Parks Canada is investing an unprecedented $3 billion dollars over five years to support infrastructure work to heritage, visitor, waterway and highway assets located within national historic sites, national parks, and national marine conservation areas across Canada. Investments in preservation, rehabilitation, and restoration of our national historic sites will protect our heritage and strengthen their appeal as destinations to celebrate our nation's achievements.

Upcoming Fire Suppression System and Sanitation Upgrades 

Important infrastructure upgrades will be underway this fall in the areas outside the Gulf of Georgia Cannery National Historic Site building. These upgrades are required to ensure this cherished community site remains safe and continues to be enjoyed for generations to come. The upcoming work will be divided into the following two phases: 

Fire Suppression System Upgrades
The fire suppression system at the national historic site is being removed and replaced with an updated system to meet the latest safety standards. As part of this ongoing project, crews will be working along the north side of the property to install a new manhole and sump pump. This work is expected to begin as early as October 21, 2019 and last for approximately two weeks.

Sanitation Upgrades
To achieve efficiencies while work is underway for the fire suppression system, Parks Canada is able to work with the same contractor to install a new sanitary connection along the east side of the building This work is expected to begin following the completion of work on the north side of the building, and is expected to last for approximately two weeks once underway.

The national historic site will remain open during both phases of work, and visitors can continue to access the main entrance to the building. The public will also be able to access the walking path, with brief periods of interruptions to allow construction traffic to pass. Parking will continue to be available at the main parking lot adjacent to the Administration building. While the onsite washroom facilities are closed for the necessary repairs, there are washroom facilities located in Fisherman’s Park, across from the national historic site.  

The planned work is scheduled to take place between 7 a.m. and 5 p.m., Monday to Friday. Due to varying tide-levels in the Richmond area during this period, some work may occur on weekends or at night-time. Visitors can expect to see fencing around the work areas, and occasionally hear noise from the heavy machinery. 

Visitor safety is a top priority for Parks Canada. While the work is underway, visitors to the Gulf of Georgia Cannery National Historic Site are advised to exercise caution, respect all on-site signage and, follow instructions from on-site contractors and flaggers. 

Project updates will be posted on the Cannery’s Facebook and Twitter accounts.Parks Canada appreciates the patience of the community and visitors alike while we complete this necessary work.

Parcs Canada investit la somme sans précédent de trois milliards de dollars sur cinq ans pour appuyer les travaux d’infrastructures des biens patrimoniaux, des actifs destinés aux visiteurs et des actifs des voies navigables et des routes dans les lieux historiques nationaux, les parcs nationaux et les aires marines nationales de conservation partout au Canada. Ces investissements dans la préservation, la réhabilitation et la restauration de nos lieux historiques nationaux protégeront notre patrimoine et rehausseront leur attrait en tant que destinations pour célébrer les réalisations de notre nation.

Modernisation prochaine du système d’extinction d’incendie et de l’installation sanitaire

D’importants travaux de modernisation de l’infrastructure seront entrepris cet automne à l’extérieur du lieu historique national du Canada Gulf of Georgia Cannery. Ces travaux sont nécessaires pour maintenir la sécurité de ce lieu historique fort apprécié et pour que les futures générations puissent continuer à en profiter. Les travaux seront réalisés en deux étapes.

Modernisation du système d’extinction d’incendie
On va enlever le système d’extinction d’incendie du lieu historique national et le remplacer par un système plus moderne pour se conformer aux dernières normes de sécurité. Un nouveau trou d’homme et une pompe de puisard vont être installés du côté nord du bâtiment. Les travaux devraient commencer dès le 21 octobre 2019 et dureront environ deux semaines.

Modernisation de l’installation sanitaire
Afin de réaliser des gains d’efficacité, Parcs Canada a pu retenir le même entrepreneur pour installer un nouveau raccord sanitaire le long du côté est du bâtiment. Ces travaux commenceront lorsque les travaux entrepris du côté nord du bâtiment seront terminés; ils devraient durer environ deux semaines.

Le lieu historique national demeurera ouvert pendant les travaux et les visiteurs pourront continuer à utiliser l’entrée principale. Le public pourra également emprunter le sentier piétonnier, avec de brèves périodes d’interruption pour permettre le passage des véhicules de chantier. On pourra continuer à se garer sur le terrain de stationnement principal adjacent au bâtiment de l’administration. Les toilettes sur place seront fermées pendant les réparations nécessaires, mais on pourra utiliser les toilettes situées dans le parc Fisherman’s, en face du lieu historique national.

Il est prévu que les travaux se dérouleront de 7 h à 17 h, du lundi au vendredi. En raison de la variation des marées dans la région de Richmond pendant la période en question, il se pourrait que des travaux soient effectués pendant la fin de semaine ou la nuit. Les visiteurs peuvent s’attendre à trouver une clôture autour du chantier et ils entendront occasionnellement le bruit des engins de construction.

La sécurité des visiteurs est la priorité absolue pour Parcs Canada. Pendant les travaux, les visiteurs du lieu historique national Gulf of Georgia Cannery sont priés d’être prudents, de respecter la signalisation et de suivre les instructions des entrepreneurs et des signaleurs.

Des mises à jour seront publiées sur la page Facebook du site et son compte Twitter (angl. seulement). Parcs Canada tient à remercier les résidents et les visiteurs de leur patience pendant ces travaux nécessaires.