At Fort Rodd Hill visitors will find a plaque commemorating General Sir Arthur Currie, who not only trained on the site in the early 20th century, but went on to be the most influential Canadian soldier of the First World War.


General Sir Arthur Currie, an Architect of Vimy Ridge: The man, the myth

The Battle of Vimy Ridge took place April 9 to 12, 1917 during the First World War. A hero of this battle was General Sir Arthur Currie, GCMB, KCB. This former school teacher, and a general who had never attended a military college but who had radical ideas about warfare, was the pre-eminent reason for Canadian success at the Battle of Vimy Ridge.


From school teacher to General

Division III, Boys Central School, Victoria; teacher is Sir Arthur Currie; J.B. Clearihue and pupils - 1899 Division III, Boys Central School, Victoria; teacher is Sir Arthur Currie; J.B. Clearihue and pupils – 1899

Gunner Arthur William Currie began his military career in Victoria, British Columbia in 1897 with the 5th Regiment, Canadian Garrison Artillery as a Private. Currie was quickly promoted to bombardier (or corporal), then received a commission to lieutenant that same year. His quick rise through the ranks resulted from Currie’s ability to train his colleagues and get the desired results.

Over the period of 1907 to 1913, the 5th Regiment won every possible Dominion trophy for competitions in Canada and several international competitions. The 5th Regiment, with Currie leading, was recognized as “the best gunnery corps in the Dominion.”

In civilian life, Currie was a school teacher. The expression, “great teachers are born, not made” certainly applied to Currie. Whether it was school children or young gunners, Currie’s teaching talent was evident and strengthened his career, despite reluctance and even ridicule from his British contemporaries. The 5th Regiment, with Currie leading, was recognized as the best gunnery corps in the Dominion.


Rising ranks, communicating battle plans and amassing successes

Portrait of Lieutenant-Colonel Sir Arthur Currie, 1909
Portrait of Lieutenant-Colonel Sir Arthur Currie, 1909

At the outbreak of the war in August 1914, Currie was the Commanding Officer of the newly formed 50th Gordon Highlanders in Victoria (this after leaving the 5th Regiment with the rank of Lieutenant-Colonel).

By September 29th, Currie had again been promoted, this time to Brigadier General, and was on his way to Europe in charge of one of Canada’s infantry brigades. After a series of great successes, including the Second Battle of Ypres, Currie was promoted to Major-General and was given command of the entire First Canadian Division.

Since men in leadership positions were often killed or wounded in battle, Currie supported ensuring all ranks were aware of the entire battle plan, something many of his British comrades thought foolish and dangerous.

Despite this criticism, commanding officers at all levels from General to Corporal received trench maps and training on mock battlefields located behind the frontlines. He also gave specific objectives down to platoon and section level. While high-ranking British officers doubted Currie’s methods, the general’s ability to instruct played a pivotal role in the upcoming battle set for early April.


Winning one of the most famous battles of the Great War

The battle for Vimy Ridge has become almost mythic in proportion here in Canada, but let’s look at the hard facts:

Lieutenant-Colonel Sir Arthur Currie with regimentLieutenant-Colonel Sir Arthur Currie with regiment
  • Currie, as the commander of the First Canadian Division, was one of the key architects of the attack of April 9th, along with his superior, Lieutenant-General Sir Julian Byng, a British Officer who was in command of the entire Canadian Corps.
  • Byng instructed Currie to study the successes and failures of previous battle plans, in particular Verdun, and bring those lessons to the plan for Vimy.
  • Currie insisted that all men be aware of the battle plan so that it could still be executed even if commanding officers were killed in battle.
  • Junior officers were asked for input and suggestions.
  • The artillery played not just an important role in the initial stages of the battle, but the concept of the “rolling barrage” was employed to keep the enemy in the dugouts until Canadian forces were right on top of them.
  • Technology played an important role: German guns were identified using echolocation and trigonometry so that many were destroyed in the initial stages of the battle.
  • Smaller groups of soldiers were assigned objectives beyond just “taking the hill”. Soldiers knew their objectives and what to do if an officer or senior NCO was wounded or killed.

None of these strategies were particularly new; most had been tried before. What Currie did was employ them all together with a level of training befitting a school teacher. His expertise with artillery and willingness to allow others input into his plan made success a much surer thing.

By noon on April 9th, most of Vimy Ridge had been captured. Hill 145 (the highest point of the ridge) was taken on April 10th. Two days later another high point of the ridge known as “The Pimple” was taken. The four Canadian Divisions, which made up the majority of the troops, consisted of battalions from every province in the young dominion. A former school teacher… a general who had never attended a military college with radical ideas about warfare, had taken colonial troops and, with detailed planning and precision, helped plan and win one of the most famous battles of the Great War.

Two months after Vimy Ridge, Lieutenant-General Byng was promoted to command Britain’s Third Army, and Currie was promoted into Byng’s position, making him the first Canadian to be the commander of the Canadian Corps.

Canadian success in the last 18 months of the war was in large part due to Currie. In his new position as commander of the entire Canadian Corps, he was able to design and implement battle plans with greater freedom, and put his revolutionary tactics to use in battles like Hill 70 and Amiens which had substantial and lasting impact on the ultimate success of the Allies on the Western Front.

Les visiteurs du fort Rodd Hill trouveront une plaque commémorant le général Sir Arthur Currie, qui non seulement s’est entraîné sur le site au début du XXe siècle, mais qui est devenu le soldat canadien le plus influent de la Première Guerre mondiale.


Général Sir Arthur Currie, un architecte de la crête de Vimy : l’homme, le mythe.

La bataille de la crête de Vimy a eu lieu du 9 au 12 avril 1917 pendant la Première Guerre mondiale. Un héros de cette bataille fut le général Sir Arthur Currie, GCMB, KCB. Cet ancien professeur devenu général, qui n’avait jamais fréquenté un collège militaire, mais qui avait des idées radicales sur la guerre, a été la principale raison du succès canadien à la bataille de la crête de Vimy.


De professeur à général

 Division III, Boys Central School, Victoria; Sir Arthur Currie, professeur; J.B. Clearihue et les élèves - 1899 Division III, Boys Central School, Victoria; Sir Arthur Currie, professeur; J.B. Clearihue et les élèves - 1899

L’artilleur Arthur William Currie a commencé sa carrière militaire à Victoria, en Colombie-Britannique, en 1897, avec le 5e Régiment de l’Artillerie de garnison canadienne comme soldat. Currie est rapidement promu bombardier (ou caporal), puis est nommé lieutenant la même année. Son ascension rapide dans les rangs résulte de sa grande capacité à former ses collègues et à obtenir les résultats souhaités.

Entre 1907 et 1913, le 5e Régiment remporte tous les trophées Dominion possibles dans des compétitions au Canada et plusieurs compétitions internationales. Le 5e Régiment, sous la direction de Currie, est reconnu comme le meilleur corps d’artillerie du Dominion.

Dans la vie civile, Currie était professeur. L’expression « On naît grand professeur, on ne le devient pas » s’appliquait certainement à Currie. Qu’il s’agisse d’écoliers ou de jeunes artilleurs, son talent d’enseignant était évident et a renforcé sa carrière, malgré la réticence et même les sarcasmes de ses contemporains britanniques.


Montée en grade, communication des plans de bataille et réussites accumulées

> Portrait du lieutenant-colonel Sir Arthur Currie, 1909
Portrait du lieutenant-colonel Sir Arthur Currie, 1909

Au début de la guerre, en août 1914, Currie était le commandant du 50e Gordon Highlanders, nouvellement formé à Victoria (ceci après avoir quitté le 5e Régiment avec le grade de lieutenant-colonel).

Le 29 septembre, il est de nouveau promu, cette fois au grade de brigadier-général, et il est en route pour l’Europe à la tête de l’une des brigades d’infanterie du Canada. Après une série de grands succès, dont la deuxième bataille d’Ypres, Currie est promu major-général et reçoit le commandement de toute la Première Division canadienne.

Comme les hommes qui occupaient des postes de commandement étaient souvent tués ou blessés au combat, Currie appuyait l’idée de s’assurer que tous les grades étaient au courant de l’ensemble du plan de bataille, ce que plusieurs de ses camarades britanniques jugeaient insensé et dangereux.

Malgré ces critiques, les commandants de tous les grades, du général au caporal, reçoivent des cartes des tranchées et sont entraînés sur des champs de bataille fictifs situés derrière le front. Par ailleurs, Currie donne des objectifs spécifiques au niveau des pelotons et des sections.

Bien que des officiers britanniques de haut rang doutent des méthodes de Currie, la capacité du général comme instructeur joue un rôle central dans la bataille prévue pour le début avril prochain.


Vainqueur de l’une des batailles les plus célèbres de la Grande Guerre

La bataille de la Crête de Vimy est devenue presque mythique ici au Canada, mais examinons les faits :

 Lieutenant-colonel Sir Arthur Currie et régiment Lieutenant-colonel Sir Arthur Currie et régiment
  • En tant que commandant de la Première Division canadienne, Currie a été l’un des principaux architectes de l’attaque du 9 avril, aux côtés de son supérieur, le lieutenant-général Sir Julian Byng, un officier britannique qui commandait l’ensemble du Corps canadien.
  • Byng a chargé Currie d’étudier les succès et les échecs des plans de bataille antérieurs, en particulier celui de Verdun, et d’en tirer des leçons pour le plan de Vimy.
  • Currie a insisté pour que tous les hommes soient au courant du plan de bataille afin que celui-ci puisse être exécuté même si les commandants étaient tués au combat.
  • Les officiers subalternes ont été invités à formuler des commentaires et des suggestions.
  • Non seulement l’artillerie a joué un rôle important dans les premières étapes de la bataille, mais le concept du « barrage roulant » a été utilisé pour garder l’ennemi dans les abris jusqu’à ce que les forces canadiennes les dominent de plein fouet.
  • La technologie a joué un rôle important : les canons allemands ont été identifiés à l’aide de l’écholocalisation et de la trigonométrie de sorte que beaucoup ont été détruits dans les premières étapes de la bataille.
  • De plus petits groupes de soldats se sont vus assigner des objectifs allant au-delà de la simple « prise de la colline ». Les soldats connaissaient leurs objectifs et savaient quoi faire si un officier ou un sous-officier supérieur était blessé ou tué.

Aucune de ces stratégies n’était particulièrement nouvelle; la plupart avaient déjà été mises à l’essai. Ce que Currie a fait, c’est de les employer toutes ensemble avec un niveau de formation dû à un professeur. Son expertise de l’artillerie et sa volonté à permettre à d’autres de contribuer à son plan ont rendu la réussite beaucoup plus sûre.

Le 9 avril à midi, la majeure partie de la Crête de Vimy avait été capturée. La côte 145 (le point le plus élevé de la crête) fut prise le 10 avril. Deux jours plus tard, un autre sommet de la crête connu sous le nom de « Bourgeon » fut pris. Les quatre divisions canadiennes, qui constituaient la majorité des troupes, étaient composées de bataillons de toutes les provinces du jeune dominion. Un ancien professeur, un général qui n’avait jamais fréquenté un collège militaire et dont les idées sur la guerre étaient radicales, dirigeait les troupes coloniales, et grâce à une planification minutieuse et une précision sans faille, il a aidé à planifier et à gagner l’une des plus célèbres batailles de la Grande Guerre.

Deux mois après la bataille de la crête de Vimy, le lieutenant-général Byng est promu au commandement de la troisième armée britannique et Currie est promu au poste de Byng, ce qui fait de lui le premier Canadien à commander le Corps canadien.

Le succès du Canada au cours des 18 derniers mois de la guerre est en grande partie attribuable à Currie. À son nouveau poste de commandant de l’ensemble du Corps canadien, il a été en mesure de concevoir et de mettre en œuvre des plans de bataille avec davantage de liberté et de mettre ses tactiques révolutionnaires au service de batailles comme celle de la cote 70 et celle d’Amiens qui ont eu un impact important et durable sur le succès ultime des Alliés sur le front occidental.