Parks Canada regrets to inform you of a potential breach of the personal information provided by users of lockage and mooring services at Parks Canada-operated waterways in Ontario and Quebec.

The potential breach resulted from the theft of a password-protected laptop during a break-in at a Parks Canada lock station in Ontario in July 2019.

The laptop contained no sensitive personal information, such as financial information. It did contain information, such as vessel name and registration, used to lock and moor vessels on the Ontario and Quebec waterways from May 2017 through July 2019. Some accounts also included contact information (name, mailing address, phone number and/or email address) provided by the vessel owner.

Parks Canada takes the responsibility to protect personal information from unauthorized disclosure seriously. The Ontario Provincial Police were immediately informed of the incident and attended the break-in site. Parks Canada also notified the Office of the Privacy Commissioner about the potential data breach.

Parks Canada considers the protection of the personal information to be of the utmost importance and regrets any concerns or inconvenience caused by this incident. We are conducting an internal review and have already taken actions to reduce the risk of similar incidents occurring in the future.

Individuals who are concerned their contact information may have been involved in this potential breach are reminded to remain on the lookout for internet frauds such as phishing, and to avoid providing personal or confidential information in response to unsolicited phone calls or emails.

Contact

Anyone with questions regarding this notice is encouraged to contact Parks Canada’s Access to Information Office by email AIPRP.ATIP@pc.gc.ca or by telephone 819-420-5044.

Individuals affected by this incident are entitled to register a concern with the Office of the Privacy Commissioner of Canada with regard to this incident.

Concerns may be sent by mail to 30 Victoria, 1st Floor, Gatineau, Quebec, K1A 1H3, or submitted online.

Nous avons le regret de vous informer qu'il y a eu une atteinte possible à la vie privée au sujet des renseignements personnels fournis à Parcs Canada par les utilisateurs de services d’éclusage et d'amarrage aux voies navigables exploitées par Parcs Canada en Ontario et au Québec.

L’atteinte possible à la vie privée s’est produite lorsqu’un ordinateur portable protégé par un mot de passe a été volé lors d'une introduction par effraction en juillet 2019 dans un poste d'éclusage en Ontario.

L’ordinateur portable ne contenant aucun renseignement personnel de nature délicate tel que des informations financières. Il contenait des informations comme l'enregistrement et le nom des bateaux, utilisées pour l’éclusage et l’amarrage des bateaux sur les voies navigables de l'Ontario et du Québec de mai 2017 à juillet 2019. Certains comptes incluaient aussi des coordonnées (nom, adresse postale, numéro de téléphone et/ou courriel) fournies par le propriétaire du bateau.

Parcs Canada prend très au sérieux la responsabilité de protéger les renseignements personnels contre toute divulgation non autorisée. La Police provinciale de l’Ontario a été immédiatement informée de l’incident et s’est rendue sur le site de l’introduction par effraction. Parcs Canada a également informé le Commissariat à la protection de la vie privée de l’atteinte possible à la protection des renseignements personnels.

Parcs Canada considère que la protection des renseignements personnels est de la plus haute importance et regrette toutes les préoccupations ou inconvénients causés par cet incident. Nous menons une révision à l’interne et avons déjà pris des mesures pour atténuer le risque qu’une situation semblable se reproduise à l’avenir.

Nous rappelons aux gens qui sont inquiets que leur coordonnées pourraient avoir été divulguées lors de cette atteinte possible à la vie privée d’être vigilants face aux fraudes par Internet telles que l’hameçonnage, et d’éviter de fournir des informations personnelles ou confidentielles par téléphone ou courriel lors de demandes non sollicitées.

Contact

Toute personne ayant des questions concernant cet avis est invitée à communiquer avec le Bureau de l’accès à l’information de Parcs Canada par courriel AIPRP.ATIP@pc.gc.ca ou par téléphone au 819-420-5044.

Individuals affected by this incident are entitled to register a concern with the Office of the Privacy Commissioner of Canada with regard to this incident.

Les personnes touchées ont le droit de déposer une plainte auprès du Commissariat à la protection de la vie privée du Canada concernant cet incident. Les plaintes peuvent être acheminées au 30 rue Victoria, 1er étage, Gatineau (Québec) K1A 1H3 ou être soumises en ligne.