Bill C-23: Historic Places of Canada Act

A legislative project to give our past a future

The Government of Canada administers over 300 historic sites in every province and territory, including rural, remote and Indigenous communities. Besides providing a wide range of benefits to their communities, these places tell the story of who we are and connect us to our past, enriching our understanding of ourselves, others and our country.

Currently, Canada does not have a comprehensive set of laws to ensure the protection and conservation of historic places across the country. To address this, Parks Canada undertook a major project to modernize the protection and conservation framework for historic places administered by the federal government. As a result of this work, Bill C-23, the Historic Places of Canada Act, was tabled in Parliament on June 7, 2022.

If passed, this new legislation will:

  • ensure that the Parliament Buildings and other treasured places administered by Parks Canada are protected and conserved into the future
  • ensure that Canada's historic places are representative of the country's history and meaningful to all Canadians, including Indigenous peoples, youth and members of diverse groups across the country

This legislation is the first of its kind in Canada. It will give Indigenous peoples stronger voices in determining the heritage considered to be of national historic significance and national interest in Canada. The legislation will also allow for transparent decision making, information sharing with Canadians and parliamentarians, and the sustainable protection of historic places administered by the federal government.




Landmark symbol

Inclusion

Bill C-23 ensures inclusion through:

  • appointment of representation for First Nations, Inuit and Métis to the Historic Sites and Monuments Board of Canada (the Board). This implements Call to Action #79(i) of the Truth and Reconciliation Commission of Canada
  • consultation with a variety of Indigenous governing bodies and entities that represent the interest of Indigenous groups and their members on the appointment of three new representatives to the Board for First Nations, Inuit and Métis
  • commitment to public participation in the process to identify places, persons and events of national historic significance or of national interest
  • requirement that recommendations for designation are based on the best available information, including Indigenous knowledge and community knowledge
  • identification of significant heritage places by Indigenous governing bodies which may, on request, be listed on the register

Landmark symbol

Sustainability

Bill C-23 ensures sustainability through:

  • common benchmarks for stewardship of federal historic places administered by federal authorities
  • improved access to information about historic places through a public register that supports decision-making and public interest
  • mandatory heritage evaluation of buildings that are 50 years of age and administered by federal authorities

Landmark symbol

Transparency

Bill C-23 ensures transparency through:

  • a clear and consistent designation process with one advisory body (the Board)
  • established criteria that is approved by the Minister that informs recommendations respecting the designation of places, persons and events
  • a public register established and maintained by Parks Canada that contains information on designated historic places, persons and events and information about federal historic places, their condition and any planned action that may result in a physical change that may affect their heritage value
  • informing the public of new designations through appropriate means
  • a public annual report detailing the activities of the Historic Sites and Monuments Board of Canada
  • a service standard for the Board to communicate its recommendations respecting designation to the Minister within 90 days
  • prescribe requirements for the modification or revocation of a designation by the Minister

Drivers

Bill C-23 will ensure due diligence for the conservation of federally-owned historic places for present and future generations by providing a strong response to the Truth and Reconciliation Commission of Canada 's call to action 79(i). The Bill also follows up on the recommendations set out in the 2017 Standing Committee on Environment and Sustainable Development (ENVI) Report, Preserving Canada’s Heritage: The Foundation for Tomorrow, and the Office of the Auditor General of Canada ’s 2018 report, Conserving Federal Heritage Properties.

In 2015, the Truth and Reconciliation Commission of Canada (TRC) released its final report on the experiences and impacts of the residential school system on Indigenous peoples, the impacts of which are still being felt by Indigenous peoples. Respectful and truthful actions must be taken to advance reconciliation in Canada.

As Parks Canada is the federal organization responsible for the protection of historic places in Canada, as well as the custodian of the largest proportion of federally designated heritage buildings in the country, it is also responsible for the implementation of the Truth and Reconciliation Commission's Call to Action 79.

The 2017 report of the Standing Committee on Environment and Sustainable Development, Preserving Canada's Heritage: The Foundation for Tomorrow noted that "many of our heritage places are disappearing or under threat." This report called for requirements under the Treasury Board’s Policy on Management of Real Property to be integrated into new legislation in order to protect the commemorative integrity of federal heritage buildings and to prevent their demolition by neglect.

In its Fall 2018 report, Conserving Federal Heritage Properties, the Auditor General of Canada identified two main issues with the protection and conservation of heritage properties:

  • a lack of complete and accurate information about heritage properties, noting that such information matters because it allows Canadians and parliamentarians to fully understand and discuss the condition of heritage properties and the potential consequences of not conserving them
  • the state of deterioration of federal built heritage, which was also noted by the Auditor General of Canada in 2003. Further, the lack of protection for historic places under the custody of other federal departments was also reported in 2007.

More information

Projet de loi C-23 : Loi sur les lieux historiques du Canada

Un projet législatif pour donner un avenir à notre passé

Le gouvernement du Canada administre plus de 300 lieux historiques dans chaque province et territoire, y compris dans les collectivités rurales, éloignées et autochtones. En plus d'offrir un large éventail d'avantages à leurs communautés, ces lieux racontent l'histoire de ce que nous sommes et nous relient à notre passé, enrichissant ainsi notre compréhension de nous-mêmes, des autres et de notre pays.

À l'heure actuelle, le Canada ne dispose pas d'un ensemble complet de lois pour assurer la protection des lieux historiques dans tout le pays. Pour combler cette lacune, Parcs Canada a entrepris un important projet visant à moderniser le cadre de conservation des lieux historiques administrés par le gouvernement fédéral. À la suite de ce travail, le projet de loi C-23 sur les lieux historiques du Canada a été déposé au Parlement le 7 juin 2022.

Si elle est adoptée, cette nouvelle loi permettra de :

  • veiller à ce que les édifices du Parlement et les autres lieux précieux administrés par Parcs Canada soient protégés et conservés à l'avenir
  • veiller à ce que les lieux historiques du Canada soient représentatifs de l'histoire du pays et significatifs pour tous les Canadiens, y compris les peuples autochtones, les jeunes et les membres de divers groupes à travers le pays

Cette loi sera la première du genre au Canada. Elle donnera aux peuples autochtones une voix plus forte dans la détermination du patrimoine considéré comme d'importance et d'intérêt historique national au Canada. La législation permettra également une prise de décision transparente, le partage d'informations avec les Canadiens et les parlementaires, et la protection durable des lieux historiques administrés par le gouvernement fédéral.




Landmark symbol

Inclusion

Le projet de loi C-23 assure l'inclusion par :

  • la nomination d'une représentation des Premières nations, des Inuits et des Métis à la Commission des lieux et monuments historiques du Canada (Commission). Cette mesure met en œuvre l'appel à l'action no 79(i) de la Commission de vérité et de réconciliation du Canada
  • la consultation d'une variété d'organes directeurs et d'entités autochtones qui représentent les intérêts des groupes autochtones et de leurs membres sur la nomination de trois nouveaux représentants des Premières nations, des Inuits et des Métis à la Commission
  • l’Engagement à faire participer le public au processus de désignation des lieux, des personnes et des événements d'importance historique nationale ou d'intérêt national
  • l'obligation de fonder les recommandations de désignation sur la meilleure information disponible, y compris le savoir autochtone et le savoir de la communauté
  • l'identification des lieux patrimoniaux importants par les organes directeurs autochtones qui peuvent, sur demande, être inscrits au registre

Landmark symbol

Durabilité

Le projet de loi C-23 est durable car il prévoit :

  • des repères communs pour l'intendance des lieux historiques fédéraux administrés par les autorités fédérales
  • l'amélioration de l'accès à l'information sur les lieux patrimoniaux au moyen d'un registre public qui appuie la prise de décisions et l'intérêt du public
  • l'évaluation obligatoire du patrimoine des bâtiments âgés de 50 ans et administrés par les autorités fédérales

Landmark symbol

Transparence

Le projet de loi C-23 garantit la transparence grâce à :

  • un processus de désignation clair et cohérent avec un seul organisme consultatif (la Commission)
  • des critères établis, approuvés par le ministre, sur lesquels reposent les recommandations relatives à la désignation des lieux, des personnes et des événements
  • un registre public établi et tenu par Parcs Canada qui contient de l'information sur les lieux, les personnes et les événements désignés, ainsi que de l'information sur les lieux historiques fédéraux, leur état et toute action prévue qui pourrait entraîner un changement physique susceptible d'affecter leur valeur patrimoniale
  • informer le public des nouvelles désignations par des moyens appropriés
  • un rapport annuel public détaillant les activités de la Commission des lieux et monuments historiques du Canada
  • une norme de service pour que la Commission communique ses recommandations concernant la désignation au ministre dans un délai de 90 jours
  • prescrire les exigences relatives à la modification ou à la révocation d'une désignation par le ministre

Moteur de changement

Le projet de loi C-23 assurera une diligence raisonnable pour la conservation des lieux historiques appartenant au gouvernement fédéral pour les générations actuelles et futures et offre une réponse directe à l’appel à l’action 79(i) de la Commission de vérité et de réconciliation du Canada . Il offre également une réponse forte aux recommandations énoncées dans le rapport du Comité permanent de l'environnement et du développement durable (ENVI) de 2017, Préserver le patrimoine canadien : la fondation pour demain, le rapport du Bureau du vérificateur général du Canada 2018 , Conserver les biens patrimoniaux fédéraux.

En 2015, la Commission de vérité et de réconciliation du Canada a publié son rapport final sur les expériences et les répercussions du système des pensionnats sur les peuples autochtones, dont les peuples autochtones ressentent encore les effets. Des mesures respectueuses et véridiques doivent être prises pour faire avancer la réconciliation au Canada.

Comme Parcs Canada est l'organisme fédéral responsable de la protection des lieux historiques au Canada, ainsi que le gardien de la plus grande proportion de bâtiments patrimoniaux désignés par le gouvernement fédéral au pays, il est également responsable de la mise en œuvre de l'Appel à l'action 79 de la Commission de vérité et réconciliation.

Le rapport 2017 du Comité permanent de l'environnement et du développement durable, Préserver le patrimoine du Canada : la fondation pour demain soulignait que " beaucoup de nos lieux patrimoniaux disparaissent ou sont menacés. " Plus précisément, ce rapport demandait que les exigences de la Politique sur la gestion des biens immobiliers du Conseil du Trésor soient intégrées à la nouvelle législation afin de protéger l'intégrité commémorative des édifices fédéraux du patrimoine et d'empêcher leur démolition par négligence.

Dans son rapport de l'automne 2018 intitulé Conservation des biens patrimoniaux fédéraux, le Bureau du vérificateur général du Canada a cerné deux principaux problèmes liés à la protection et à la conservation des biens patrimoniaux :

  • le manque d'information complète et exacte sur les biens patrimoniaux, notant que cette information est importante, car elle permet aux Canadiens et aux parlementaires de bien comprendre et de discuter de l'état des biens patrimoniaux et des conséquences possibles de leur non-conservation.
  • l'état de détérioration du patrimoine bâti fédéral, qui a également été constaté par la vérificatrice générale du Canada en 2003. De plus, le manque de protection des lieux historiques sous la garde d'autres ministères fédéraux a également été signalé en 2007.

Renseignements supplémentaires