Thousands of men and women living near Fort Rodd Hill, or with a connection to this place, served with the Canadian forces in the World Wars and other conflicts. Many lost their lives.

Join us May 17, 2019 to honour two local, living Second World War veterans who, as young adults, contributed to victory at sea during the Battle of the Atlantic.

This free public event will also be an opportunity to pay tribute to those who fought during D-Day and the Battle of Normandy 75 years ago. On-hand will be Second World War era military vehicles with re-enactors, a Royal Canadian Navy patrol frigate, and a flyover by a vintage aircraft.


2019 Event Program

Friday May 17, 2019

Gates open at 9:30 am;
Ceremony starts at 10:30 am; followed by a reception and historic military programming
  • Musical prelude
  • Opening Cannon Fire
  • Royal Salute
  • O Canada
  • Welcoming remarks by Parks Canada and introduction of the Honour Party
  • Remarks by a veteran Elder
  • Address by Lieutenant Governor of British Columbia
  • Presentation of first Hometown Hero
  • Presentation of second Hometown Hero
  • Introduction of the ‘Boots’ campaign and commemoration of the 75th anniversary of D-Day with participating local schools 
  • Boots brought to ship at anchor
  • Commemorative video
  • Flyover by vintage aircraft (weather permitting)
  • God Save the Queen
  • Closing Cannon Fire
  • Reception

Alice “Ruddy” Adams shortly after enlisting in the WRCNS; her nickname was a diminutive of her maiden name Rutherford. (image courtesy Adams family)

Alice Adams

b. 1922

As the Second World War (1939-45) intensified, the Navy began recruiting Canadian women for volunteer service. With the creation in 1942 of the Women’s Royal Canadian Naval Service (WRCNS), more than 6,700 “Wrens” as they were called, stepped in to play a range of shore trades thus freeing sailors for active sea duty. One early recruit was Alice Adams (née Rutherford).

While a teacher at an elementary school in rural Saskatchewan at the start of the war, Adams saw a recruitment ad that brought her to Saskatoon where she enlisted among the first group of wireless telegraphists. After completing basic military training then multiple specialized signal courses, she was posted to top-secret wireless stations near the cities of Ottawa, Moncton, and Victoria.

Her duties included copying enemy naval traffic and tracking the location of U-boats. Such information was vital to Allied intelligence and helped steer merchant convoys away from danger. Upon war’s end, Adams came in direct contact with victims, processing liberated Canadian and British POWs returning from the Pacific.

Achieving the rank of Petty Officer, Adams’ service came to an end in 1946 when she was demobilized. Her wartime experiences led to lifelong friendships and gave her a self-confidence that she thereupon always exuded as a civilian.

 

left: Wren wireless telegraphists monitor receivers for enemy transmissions at the HMCS Coverdale station near Moncton, New Brunswick; right: Wrens on parade

Trevor Shuckburgh at the start of his distinguished naval career. (image courtesy Shuckberg family)

Trevor Cole Shuckburgh

b. 1922

Raised on a farm in Alberta, Trevor Shuckburgh grew restless to see the world. He seized his chance at 17 when he joined the Royal Canadian Navy during the Second World War (1939-45). He enlisted as a Boy Seaman and trained at HMCS Naden in British Columbia.

His first posting at sea was aboard HMCS Prince Henry, which intercepted two German merchant ships in the Pacific Ocean off South America. Next, he served aboard minesweepers off the coast of Newfoundland, and later in the English Channel and Bay of Biscay, all the while keeping up his studies and working hard for a promotion to petty officer.

In June 1944, Shuckburgh took part in Operation Neptune during the Normandy landings, aboard the frigate HMCS Teme. While chasing an enemy U-boat, he and his crewmates suffered a nighttime collision with an Allied escort carrier that nearly cut their ship in half. The following year, Shuckburgh earned a Commander-in-Chief Commendation for helping save Teme from sinking when the 20-metre stern section was lost during a torpedo attack.

With the help of the Royal Canadian Legion, Shuckburgh completed his education following the war and transitioned to the officer ranks, retiring in Victoria after a 32-year naval career.

 

left: HMCS Teme after the loss of her stern following a torpedo attack in the English Channel in March 1945; right (image courtesy Shuckberg family): Shuckburgh (on left) served as Aide-de-Camp to the Lieutenant-Governor of British Columbia, Major-General George Pearkes (on right).

Des milliers d’hommes et de femmes originaires de la région du fort Rodd Hill ou ayant une connexion avec celle-ci ont servi dans les Forces canadiennes au cours des guerres mondiales et des autres conflits. Beaucoup y ont perdu leur vie.

Venez-vous joindre mai 17, 2019 à nous pour rendre hommage à deux anciens combattants vivants de la région qui ont, en tant que jeunes adultes, ont contribués à la victoire sur les mers durant la bataille de l’Atlantique.

Cet événement public gratuit sera également une opportunité de rendre hommage à ceux qui ont combattu durant le Jour J et la bataille de Normandie il y a 75 ans. Des véhicules militaires de la Seconde Guerre mondiale avec acteurs de reconstitution historique, une frégate de patrouille de la Marine royale canadienne et un survol d’un aéronef d’époque seront également sur place. 


Programme 2019

Vendredi, 17 mai, 2019

Ouverture des portes à 9 h 30;
Début de la cérémonie à 10 h 30, suivie d’une réception et programmation historique militaire.
  • Prélude musical
  • Ouverture de la cérémonie par un tir de canon
  • Salut royal
  • Ô Canada
  • Mot de bienvenue de Parcs Canada et présentation des invités d’honneur
  • Allocution d’un ancient combatant aîné
  • Allocution du lieutenant-gouverneur de la Colombie-Britannique
  • Présentation de la première Héros de chez nous
  • Présentation du deuxième Héros de chez nous
  • Introduction de la campagne de bottes et une commémoration du 75e anniversaire du jour J avec la participation des écoles environnantes
  • Bottes apportées au navire à l'ancre
  • Vidéo commémorative
  • Survol aérien par un aéronef d’époque (avec météo favorable)
  • God Save the Queen
  • Fermeture de la cérémonie par un tir de canon
  • Réception

Alice « Ruddy » Adams peu après son enrôlement dans le WRCNS; son sobriquet était un diminutif de son nom de jeune fille Rutherford. (avec la permission de la famille Adams)

Alice Adams

née en 1922

Comme la Seconde Guerre mondiale (1939-1945) prend de l’ampleur, la Marine commence à recruter des Canadiennes pour le service volontaire. Avec la création en 1942 du Service féminin de la Marine royale du Canada (WRCNS), plus que 6 700 « Wrens », ainsi qu’on les surnomme, sont appelées à exercer divers métiers sur le littoral, libérant ainsi les marins pour le service actif en mer. Alice Adams (née Rutherford) se retrouve parmi les premières recrues.

Alors qu’elle est enseignante dans une école élémentaire de la Saskatchewan rurale au début de la guerre, Adams tombe sur une annonce de recrutement qui la conduira à Saskatoon où elle s’enrôlera au sein du premier groupe de télégraphistes. Après qu’elle ait suivi une formation militaire de base puis plusieurs cours dans les transmissions spécialisées, on l’affecte à des stations de radio sans fil ultrasecrètes près des villes d’Ottawa, de Moncton, ainsi que de Victoria.

Ses tâches consistaient notamment à copier les transmissions du trafic naval ennemi et à localiser les sous-marins. Cette information était essentielle pour les services de renseignement alliés et servait notamment à éloigner les convois marchands du danger. À la fin de la guerre, Adams eut des contacts directs auprès de victimes du conflit, en s’occupant de prisonniers canadiens et britanniques de retour du Pacifique après leur libération.

Sa carrière d’officier marinier prit fin en 1946, année de sa démobilisation. Ses expériences en temps de guerre lui permirent de tisser des liens d’amitié indéfectibles et lui insufflèrent une confiance en elle qui ne la quitta plus jamais dans son rôle de civile.

 

À gauche : Des « Wrens » télégraphistes écoutent les transmissions ennemies sur des récepteurs à la station NCSM Coverdale près de Moncton (Nouveau-Brunswick) ; À droite : Défilé de « Wrens »

Trevor Shuckburgh au début de sa carrière navale distinguée. (avec la permission de la famille Shuckburgh)

Trevor Cole Shuckburgh

né en 1922 

Vivant sur une ferme en Alberta, Trevor Shuckburgh rêvait de voir le monde. À 17 ans il saisit l’occasion et s’enrôle dans la Marine royale canadienne pendant la Seconde Guerre mondiale (1939-1945). Il fait ses classes comme matelot au centre de formation NCSM Naden, en Colombie-Britannique.

Il effectua sa première mission en mer à bord du NCSM Prince Henry, qui intercepta deux navires marchands allemands dans l’océan Pacifique au large de l’Amérique du Sud. Il fut ensuite membre d’équipage de dragueurs de mines au large de Terre-Neuve, puis dans la Manche et le golfe de Gascogne, tout en poursuivant ses études et en travaillant dur pour être promu au grade d’officier marinier.

En juin 1944, Shuckburgh participe à l’opération Neptune lors du débarquement en Normandie à bord de la frégate NCSM Teme. Lors d’une poursuite en pleine nuit d’un sous-marin ennemi, son navire faillit être coupé en deux à la suite d’une collision avec un transporteur allié. L’année suivante, Shuckburgh reçoit une Mention élogieuse du commandant en chef pour avoir aidé à maintenir le Teme à flot malgré la perte de sa section arrière longue de 20 mètres lors d’une attaque par torpille. 

Avec l’aide de la Légion royale canadienne, Shuckburgh a pu terminer ses études après la guerre, ce qui lui permit de joindre le rang des d’officiers. Il prit sa retraite à Victoria après 32 ans de carrière dans la marine.

 

À gauche: Le NCSM Teme après la perte de la poupe du navire suite à une attaque à la torpille dans la Manche en mars 1945; À droite (avec la permission de la famille Shuckburgh): De 1962 à 1965 Shuckburgh (à gauche) a été aide de camp du major-général George Pearkes (à droite), lieutenant-gouverneur de la Colombie-Britannique.