessment of Policy, Plan and Program Proposals, prepared by the Canadian Environmental Assessment Agency, requires a Strategic Environmental Assessment of all plans and policies submitted to the federal Cabinet or to a Minister for approval deemed to have important positive or negative environmental effects.

A strategic environmental assessment was conducted for The Forks National Historic Site Management Statement. The spatial scope of the strategic environmental assessment included areas within the boundary of The Forks National Historic Site, and the temporal scope was a period of ten years from the date of plan approval, at which time the management statement will be reviewed. The resources considered to be Valued Components are the cultural resource elements commemorated and protected by the historic place designation, the fortifications, the historic buildings, the archaeological sites and the west bank of the Red River. Visitor experience resources including the various facilities are also important resources considered in the assessment.

Increasing collaboration with Treaty No. 1 First Nations peoples and Metis citizens and increasing presentation of First Nation and Metis culture will have positive effects on relationships and enhance the cultural context of the site.

Increasing the visibility of Parks Canada Place at The Forks National Historic Site will have numerous beneficial effects including enhanced knowledge, understanding and appreciation of the site and Parks Canada’s role in preserving and presenting Canadian history and culture.

Project-level impact assessment will be able to mitigate any potential adverse impacts from individual projects resulting from this management statement.

If the appropriate mitigation measures are applied, there are no significant adverse environmental effects anticipated from implementation of the management statement. The overall environmental effects of the strategies, objectives and targets of the management statement are expected to be positive.

For more information, please contact :

The Forks National Historic Site of Canada

Manitoba Field Unit
145 McDermot Avenue
Winnipeg, MB R3B 0R9
Tel: 204-983-6757

Figure 1: The Forks NHS Property Owners/Administrators. Parks Canada 2017.

 

Figure 2: Parks Canada Place Facilities at The Forks NHS. Parks Canada 2017.

© Sa Majesté la Reine du chef du Canada, représentée par le directeur général de l’Agence Parcs Canada, 2018.

This publication is also available in English.

Énoncé de gestion du lieu historique national du Canada de La Fourche 2018.

  • ISBN : R64-105/71-1-2018F-PDF
  • No du cat. : 978-0-660-26491-2

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur l'énoncé de gestion ou des questions sur le lieu historique national du Canada de La Fourche

Lieu historique national de La Fourche

Adresse postale:
145 avenue McDermot
Winnipeg, MB
Canada
R3B 0R9 

Téléphone:
204-983-6753

Télécopieur:
204-984-0679


Sources des images de la page couverture

Parcs Canada

Avant-propos

L'Honorable Catherine McKenna, ministre de l'Environnement et du Changement climatique et ministre responsable de Parcs Canada

Les parcs nationaux, les lieux historiques nationaux et les aires marines nationales de conservation du Canada appartiennent à tous les Canadiens et Canadiennes et offrent des expériences authentiquement canadiennes.

Ces endroits spéciaux forment l'un des plus beaux et plus vastes réseaux d'aires patrimoniales.

Le gouvernement s'est engagé à protéger notre patrimoine naturel et culturel, à élargir le réseau des aires protégées et à contribuer au rétablissement des espèces en péril. Nous devons en même temps continuer d’offrir de nouveaux programmes et activités innovateurs axés sur les visiteurs et la sensibilisation pour permettre à davantage de Canadiens et de Canadiennes de découvrir les sites de Parcs Canada et d’apprendre au sujet de notre histoire, environnement et culture.

Ce nouvel énoncé de gestion du lieu historique national du Canada de La Fourche vient appuyer cette vision.

Les énoncés de gestion sont élaborés dans le cadre de consultations et de contributions exhaustives de personnes et d'organismes divers, dont les peuples autochtones, des résidents locaux et régionaux, des visiteurs et l'équipe dévouée oeuvrant à Parcs Canada.

Les parcs nationaux, les lieux historiques nationaux et les aires marines nationales de conservation sont une priorité pour le gouvernement du Canada. J'aimerais remercier tous ceux qui ont contribué à cet énoncé de gestion pour leur engagement et leur esprit de collaboration.

À titre de ministre responsable de Parcs Canada, j'applaudis cet effort concerté, et je suis heureuse d'approuver l'énoncé de gestion du lieu historique national du Canada de La Fourche.

Catherine McKenna
Ministre de l'Environnement et du Changement climatique et ministre responsable de Parcs Canada

Recommendations

Recommended by and original signed by

Daniel Watson

Directeur général de l’Agence
Parcs Canada

Trevor Swerdfager

Vice-président principal, Opérations
Parcs Canada

Elvis Riou

Directeur d’unité de gestion par intérim, Unité de gestion du Manitoba
Parcs Canada

Introduction

L’Agence Parcs Canada gère l’un des plus beaux et des plus grands réseaux d’aires naturelles et historiques protégées de la planète. Elle a pour mandat de protéger et de mettre en valeur ces joyaux patrimoniaux dans l’intérêt des générations actuelles et futures. Dans le présent énoncé de gestion, Parcs Canada expose la démarche de gestion adoptée pour la partie du lieu historique national de La Fourche dont il est le propriétaire et l’administrateur. Cette propriété porte le nom de Place Parcs Canada dans le présent document.

Le lieu historique national de La Fourche se trouve au confluent des rivières Rouge et Assiniboine, à Winnipeg, au Manitoba. Ce lieu historique national a été témoin de bon nombre des événements clés qui ont marqué l’histoire de l’Ouest canadien, dont la vie et la culture prospères des Autochtones avant l’arrivée des Européens, le commerce des fourrures, l’exploration et la colonisation de l’Ouest, la création de la province du Manitoba ainsi que la fondation de la ville de Winnipeg. Le lieu historique national de La Fourche se trouve sur le territoire visé par le Traité no 1, qui fait partie des terres traditionnelles d’un grand nombre de Premières Nations. Cette région est le berceau et le coeur de la Nation métisse. Le lieu historique national demeure un lieu de rassemblement à vocation récréative, commerciale et éducative. Il représente aussi un centre névralgique du tourisme à Winnipeg et accueille plus de quatre millions de visiteurs par année.

Trois entités – Parcs Canada, l’organisme « The Forks North Portage Partnership » et le Musée canadien pour les droits de la personne – sont copropriétaires et administrateurs du lieu historique national de La Fourche (figure 1). La partie du lieu historique qui appartient à Parcs Canada, Place Parcs Canada, consiste essentiellement en un espace vert occupant 3,6 des 25,3 ha du lieu désigné.

Place Parcs Canada ne renferme qu’un minimum d’installations pour les visiteurs, notamment une aire d’orientation assortie de toilettes publiques, des panneaux d’interprétation, un terrain de jeux avec fontaine à jets, un petit amphithéâtre extérieur, un quai donnant sur la rivière Rouge et un tronçon de 382 m de la promenade riveraine de Winnipeg, qui longe la rivière Rouge (figure 2). En raison des débordements fréquents de la rivière, la promenade riveraine, le quai et l’amphithéâtre sont inutilisables pendant une partie de l’année.

Les ressources culturelles de Place Parcs Canada comprennent des vestiges archéologiques enfouis et des panoramas. En raison de l’infrastructure limitée et de la présence de 1 à 2 m d’épaisseur de remblai déposé à l’époque des chemins de fer, les vestiges historiques sur place demeurent déchiffrables et en bon état. Parcs Canada continue d’examiner chaque proposition d’aménagement touchant Place Parcs Canada, en vue de réduire le plus possible les impacts possibles sur les ressources culturelles et naturelles.

Les partenariats et les relations de travail avec les Premières Nations signataires du Traité no 1, la Manitoba Métis Federation, les organismes touristiques, les entreprises et les organismes sans but lucratif continuent de jouer un rôle important dans la gestion de Place Parcs Canada. Les liens de collaboration noués avec ces divers partenaires engendrent de nouvelles possibilités et permettent à Parcs Canada de mettre en place des programmes de préservation du patrimoine et de fournir d’autres services à l’intérieur et aux environs du site.

Objectifs de gestion

Parcs Canada entend exploiter deux possibilités, qui sont exprimées ci-dessous comme objectifs axés sur les résultats.

  1. Accroître la mise en valeur des cultures des Premières Nations et des Métis.

    Le secteur de La Fourche revêt une signification particulière pour les Premières Nations et les Métis.Parcs Canada collabore avec les Premières Nations signataires du Traité no 1 et la Manitoba MétisFederation afin que leurs points de vue et connaissances soient pris en compte dans la gestion du site,les processus décisionnels et la programmation.

    • Parcs Canada collabore avec les Premières Nations signataires du Traité no 1 et la Manitoba MétisFederation dans le cadre de l’élaboration de programmes et de produits, de contenud’interprétation et d’expériences du visiteur afin de s’assurer que leur histoire, leurs récits et leurstraditions sont partagés et célébrés au lieu historique national.
    • La majeure partie des programmes de Premières Nations et de Métis sont créés et présentés par des membres de ces cultures qui connaissent les possibilités offertes en matière d’emploi et sur le plan économique, et qui profitent de ces possibilités.
  2. Hausser la visibilité de Place Parcs Canada au lieu historique national de La Fourche eny bonifiant l’offre faite aux visiteurs, en y améliorant les services fournis et en yhaussant la présence de Parcs Canada.

    Parcs Canada s’efforce d’accroître progressivement la présence et la visibilité de Place Parcs Canada àl’intérieur du lieu historique élargi.

    • Parcs Canada a accru la visibilité de Place Parcs Canada par des panneaux d’identification installéssur place et par un travail de valorisation de la marque.
    • L’Agence explore des possibilités d’aménagement et fait des investissements stratégiques dans deséléments d’infrastructure nouveaux ou sous-utilisés afin d’exécuter son mandat de manièreefficace et durable.
    • Parcs Canada et des tiers partenaires offrent des programmes interactifs payants d’intérêtcontemporain qui viennent compléter et concurrencer favorablement ceux du marché touristiquelocal et régional.

Résumé de l’évaluation environnementale stratégique

Parcs Canada est chargé d’évaluer et d’atténuer les impacts de ses mesures de gestion sur les écosystèmes et les ressources culturelles. La Directive du Cabinet sur l’évaluation environnementale des projets de politiques, de plans et de programmes, rédigée par l’Agence canadienne d’évaluation environnementale, exige la tenue d’une évaluation environnementale stratégique pour tous les plans et politiques soumis à l’approbation d’un ministre ou du Cabinet fédéral lorsque ceux-ci sont susceptibles d’avoir des effets positifs ou négatifs importants sur l’environnement.

Une évaluation environnementale stratégique a été effectuée aux fins de l’énoncé de gestion du lieu historique national de La Fourche. La portée géographique de l’ évaluation environnementale stratégique comprend des secteurs à l’intérieur des limites du lieu historique national de La Fourche, et la portée temporelle consistait en une période de dix ans à partir de la date d’approbation du plan, après quoi l’énoncé de gestion sera examiné. Les ressources considérées comme étant des composantes valorisées sont les éléments de ressources culturelles reconnus et protégés grâce à la désignation de lieu patrimonial, les fortifications, les bâtiments historiques, les sites archéologiques et la rive ouest de la rivière Rouge. Les ressources d’expérience du visiteur, y compris les diverses installations connexes, font partie des ressources importantes visées par l’évaluation.

La collaboration accrue avec les peuples des Premières Nations signataires du Traité no 1 et les citoyens métis, de même que la mise en valeur de la culture des Premières Nations et des Métis, aura une incidence positive sur les relations et améliorera le contexte culturel du lieu.

La plus grande visibilité de Place Parcs Canada au lieu historique national de La Fourche aura de nombreux effets positifs, notamment une meilleure connaissance, compréhension et appréciation du lieu historique national et du rôle de l’Agence dans la préservation et la mise en valeur de l’histoire et la culture canadiennes.

L’étude sur l’impact environnemental des projets permettra d’atténuer toute incidence négative potentielle des projets individuels résultant de cet énoncé de gestion.

Si les mesures d’atténuation appropriées sont appliquées, la mise en oeuvre de l’énoncé de gestion ne devrait avoir aucun effet négatif important sur l’environnement. Dans l’ensemble, les effets environnementaux des stratégies, des objectifs et des cibles de l’énoncé de gestion devraient être positifs.

Renseignements :

Lieu historique national de La Fourche

Unité de gestion du Manitoba
145 avenue McDermot
Winnipeg, MB R3B 0R9
Tél: 204-983-6757

Figure 1: Propriétaires et administrateurs des terrains du lieu historique national de La Fourche. Parcs Canada, 2017.

 

Figure 2 : Installations de Place Parcs Canada au lieu historique national de La Fourche. Parcs Canada, 2017.