© Her Majesty the Queen in Right of Canada, represented by the Chief Executive Officer of Parks Canada, 2018.

Cette publication est aussi disponible en français.

Gitwangak Battle Hill National Historic Site of Canada Management Statement 2018.

  • Paper: R64-530/2018E
  • 978-0-660-26624-4
  • PDF: R64-530/2018E-PDF
  • 978-0-660-26623-7

For more information about the management statement or about Gitwangak Battle Hill National Historic Site of Canada

Gitwangak Battle Hill National Historic Site of Canada

Mailing address:
P.O. Box 37
Queen Charlotte, BC
V0T1S0

Telephone:
250-559-8818

Fax:
250-559-8366


Front cover image credits

Parks Canada, Tim Swanky

Foreword

The Honourable Catherine McKenna, Minister of the Environment and Minister responsible for Parks Canada

Canada’s national parks, national historic sites and national marine conservation areas belong to all Canadians and offer truly Canadian experiences.

These special places make up one of the finest and most extensive systems of protected natural and cultural heritage areas in the world.

The Government is committed to preserving our natural and cultural heritage, expanding the system of protected places and contributing to the recovery of species-at-risk. At the same time, we must continue to offer new and innovative visitor and outreach programs and activities so that more Canadians can experience Parks Canada places and learn about our environment, history and culture.

This new management statement for Gitwangak Battle Hill National Historic Site of Canada supports this vision.

Management statements are developed through extensive consultation and input from various people and organizations, including Indigenous peoples, local and regional residents, visitors and the dedicated team at Parks Canada.

National parks, national historic sites and national marine conservation areas are a priority for the Government of Canada. I would like to thank everyone who contributed to this management statement for their commitment and spirit of co-operation.

As the Minister responsible for Parks Canada, I applaud this collaborative effort and I am pleased to approve the Gitwangak Battle Hill National Historic Site of Canada Management statement.

Catherine McKenna
Minister of Environment and Climate Change and Minister responsible for Parks Canada

Recommendations

Recommended by and original signed by

Michael Nadler

Acting Chief Executive Officer
Parks Canada

Trevor Swerdfager

Senior Vice-President, Operations
Parks Canada

Ernie Gladstone

Field Unit Superintendent, Gwaii Haanas Field Unit
Parks Canada

Introduction

The Parks Canada Agency manages one of the finest and most extensive systems of protected natural and historic areas in the world. The Agency’s mandate is to protect and present these places for the benefit and enjoyment of current and future generations. This management statement outlines Parks Canada’s management approach and objectives for Gitwangak Battle Hill National Historic Site of Canada for the next 10 years. It replaces the 2005 Ta’awdzep Kitwanga Fort National Historic Sites of Canada Management Plan.

Gitwangak Battle Hill National Historic Site was designated a national historic site in 1971 to commemorate the significance of the eighteenth century Gitwangak hill top fort, and for the site’s association with Gitwangak adaawak (history) which recalls the epic battles of the legendary warrior Chief Nekt who fought to gain control of the network of lucrative trading trails from the Nass to the Kitimat Rivers. According to Gitwangak adaawak, the defensive fortifications were constructed by Chief Nekt. The battle hill fortification contained five cedar-planked longhouses, constructed on the summit of a hill and enclosed by a palisade. Archaeological research suggests that the site had been occupied for at least a century when, around 1835, it was burned and abandoned.

In 1981 the National Historic Site designation was expanded to recognize the national historic significance of the Gitwangak Xwtsaan (totem poles) located about five kilometres south, in the First Nations community of Gitwangak, British Columbia. The poles are owned by the Gitwangak Band Council.

Gitwangak Battle Hill National Historic Site is located in Kitwanga, British Columbia, adjacent to Xdi Dax (Kitwanga River), about five kilometres north of Gitwangak. It is a self-interpreted site, including a trail and tri-lingual interpretive panels that were developed with members of the Gitwangak First Nation and representatives of the Nekt family.

Originally, the site was recommended to the Minister for designation as “Fort Kitwanga” by the Historic Sites and Monuments Board of Canada. In 2006, the site was officially renamed “Gitwangak Battle Hill National Historic Site” at the request of the Gitwangak Band Council, the main point of contact for the First Nation at that time.

This current management statement has been developed with input and support from an advisory committee comprised of members of the Simgiget’m Gitwangak Society (hereditary leaders). The Simgiget’m Gitwangak Society was established in 2015 and is responsible for management of all lands, waters and resources within Gitwangak traditional territory outside the boundaries of the Gitwangak Reserve.

During the development of this management statement, the advisory committee requested the official name “Gitwangak Battle Hill National Historic Site” be revised to “Gitwangak Ta’awdzep National Historic Site”. The change reflects the substitution of the Gitxsan word (ta’awdzep) for the English version (battle hill). While the process for renaming a national historic site is outside the authority of Parks Canada and this management statement, “Gitwangak Ta’awdzep National Historic Site” will be used through the remainder of this document to reflect the intent for this process to be undertaken.

Management Objectives

The following section outlines the strategic direction for the management of Gitwangak Ta’awdzep National Historic Site over the next 10 years. Parks Canada will maintain an open dialogue on the implementation of this management statement, to ensure that it remains relevant and meaningful.

Parks Canada will meet annually with the Simgiget’m Gitwangak Society to seek input on work plans that will achieve the objectives of this management statement.

Building Relationships with the Gitwangak First Nation: Parks Canada respects Indigenous rights and building mutually beneficial relationships with Indigenous communities is a priority for the Agency.

For the Gitwangak Ta’awdzep National Historic Site, Parks Canada works with the Gitwangak First Nation to incorporate traditional knowledge, values and cultural heritage, and to ensure:

  • The site is suitably protected.
  • The reasons for the national significance of the Gitwangak Ta’awdzep National Historic Site and the site’s role in Canadian history are effectively communicated to the public.
  • The site’s heritage values are respected by all whose decisions or actions affect the site.
  • The Gitwangak First Nation’s adaawak associated with the national historic site is accurately and respectfully commemorated.

Parks Canada offers technical advice to the Gitwangak First Nation on the protection and presentation of the Gitwangak Xwtsaan (totem poles) located in Gitwangak.

Maintaining Relationships with Local Partners: Parks Canada works with the Simgiget’m Gitwangak Society, Gitwangak Band Council and Kitwanga community association in the maintenance, presentation, and promotion of the site.

Cultural Resource Conservation: Parks Canada protects cultural resources at its heritage places in accordance with its Cultural Resource Management Policy (2013) and the Standards and Guidelines for the Conservation of Historic Places in Canada (2010). This includes basic monitoring of the state of cultural resources, and documentation of interventions at the national historic site. At Gitwangak Ta’awdzep National Historic Site, management efforts also ensure:

  • The open character of the historical landscape surrounding Ta’awdzep as well as the viewscape to and from the summit of Ta’awdzep is maintained.
  • The natural and cultural resources of the designated place are not lost, impaired or threatened by human actions within or outside the site.
  • All decisions concerning the protection and maintenance of the designated place are made in accordance with the principles of cultural resource management including:
    • understanding heritage value
    • sustainable conservation
    • benefits to Canadians.

Site Maintenance: Parks Canada maintains the property it administers so as to respect the site’s heritage values and present a positive image to the public. Parks Canada provides annual site maintenance with a focus on visitor facilities and safety. Parks Canada works with the Simgiget’m Gitwangak Society and local residents to ensure the site and its facilities are safe, clean and welcoming during the visitor season.

Public Appreciation and Promotion: Parks Canada provides information about the significance of Gitwangak Ta’awdzep National Historic Site on its website, and on the Canadian Register of Historic Places. In addition, Parks Canada offers a visitor brochure to complement tri-lingual interpretive panels located throughout the site, describing the traditional adaawak associated with the site.

Summary of Strategic Environmental Assessment

Parks Canada is responsible for assessing and mitigating the impacts of management actions on ecosystems and on cultural resources. The Cabinet Directive on the Environmental Assessment of Policy, Plan and Program Proposals (2010) prepared by the Canadian Environmental Assessment Agency, requires a strategic environmental assessment of all plans and policy submitted to the federal Cabinet or to a Minister for approval deemed to have important positive or negative environmental effects.

A strategic environmental assessment was undertaken on this management statement, and the management direction found within has been adjusted to respond to findings. The following is a summary of the environmental assessment:

Strategic environmental assessment methods were used to evaluate the environmental effects likely to arise from implementing the October 2016 draft management statement for Gitwangak Battle Hill National Historic Site of Canada. The management statement outlines Parks Canada’s management approach and objectives for the site which support fulfilment of the Parks Canada Agency’s mandate. The results of the strategic environmental assessment are briefly summarised here.

Objectives in the management statement focus on building relationships with the Gitwangak First Nation whose history and culture is central to the site; maintaining relationships with local partners; protecting the cultural resources and heritage places at the site; maintaining the site amenities and facilities; and promoting the site so the public better understands and appreciates the traditional stories and history associated with the site. Implementation of actions to fulfil the objectives in the management statement are expected to increase the level of cultural resource protection and commemorative integrity at Gitwangak Battle Hill National Historic Site of Canada. There are no important negative environmental effects anticipated from management statement implementation. All objectives proposed in the October 2016 draft management statement for Gitwangak Battle Hill National Historic Site of Canada are consistent with Parks Canada policy, and the Kitwanga Fort National Historic Site Commemorative Integrity Statement (2000).

Individual projects undertaken to implement management statement objectives at the site will be evaluated to determine if an impact assessment is required under the Canadian Environmental Assessment Act 2012, or successor legislation. In instances where an impact assessment is required, no project work will be undertaken until the impact assessment is completed and Parks Canada has made a decision to proceed with the project. A more detailed strategic environmental assessment was undertaken for the 2005 Kitwanga Fort National Historic Site (now known as Gitwangak Battle Hill National Historic Site) Management Plan. The strategic environmental assessment identified environmental effects sources as well as suggested means to mitigate these effects. That document should be consulted prior to undertaking vegetation management activities that may result in expansion of invasive weed species populations at the site.

© Sa Majesté la Reine du chef du Canada, représentée par le directeur général de l’Agence Parcs Canada, 2018.

This document is also available in English. 

Énoncé de gestion du lieu historique national du Canada de la Colline-Battle Hill-des-Gitwangaks, 2018.

  • Paper: R64-530/2018F
  • 978-0-660-26626-8
  • PDF: R64-530/2018F-PDF
  • 978-0-660-26625-1

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur l’énoncé de gestion ou sur le lieu historique national du Canada de la Colline-Battle Hill-des-Gitwangaks : 

Lieu historique national du Canada de la Colline-Battle Hill-des-Gitwangaks

Adresse:
CP 37
Queen Charlotte, C.-B
V0T1S0

Téléphone:
250-559-8818

Télécopieur:
250-559-8366


Sources des images de la page couverture

Parcs Canada, Tim Swanky

Avant-propos

L'honorable Catherine McKenna, Ministre de l’Environnement et du Changement climatique et ministre responsable de Parcs Canada

Les parcs nationaux, les lieux historiques nationaux et les aires marines nationales de conservation du Canada appartiennent à tous les Canadiens et Canadiennes et offrent des expériences authentiquement canadiennes.

Ces endroits spéciaux forment l’un des plus beaux et plus vastes réseaux d’aires patrimoniales naturelles et culturelles protégées au monde.

Le gouvernement s’est engagé à protéger notre patrimoine naturel et culturel, à élargir le réseau des aires protégées et à contribuer au rétablissement des espèces en péril. Nous devons en même temps continuer d’offrir de nouveaux programmes et activités innovateurs axés sur les visiteurs et la sensibilisation pour permettre à davantage de Canadiens et de Canadiennes de découvrir les sites de Parcs Canada et d’apprendre au sujet de notre histoire, environnement et culture.

Ce nouvel énoncé de gestion du lieu historique national du Canada de la Colline-Battle Hill-des-Gitwangaks vient appuyer cette vision.

Les énoncés de gestion sont élaborés dans le cadre de consultations et de contributions exhaustives de personnes et d’organismes divers, dont les peuples autochtones, des résidents locaux et régionaux, des visiteurs et de l’équipe dévouée œuvrant à Parcs Canada.

Les parcs nationaux, les lieux historiques nationaux et les aires marines nationales de conservation sont une priorité pour le gouvernement du Canada. J’aimerais remercier tous ceux qui ont contribué à cet énoncé de gestion pour leur engagement et leur esprit de collaboration.

À titre de ministre responsable de Parcs Canada, j’applaudis cet effort concerté, et je suis heureuse d’approuver l’énoncé de gestion du lieu historique national du Canada de la Colline-Battle Hill-des-Gitwangaks.

Catherine McKenna
Ministre de l’Environnement et du Changement climatique et ministre responsable de Parcs Canada

Recommandations

Recommandé par :

Michael Nadler

Directeur général de l’Agence par intérim
Parcs Canada

Trevor Swerdfager

Vice-président principal, Opérations
Parcs Canada

Ernie Gladstone

Directeur d’unité de gestion, Unité de gestion de Gwaii Haanas
Parcs Canada

Introduction

Parcs Canada gère l’un des plus beaux et des plus vastes réseaux de lieux naturels et historiques protégés du monde. Son mandat consiste à protéger et à mettre en valeur ces lieux pour que puissent en profiter les générations d’aujourd’hui et de demain. Cet énoncé de gestion expose l’approche et les objectifs de gestion adoptés concernant le lieu historique national de la Colline-Battle Hill-des-Gitwangaks, pour les dix prochaines années. Il remplace le plan directeur 2005 des lieux historiques nationaux du Fort Ta’awdzep Kitwanga.

Le lieu historique national de la Battle Hill-des-Gitwangaks a été désigné lieu historique national en 1971 afin de commémorer l’importance du fort du XVIIIe siècle dominant la colline Gitwangak, et l’association du lieu historique à l’adaawak (l’histoire) Gitwangak qui retrace les batailles épiques du légendaire chef Nekt pour le contrôle du lucratif réseau de voies commerciales s’étendant de la rivière Nass à la rivière Kitimat. Selon l’adaawak Gitwangak, les fortifications défensives ont été érigées par le chef Nekt. La fortification située au haut d’une colline contenait des longues maisons construites de planches de cèdre entourées d’une palissade. Les résultats de fouilles archéologiques laissent supposer que le site fut occupé pendant au moins un siècle avant d’être incendié et abandonné en 1835.

En 1981, la désignation de lieu historique national fut élargie de manière à tenir compte de l’importance historique des Xwtsaan Gitwangaks (mâts totémiques) situés à environ cinq kilomètres au sud, dans la collectivité autochtone de Gitwangak, en Colombie-Britannique. Les totems sont la propriété du Conseil de bande Gitwangak.

Le lieu historique national de la Colline-Battle Hill-des-Gitwangaks est situé à Kitwanga en Colombie- Britannique et adjacent à la Xdi Dax (rivière Kitwanga) à environ cinq kilomètres au nord de Gitwangak. Il s’agit d’un lieu historique auto-interprété comportant un sentier et des panneaux d’interprétation trilingues élaborés en collaboration avec des membres de la Première Nation des Gitwangak et des représentants de la famille Nekt.

La désignation du site au titre de « Fort Kitwanga » fut initialement recommandée au ministre par la Commission des lieux et monuments historiques du Canada. À la demande du Conseil de bande Gitwangak, le site fut officiellement renommé « Lieu historique de la Colline-Battle Hill-des-Gitwangaks » en 2006, principal point de contact de cette première nation à l’époque.

Le présent énoncé de gestion a été préparé avec la participation et le soutien d’un comité consultatif composé de membre de la Société Simgiget’m Gitwangak (chefs héréditaires). Créée en 2o15, la Société Simgiget’m Gitwangak chapeaute la gestion de toutes les terres, eaux et ressources sur l’ancestral territoire Gitwangak situé à l’extérieur des limites de la Réserve Gitwangak.

Lors de l’élaboration du présent énoncé de gestion, le comité consultatif a demandé à ce que le nom officiel « Lieu historique national de la Colline-Battle Hill-des-Gitwangaks » soit modifié pour devenir « Lieu historique national Gitwangak Ta’awdzep ». La modification prévoit de substituer la version anglaise (Battle Hill) par le mot gitksan ta’awdzep. Bien que le processus de changement de dénomination d’un lieu historique national n’entre pas dans le champ de compétence de Parcs Canada et du présent énoncé de gestion, la dénomination « Lieu historique national Gitwangak Ta’awdzep » sera utilisée dans la suite de ce document afin de souligner la volonté d’entreprendre ce processus.

Objectifs de gestion

La section suivante définit l’orientation stratégique de la gestion du lieu historique national Gitwangak Ta'awdzep au cours des dix prochaines années. L’Agence Parcs Canada entretiendra un dialogue ouvert sur l’application des objectifs de cet énoncé de gestion afin de s’assurer que ces derniers demeurent pertinents et significatifs.

L’Agence Parcs Canada et la Société Simgiget’m Gitwangak se réuniront tous les ans afin de recueillir des avis sur l’élaboration de plans de travail qui permettront d’atteindre les objectifs du présent énoncé de gestion.

Établir des liens avec la Première Nation Gitwangak : L’Agence Parcs Canada respecte les droits des peuples autochtones et a pour priorité l’établissement de relations mutuellement avantageuses avec les collectivités autochtones.

Au lieu historique national Gitwangak Ta’awdzep, l’Agence Parcs Canada, en collaboration avec la Première Nation Gitwangak, travaille à l’incorporation de savoirs et de valeurs traditionnels, d’un patrimoine culturel, et à garantir :

  • Une protection adéquate des lieux;
  • Une communication efficace des raisons justifiant l’importance du lieu historique national Gitwangak Ta’awdzep et son rôle dans l’histoire du Canada.
  • Le respect des valeurs patrimoniales du site par tous ceux qui, par leurs actions ou leurs décisions, peuvent exercer une influence sur le lieu.
  • Une commémoration fidèle et respectueuse de l’adaawak de la Première Nation Gitwangak associée au lieu historique national.

L’Agence Parcs Canada fournit des conseils techniques à la Première Nation Gitwangak en matière de protection et de mise en valeur des Xwtsaan gitwangak (mâts totémiques) situés à Gitwangak.

Entretenir des liens avec les partenaires locaux : L’Agence Parcs Canada travaille à l’entretien, la mise en valeur et la promotion du site en collaboration avec la Société Simgiget’m Gitwangak, le Conseil de bande Gitwangak et l’association communautaire de Kitwanga.

Gestion des ressources culturelles : L’Agence Parcs Canada protège les ressources culturelles et ses lieux patrimoniaux conformément à sa Politique sur la gestion des ressources culturelles (2013) et aux Normes et lignes directrices pour la conservation des lieux patrimoniaux au Canada (2010). Ceci comprend le suivi de base de l’état des ressources culturelles et la documentation des interventions effectuées au lieu historique national. Les efforts déployés en matière de gestion au lieu historique national Gitwangak Ta’awdzep garantissent également :

  • La conservation de l’aspect ouvert du paysage historique entourant Ta’awdzep et du point de vue sur et depuis le sommet de Ta’awdzep.
  • Que les interventions humaines sur le site ou en dehors de celui-ci n’entraînent pas la perte, la détérioration ou la mise en danger de ressources naturelles ou culturelles.
  • Toutes les décisions touchant à la protection et à l’entretien des lieux désignés sont prises conformément à des principes de gestion des ressources culturelles dont :
    • La compréhension des valeurs patrimoniales
    • Une conservation durable
    • Les avantages pour la population canadienne.

Entretien des lieux : l’Agence Parcs Canada entretient les propriétés qu’elle administre de manière à en respecter les valeurs patrimoniales et à en présenter une image positive au public. L’Agence Parcs Canada assure un entretien annuel de ses sites en mettant l’accent sur la sécurité des visiteurs et les installations qui leur sont dédiées. L’Agence Parcs Canada travaille, en collaboration avec la Société Simgiget’m Gitwangak et les résidents locaux, pour garantir la sécurité, la propreté et le caractère accueillant de ses lieux et installations pendant la saison touristique.

Appréciation du public et promotion : L’Agence Parcs Canada publie des renseignements sur l’importance du lieu historique national Gitwangak Ta’awdzep sur son site Web ainsi que dans le Répertoire des lieux patrimoniaux du Canada. Qui plus est, l’Agence Parcs Canada offre un dépliant à l’intention des visiteurs en guise de complément aux panneaux d’interprétation trilingues répartis sur les lieux et décrivant l’adaawak traditionnelle associée au site.

Sommaire de l’évaluation environnementale stratégique

L’Agence Parcs Canada a pour responsabilité l’évaluation et l’atténuation des impacts associés aux interventions de gestion dont peuvent faire l’objet les écosystèmes et les ressources culturelles. La Directive du Cabinet sur l’évaluation environnementale des projets de politiques, de plans et de programmes (2010) préparée par l’Agence canadienne d’évaluation environnementale exige la réalisation d’une évaluation environnementale stratégique pour tous les plans et politiques considérés comme ayant une incidence environnementale positive ou négative et soumis au cabinet fédéral ou à un ministre aux fins d’approbation.

Une évaluation environnementale stratégique de cet énoncé de gestion a été effectuée et l’orientation de gestion qui s’en dégage a été ajustée pour répondre aux conclusions de l’évaluation. Voici un résumé de l’évaluation environnementale :

Des méthodes propres à une évaluation environnementale stratégique ont été employées pour évaluer les effets environnementaux potentiels liés à la mise en œuvre du projet d’énoncé de gestion déposé en octobre 2016 pour le lieu historique de la Colline-Battle Hill-des Gitwangaks. L’énoncé de gestion définit l’approche et les objectifs de gestion de Parcs Canada propres au site qui permettent à l’Agence de s’acquitter de son mandat. Les conclusions de l’évaluation environnementale stratégique sont brièvement résumées ci-après.

Les objectifs définis dans l’énoncé de gestion portent principalement sur l’établissement de liens avec la Première Nation Gitwangak, dont l’histoire et la culture sont des éléments essentiels du lieu historique; l’entretien de liens avec des partenaires locaux; la protection des ressources culturelles et des emplacements patrimoniaux sur place; l’entretien des équipements et des installations ainsi que la promotion du site auprès du public afin que ce dernier comprenne et apprécie les récits traditionnels et l’histoire associés au site. L’application de mesures visant à atteindre les objectifs définis dans l’énoncé de gestion devra augmenter le niveau de protection des ressources culturelles et d’intégrité commémorative du lieu historique national du Canada de la Colline-Battle Hill-des-Gitwangaks. Aucun effet environnemental négatif associé à l’application des objectifs de l’énoncé de gestion n’est prévu. Tous les objectifs proposés dans le projet d’énoncé de gestion déposé en octobre 2016 pour le lieu historique national de la Colline-Battle Hill-des-Gitwangaks sont en accord avec la politique de Parcs Canada et l’Énoncé d’intégrité commémorative du lieu historique national du Fort-Kitwanga (2000).

Chaque projet mis en œuvre dans le but d’appliquer les objectifs de l’énoncé de gestion relatifs au lieu historique sera évalué afin de déterminer si une étude d’impact est nécessaire en vertu de la Loi canadienne sur l’évaluation environnementale (2012) ou d’une loi la remplaçant. Dans le cas où une étude d’impact serait requise, aucun travail lié au projet ne sera entrepris avant que l’étude d’impact n’ait été effectuée et que l’Agence Parcs Canada ait décidé de mettre ledit projet en œuvre. Une évaluation environnementale stratégique plus approfondie et détaillée du plan directeur 2005 pour le lieu historique national du Fort-Kitwanga (aujourd’hui appelé lieu historique national de la Collin-BattleHill-des-Gitwangaks) a été effectuée. L’évaluation environnementale stratégique a cerné les facteurs responsables d’impacts sur l’environnement et proposé des mesures visant à atténuer ces impacts. Il convient de consulter ce document avant d’entreprendre toute activité de gestion de la végétation pouvant donner lieu à la propagation d’espèces de mauvaises herbes envahissantes sur les lieux.