Coronavirus (COVID-19): Some Parks Canada places have begun a safe, gradual reopening of some outdoor areas and services, including camping. Visitors are encouraged to plan ahead and be well-prepared for their visit. Details here.

A 20-minute drive from downtown Victoria, Fort Rodd Hill and Fisgard Lighthouse National Historic Sites offer abundant ways to spend a fascinating half or full day exploring historic battlements, weapons and displays. Stroll through a restored Garry oak meadow. Take the 10-minute walk to Fisgard Lighthouse. Extend your stay camping in an outdoor oTENTik. Check the fort’s annual schedule and plan your visit around special family events.

Use of drones at Parks Canada places

Drone flying is a popular hobby and useful in many fields of work. However, they also pose risks and can disturb wildlife and visitors. For these reasons, Parks Canada strictly limits the use of drones.

Flying a drone without park or site approval may result in law enforcement action and a fine of up to $3,000.
More information

Pets

We understand and appreciate that your pet is an important member of your family. Pets are not permitted inside the national historic site, the visitor centre or historic buildings. Pets can be kept within the parking lot area. Only registered service animals are allowed on site.

Dogs are allowed off leash in Colwood's Municipal Parks, except for Esquimalt Lagoon Migratory Bird Sanctuary including Coburg Peninsula. The closest is located in Colwood Creek Park, access available from Cecil Blogg Drive.

For more locations in the Colwood area, please visit Colwood Municipal Parks.

Smoking

To protect our nationally significant historic buildings, artefacts and interpretive displays, and to ensure the enjoyment of all visitors, smoking is not permitted on this site. This includes the use of cigarettes, cigars, pipes, vaping and e-cigarettes. Smoking is permitted only in the parking lot.


Getting here

Location

Location: 603 Fort Rodd Hill Road
Victoria BC V9C 2W8
 

Fort Rodd Hill and Fisgard Lighthouse National Historic Sites are co-located 14 kilometers west of downtown Victoria, on the coastal edge of the City of Colwood.

From the TransCanada Highway 1 (Douglas Street downtown), take exit #10 towards View Royal and Colwood (Island Highway). Continue for 2.8 kilometers, and turn left at a set of lights onto Ocean Boulevard. Follow the Parks Canada directional signage. Continue for 1.5 kilometers, and the entrance to Fort Rodd Hill and Fisgard Lighthouse National Historic Sites is on your left.

Drive down the entry lane (Fort Rodd Hill Road) and always keep to the right. At the bottom you will find the parking lot, public washroom, and Welcome Centre.

Public Transportation

To visit the sites by public transportation, visit the BC Transit website. Bus #50 takes passengers from downtown Victoria to Colwood, BC. Please note, BC Transit does not continue down Ocean Boulevard to the Fort Rodd Hill and Fisgard Lighthouse National Historic Sites turnoff.

By Bicycle


Explore the beautiful Westshore by bicycle! Fort Rodd Hill and Fisgard Lighthouse National Historic Sites are just a short detour off of the Galloping Goose Regional Trail and E&N Rail Trail. Visit the Capitol Regional District website for more information on these bicycle routes.

  • Bicycle racks can be found just outside of the Welcome Centre.
  • Please leave your bike locked in this area when visiting the sites.
  • Potable water is available in all of the public washrooms onsite.

Free admission for youth 17 and under. Other fees still apply.
Detailed fees list

Facilities and services

Accessible Facilities Accessible services
Information Information
Picnic area Picnic area
Electric car charging station Electric car charging station
Lookout Lookout
Restrooms Restrooms
Bus parking Bus parking
Parking Parking

Maladie à coronavirus (COVID-19): Parcs Canada a commencé une ouverture progressive et sécuritaire de certains emplacements extérieurs et services, incluant le camping. Les visiteurs sont encouragés à planifier à l'avance et à être bien préparés pour leur visite. Détails ici.

À 20 minutes en voiture du centre-ville de Victoria, les lieux historiques nationaux du Canada Fort Rodd Hill et du phare de Fisgard proposent plusieurs façons de découvrir les bâtiments, les armes et les expositions historiques, en une demi-journée ou une journée entière. Promenez-vous dans un pré à chênes de Garry préservé. Marchez pendant 10 minutes pour vous rendre au phare de Fisgard. Prolongez votre séjour en dormant dans une tente oTENTik en plein air. Consultez la programmation annuelle du fort et planifiez votre visite en fonction des événements familiaux spéciaux.

Utilisation de drones dans les lieux de Parcs Canada

L’utilisation de drones est un passe-temps populaire et pratique dans de nombreux secteurs d’activité. Toutefois, les drones constituent également des risques et peuvent perturber la faune et les visiteurs. Pour ces raisons, Parcs Canada limite strictement l’utilisation des drones.

Une personne utilisant un drone sans avoir obtenu l’approbation du parc ou du lieu est passible de mesures d’application de la loi et d’une amende pouvant atteindre 3 000 $. Plus d'information

Animaux de compagnie

Nous comprenons et apprécions que votre animal de compagnie soit un membre important de votre famille. Les animaux domestiques ne sont pas autorisés à l’intérieur des lieux historiques nationaux, dans le centre des visiteurs ou les bâtiments historiques. Les animaux de companie peuvent rester dans l'aire de stationnement. Seuls les chiens d'assistance certifiés sont permis dans les lieux.

Les chiens sont autorisés dans les parcs municipaux de Colwood, sauf dans le Refuge d’oiseaux migrateurs d’Esquimalt-Lagoon. Le plus proche est situé dans le parc Colwood Creek, accessible depuis Cecil Blogg Drive.

Pour savoir où se trouvent plus d’endroits dans la région de Colwood, visitez Colwood Municipal Parks (en anglais seulement).

Fumer

Afin de protéger nos bâtiments historiques nationaux, nos artefacts et nos panneaux d’interprétation, et pour assurer le plaisir de tous les visiteurs, fumer n'est pas autorisé sur ce site. Cela comprend l'utilisation de cigarettes, cigares, pipes, vaporeuses et cigarettes électroniques. Fumer n'est autorisé que dans l’aire de stationnement.


Comment s’y rendre

Emplacement

Location: 603, chemin Fort Rodd Hill
Victoria BC V9C 2W8
 

Les lieux historiques nationaux Fort Rodd Hill et du Phare-de-Fisgard sont situés au même endroit, à 14 km à l’ouest du centre-ville de Victoria, sur le littoral dans la municipalité de Colwood.

Depuis la Transcanadienne (autoroute 1, ou rue Douglas au centre-ville), prenez la sortie no 10 vers View Royal et Colwood (route Island). Continuez sur 2,8 km, puis tournez à gauche sur le boulevard Ocean, au feu de circulation. Suivez la signalisation de Parcs Canada. Continuez sur 1,5 km; l’entrée des lieux historiques nationaux Fort Rodd Hill et du Phare-de-Fisgard se trouvera sur votre gauche.

Prenez la voie d’accès (route Fort Rodd Hill) et restez sur votre droite. En bas, vous trouverez le stationnement, les toilettes publiques et le Centre d’accueil.

Transport en commun

Si vous désirez prendre le transport en commun pour visiter les lieux historiques, consultez le site Web de BC Transit (en anglais seulement). L’autobus no 50 amène les passagers du centre-ville de Victoria jusqu’à Colwood. Veuillez prendre note que BC Transit n’offre aucun service sur le boulevard Ocean jusqu’à la route menant aux les lieux historiques nationaux Fort Rodd Hill et du Phare-de-Fisgard.

À bicyclette

Explorez la magnifique région du West Shore à bicyclette! Les lieux historiques nationaux Fort Rodd Hill et du Phare-de-Fisgard sont à proximité du sentier Galloping Goose et du sentier du chemin de fer E&N. Consultez le site Web du District régional de la capitale pour en savoir plus sur ces pistes cyclables (en anglais seulement).

  • On trouve des supports à vélos juste à côté du Centre d’accueil.
  • Assurez-vous de mettre un cadenas sur votre bicyclette pendant que vous visitez les lieux.
  • De l’eau potable est offerte dans toutes les toilettes publiques sur place.

Entrée gratuite pour les jeunes de 17 ans et moins. Les autres frais s'appliquent.
Tarification complète

Installations et services

Accessible Facilities Installations accessibles
Information Renseignements
Aire de pique-nique Aire de pique-nique
Borne de recharge pour véhicules électriques Borne de recharge électrique
Lookout Belvédère
Restrooms Toilettes
Stationnement d’autocars Stationnement pour autocars
Parking Stationnement