What to know before you visit

Parks Canada is investing an unprecedented $3 billion dollars over five years to support infrastructure work to heritage, visitor, waterway and highway assets located within national historic sites, national parks, and national marine conservation areas across Canada. These investments represent the largest federal infrastructure plan in the history of Parks Canada.


Projects at Fort Rodd Hill and Fisgard Lighthouse National Historic Sites

Temporary site closure – October 28 and 29, 2019

Fort Rodd Hill and Fisgard Lighthouse National Historic Sites will be temporarily closed to the public on October 28 and 29, 2019, to allow crews to complete the clean-up phase of the recent paving project. Parks Canada is scheduling this portion of the work and the associated closure on the days when visitation tends to be lower to minimize disruption to visitors. 

Safety is a top priority for Parks Canada. This closure is necessary to ensure visitor safety while crews complete this final phase of work to improve infrastructure and enhance visitor experience within Fort Rodd Hill and Fisgard Lighthouse National Historic Site. Parks Canada appreciates the patience of the community and visitors alike while we complete this important work.

Visitors are advised to make alternative arrangements if planning to travel to the area while work is underway, and to contact us at 250-478-5849 or pc.fortrodd.pc@canada.ca before visiting.

As we enter into the fall season, we would also like to remind visitors that from October 15, 2019 to February 28, 2020, the grounds of the national historic site and washrooms will be open seven days a week from 10 a.m. to 4 p.m. for those who would like to enjoy a walk through the woods or a stroll along the beach. During this time, Fisgard Lighthouse and most historic buildings will be open to the public on Saturdays and Sundays only.

Concrete restoration

Years of water infiltration and long-term exposure to the marine environment put many of Fort Rodd Hill’s concrete walls and buildings at risk of becoming unsafe and permanently lost. Many of these structures date back to the late 1800s and represent some of the only intact coastal fortifications from this time period remaining in Canada. The recently completed restoration work will help preserve the Lower Battery Casemate Barracks, the Lower Battery Canteen, and the Upper Battery Fortifications for future generations to learn about and enjoy.  

Exterior lighting at Fort Rodd Hill and Fisgard Lighthouse

An exterior lighting system has been installed, which highlights the spectacular features of the fort and lighthouse at night, and improves safety for visitors staying overnight in the oTENTiks.

Garry oak ecosystems species at risk recovery

A visit to Fort Rodd Hill and Fisgard Lighthouse national historic sites is not only a an opportunity to take a step back in time and learn about our military and coastal navigation history, but it is also an immersion into one of Canada's rarest habitats: a Garry oak ecosystem. Visit the Garry Oak Learning Meadow, a garden bursting with native plants, and witness the vibrancy of this restored habitat. Ask for a copy of the Garry Oak Gardener's Handbook and let it guide you to the satisfying practice of naturescaping your green space with low maintenance native plants. Two new self-guided interpretive trails await, allowing you to explore Fort Rodd Hill's natural spaces and get interesting insights into the history of the land and its people.


To stay updated on infrastructure work at Fort Rodd Hill and Fisgard Lighthouse National Historic Sites, follow us on Facebook or on Twitter, or call 250-478-5849.

Ce qu’il faut savoir avant votre visite

Parcs Canada investira une somme record de trois milliards de dollars sur cinq ans pour réaliser des travaux d’infrastructures dans les installations patrimoniales, celles destinées aux visiteurs ainsi que dans les voies navigables et les routes situées dans les lieux historiques nationaux, les parcs nationaux et les aires marines nationales de conservation d’un bout à l’autre du Canada. Cet investissement représente le plus important plan d’infrastructure fédéral dans l’histoire de Parcs Canada.


Travaux aux lieux historiques nationaux Fort Rodd Hill et du Phare de Fisgard

Fermeture temporaire des sites – du 28 au 29 octobre 2019

Les lieux historiques nationaux Fort Rodd Hill et du Phare-de-Fisgard seront fermés au public les 28 et 29 octobre 2019 pour permettre aux ouvriers d’effectuer la phase de nettoyage suite au projet récent de pavage. Parcs Canada planifie cette partie des travaux lorsque les visites sont habituellement moins nombreuses pour réduire au minimum les perturbations pour les visiteurs.

La sécurité est une priorité absolue pour Parcs Canada. Cette fermeture est nécessaire pour assurer la sécurité des visiteurs pendant que les ouvriers terminent la dernière phase des travaux visant à améliorer l’infrastructure et l’expérience des visiteurs au sein des lieux historiques nationaux Fort Rodd Hill et du Phare-de-Fisgard. Parcs Canada tient à remercier les résidents et les visiteurs de leur patience pendant le déroulement de ces importants travaux.

Les visiteurs sont invités à modifier leur itinéraire s’ils prévoyaient de se rendre à ces lieux pendant qu’on y effectue les travaux, et à communiquer avec nous au 250 478 5849 ou à pc.fortrodd.pc@canada.ca avant leur visite.

En ce début d’automne, Parcs Canada aimerait rappeler aux visiteurs que du 15 octobre 2019 au 28 février 2020, le terrain du lieu historique national et les installations sanitaires seront ouverts sept jours sur sept de 10 h à 16 h pour les gens qui souhaitent faire une promenade dans les bois ou le long de la plage. Pendant cette période, le phare de Fisgard et la plupart des bâtiments historiques seront ouverts au public les samedis et les dimanches seulement.

Restauration des structures en béton

En raison de plusieurs annéess d’infiltrations d’eau et d’exposition au milieu marin, de nombreux murs et bâtiments en béton du Fort Rodd Hill risquent de devenir dangereuses et irrémédiablement endommagées. Nombreuses de ces structures datent de la fin des années 1800 et sont les seuls exemples de fortifications côtières de cette période encore intactes au Canada. Les travaux de restauration maintenant terminés permettent de préserver, casemates de la batterie inférieure, la cantine de la batterie inférieure et les fortifications supérieures, afin que les générations futures puissent en profiter et en découvrir l’histoire. 

Éclairage extérieur au fort Rodd Hill et au phare de Fisgard

Des lumières extérieures ont été installées afin de mettre en valeur les éléments spectaculaires du fort et du phare la nuit. Le nouvel éclairage améliore également la sécurité des visiteurs qui passent la nuit dans les abris oTENTik.

Rétablissement des espèces en péril des écosystèmes du chêne de Garry

Une visite aux lieux historiques nationaux Fort Rodd Hill et du Phare de Fisgard n’est pas seulement un coup d’œil sur notre histoire militaire et sur notre passé de navigation côtière. C’est aussi une incursion dans l’un des habitats les plus rares du Canada : les écosystèmes du chêne de Garry. Visitez le pré à chênes de Garry éducatif, où pullulent les plantes indigènes, et voyez combien cet habitat restauré peut être dynamique. Demandez un exemplaire du « Garry Oak Gardener's Handbook » (guide pour la culture de plantes indigènes) et laissez vous guider pour agrémenter vos espaces verts de plantes indigènes peu exigeantes. Deux nouveaux sentiers d’interprétation autoguidés sont à votre disposition pour explorer les espaces naturels du fort Rodd Hill, et vous dévoilent des aspects intéressants de l’histoire du pays et de ses habitants.


Pour vous tenir au courant des travaux d’infrastructure en cours aux lieux historiques Fort Rodd Hill et du Phare de Fisgard, suivez nous sur Facebook ou sur Twitter, ou composez le 250 478 5849.