Where the spirit of the past lives...

Travel back in time as both teachers and students alike experience life as a fur trader in 1896. Join us as you hunt and barter for supplies the old fashioned way. Then you can build your own cabin and learn about all the furs traded here.

At the Fort St. James National Historic Site we see the vital connection between a time for learning and a time for play. Therefore, our programs are intertwined with aspects of the B.C. school curriculum.

Programs can also be adapted, customized or modified to fit any school group and can be run at various times of the year upon special request.

Elementary school program

Elementary school program

Availability: Mid-May to September

Learning Level: All elementary grades

Program Length: Two hours, 10 am - 12 pm or 1-3 pm (times negotiable)

Maximum Capacity: 70 students

Description:
In this program each student has the opportunity to live like a fur trader. This program is filled with hands-on activities that engage the students in a historic setting. We start the program in the Visitor Centre where the students can use the washrooms and then watch a nine minute introductory film. After seeing the film, the students are broken up into a maximum of seven groups and sent to various stations, including historic buildings. Five of the stations are run by costumed interpreters that educate the students while doing interactive activities. The stations that the student will rotate through are:

  • Bartering for trade goods using rabbit furs
  • Building a Red River Frame style house
  • Handling furs
  • Historic and First Nations games
  • Hunting with spears
  • Learn domestic livestock of the fur trade
  • Pet the Nigerian Dwarf goats
  • See the Giant Flemish rabbits

High school programs

High school program

Availability: Mid-May to September

Learning Level: Gr.6-12

Program Length: Varying

Maximum Capacity: 70 students

Description:
This tour is a self guided tour of the historic grounds. We offer tours through the largest group of original wooden buildings representing the fur trade in Canada. Your tour will start with a nine minute introductory film and a look through the display room. Then walk along Stuart Lake and step back into 1896. In each of our historic buildings there is a costumed interpreter that will guide you through life at Fort St. James from 1806-1952. This tour is easily adaptable to fit your time schedule. Our buildings include:

  • Fur Warehouse
  • Fish Cache (no interpreter)
  • Staff House
  • Trade Store
  • Officer's Dwelling House
  • Hide Tanning Shed
Indigenous Days

Indigenous Days

Availability: June 16-20

Learning Level: K-12

Maximum Capacity: 150 students

Program Length: Two Hours, 10 am - 12 pm or 1-3 pm

Description:
This new and exciting program is designed to celebrate Canada's National Indigenous Peoples Day on June 21. The program is organized as closely to National Indigenous Peoples Day as possible, while still remaining in the school calendar. We run the program between three to five days, in both the morning and afternoon. There are a variety of stations that will engage students in learning about the Aboriginal culture. This program rotates on an "A" and "B" year rotation, so students can get a new experience even if they attend two years in a row! The students do not rotate through the historic buildings for this event, but will participate in a number of special activities. Some these activities are:

  • Atlat hunting
  • Be a Carrier messenger
  • Discover Carrier uses for plants
  • Play games of strength and mini potlatch
  • Oral storytelling
Fall, winter and early spring season programs

Fall, winter and early spring season programs

Open to Elementary, Junior High or High School bookings

Many of the programs we have available can be run upon special request and on a self-guided basis in the off season months. If you would like to take advantage of having Fort St. James National Historic Site all to yourselves in the off-season, you will find your program being led by one of our engaging year-round interpretive staff with a very personal, customized approach. We may be able to custom tailor a site program to fit your needs using our modern visitor centre and site buildings that provides you with a great venue to focus your students on the learning activities you seek. Our facilities include a comfortable visitor centre with an indoor workshop and theatre facility that can be useful in any seasonal weather condition. If you are interested in making a booking in the off-season, please consider the following;

  • We appreciate it if our group bookings are not more than 30 students at once during the "off-season"
  • That we receive at least two weeks notice of your intended visit to the historic site
  • That students come dressed and prepared for seasonal weather conditions and with appropriate footwear for the time of year (winter-bring boots, jacket, gloves and a hat)
  • Students must bring their own lunches and food, as no on-site food services will be available October-April
  • Provide us with as much information about your needs as a group and we can make our programs meet your objectives in this way

Self guided bookings and facility space

If you or your school group plan to make a visit to the site in the off season on a self-guided basis, we can also provide you with tools, materials and facilities to conduct your own investigative and discovery programs. Please call to discuss options for these opportunities.

Teacher and student feedback

In order to maintain and increase the effectiveness of our school programs at Fort St. James National Historic Site, we encourage teacher and student feedback at any time. If you can think of an improvement to our programs, create a new program concept or better connect BC Curriculums to make your program better, always let us know. Email: fortstjames@canada.ca

Là où le passé reprend vie...

Enseignants et élèves peuvent remonter dans le temps et se mettre dans la peau d’un commerçant de fourrures en 1896. Joignez-vous à nous pour chasser et troquer des fournitures comme autrefois. Vous pouvez même construire votre propre cabane et en apprendre davantage sur le troc des fourrures que l’on pratiquait ici jadis.

Au lieu historique national du Fort‑St. James, nous trouvons qu’il est important de joindre l’utile à l’agréable. C’est pourquoi nos programmes amusants sont liés à certains aspects du programme d’enseignement des écoles de la Colombie‑Britannique.

Les programmes peuvent être adaptés, personnalisés ou modifiés afin de répondre aux besoins de nombreux groupes scolaires. En outre, ils peuvent êtres offerts à diverses périodes de l'année sur demande.

Pour en savoir advantage :

Programme du niveau élémentaire

Programme du niveau élémentaire

Disponibilité : de la mi-mai à septembre

Niveau scolaire : toutes les années de l’élémentaire

Durée du programme : deux heures, de 10 h à midi ou de 13 h à 15 h (l’horaire est négociable)

Capacité maximale : 70 élèves

Description :
Ce programme offre aux élèves l’occasion de se mettre dans la peau d’un commerçant de fourrures et comprend diverses activités pratiques qui se déroulent dans un cadre historique. La visite commence au Centre d’accueil, où les élèves peuvent aller aux toilettes et écouter une vidéo d’introduction de neuf minutes. Ensuite, les élèves sont divisés en un maximum de sept groupes et se dirigent vers diverses stations comprenant des bâtiments historiques. À cinq des stations, des interprètes en costume d’époque offrent des activités interactives éducatives. Les stations visitées par les élèves sont les suivantes :

  • la chasse à la lance
  • le troc avec des fourrures de lapin
  • les jeux traditionnels et les jeux des Premières nations
  • la construction d’une maison à ossature de bois typique de la rivière Rouge
  • la préparation des fourrures
  • apprenez-en davantage sur les animaux d'élevage à l'époque de la traite des fourrures
Programme du niveau secondaire

Programme du niveau secondaire

Disponibilité : de la mi-mai à septembre

Niveau scolaire : de la 6e à la 12e année

Durée du programme : variable

Capacité maximale : 70 étudiants

Description :
Dans cette visite autoguidée, les participants découvrent le lieu historique et le plus important groupe de bâtiments de bois originaux de la traite de fourrures au Canada. Elle commence par une vidéo d’introduction de neuf minutes et par une visite dans la salle d’exposition. Les participants marchent ensuite le long du lac Stuart et font un voyage dans le temps jusqu’en 1896. Dans chacun des bâtiments historiques, un interprète en costume d’époque fait découvrir aux visiteurs la vie au fort St. James de 1806 à 1952. Cette visite peut aisément être adaptée à votre horaire. Les bâtiments visités comprennent :

  • l’entrepôt de fourrures
  • la cache à poisson (pas d’interprète)
  • la maison des employés
  • le magasin
  • la résidence des officiers
  • le bâtiment de tannage des peaux
Journée nationale des peuples Autochtones

Journée nationale des peuples Autochtones

Disponibilité : Du 16 au 20 juin

Niveau scolaire : de la maternelle à la 12e année

Capacité maximale : 150 élèves

Durée du programme : deux heures, de 10 h à midi ou de 13 h à 15 h

Description
Cette nouvelle activité fort intéressante a été créée afin de souligner la Journée nationale des Autochtones, qui a lieu chaque année le 21 juin. Nous tâchons de tenir les activités aussi près que possible de la Journée nationale des Autochtones tout en restant dans le calendrier scolaire. Les activités s’étendent sur cinq jours et ont lieu le matin et l’après-midi. Les élèves visitent diverses stations où ils peuvent en apprendre davantage sur la culture autochtone. Ce programme n’inclut pas de circuit dans les bâtiments historiques, mais bien un certain nombre d’activités spéciales. Deux programmes différents sont offerts en alternance, de façon à ce que les étudiants puissent vivre une expérience différente d’une année à l’autre, même s’ils assistent au programme deux années de suite. Voici certaines des activités offertes : 

  • chasse à l’atlatl
  • jouez à des jeux de force et participez à un mini-potlatch
  • usage des plantes par les Porteurs
  • récit de tradition orale
  • jeu de messagers des Porteurs
Programmes offerts en automne, en hiver et au début du printemps

Programmes offerts en automne, en hiver et au début du printemps

Destinés aux écoles élémentaires, intermédiaires et secondaires

Bon nombre de nos programmes peuvent être offerts sur demande et prendre la forme de visites autoguidées pendant la basse saison. Si vous souhaitez profiter du calme de la basse saison pour visiter le lieu historique national du Fort‑St. James, des interprètes dynamiques travaillent toute l’année à l’animation des programmes. En outre, les programmes peuvent être adaptés à vos besoins. Notre centre d’accueil moderne et les bâtiments du lieu historique constituent d’excellentes installations pour la tenue d’activités éducatives à l’intention de vos élèves. Notre centre d’accueil confortable, qui comprend un atelier et un théâtre, est un bon endroit où tenir des activités, peu importe la saison et le temps qu’il fait. Si vous songez à faire une réservation pour la basse saison, veuillez prendre note des consignes suivantes :

  • Veuillez limiter la taille des groupes à 30 élèves pendant la basse saison.
  • Avertissez-nous de votre visite au moins deux semaines à l’avance.
  • Veillez à ce que les élèves soient habillés et chaussés adéquatement pour les conditions météorologiques et la saison (en hiver, les élèves devraient apporter des bottes, un manteau, des gants et un chapeau).
  • Du mois d’octobre au mois d’avril, les élèves doivent apporter leur propre nourriture, puisqu’aucun service de restauration n’est offert au lieu historique. (Il est toutefois possible de faire appel à un traiteur sur demande.)
  • Afin que nous puissions adapter nos programmes, donnez-nous le plus de renseignements possible sur les besoins de votre groupe.

Réservations pour les visites auto-guidées et les installations

Si vous prévoyez une visite autoguidée au lieu historique pendant la basse saison, nous pouvons mettre à votre disposition des outils, du matériel et des installations qui vous permettront d’organiser votre propre programme de découverte. N’hésitez pas à nous appeler pour discuter des options qui vous sont offertes.

Commentaires des enseignants et des élèves

Afin de maintenir et d’accroître l’efficacité des programmes scolaires offerts au lieu historique national du Fort‑St. James, nous encourageons, en tout temps, les enseignants et les élèves à nous faire part de leurs commentaires. Si vous avez des idées qui pourraient nous permettre d’améliorer nos programmes, d’en créer de nouveaux ou de mieux nous intégrer au programme d’enseignement de la Colombie‑Britannique, n’hésitez pas à nous envoyer un message à l’adresse : fortstjames@canada.ca