Thousands of men and women living near Fort Rodd Hill, or with a connection to this place, served with the Canadian forces in the World Wars and other conflicts. Join us in commemorating individuals who made unique contributions to Canada’s Second World War efforts.


Lt Gray was the Royal Canadian Navy’s only member and the last Canadian to receive the Victoria Cross in the Second World War.
Lt Gray was the Royal Canadian Navy’s only member and the last Canadian to receive the Victoria Cross in the Second World War

Robert Hampton Gray

1917-1945

Born and raised in British Columbia, Robert Hampton “Hammy” Gray, enrolled in university intending to pursue a career in medicine; however, the Second World War (1939-45) changed these plans. A year into the conflict, Gray joined the Royal Canadian Naval Volunteer Reserve (RCNVR). He served on loan with the Royal Navy, eventually becoming an aviator of its Fleet Air Arm.

Following extensive training and flight experience, Lieutenant Gray was appointed senior pilot with 1841 Naval Air Squadron in 1944, serving aboard the aircraft carrier HMS Formidable. During a series of air attacks on the German battleship Tirpitz, Gray distinguished himself through his flying skills and courage. From the Atlantic, Formidable then sailed to the Pacific for the Battle of Okinawa against Imperial Japanese forces. In July 1945, Gray sank a Japanese destroyer earning him a Distinguished Service Cross. 

Days before the war’s end, Gray died leading a daring attack on Onagawa Bay. He was posthumously awarded the Victoria Cross, the Commonwealth’s highest decoration for valour. A courageous, cheerful, and well-loved leader, his death came as a sharp blow to his comrades-in-arms. Today, his inspiring leadership lives on through the Royal Canadian Navy’s sixth Arctic and Offshore Patrol Vessel named in his honour.

 

left: Aircraft on the flight deck of HMS Formidable with other British aircraft carriers on the horizon during Pacific Fleet operations. right: Entitled Finale, this painting depicts Lt Gray’s Corsair fighter-bomber in flames from heavy enemy fire moments before sinking the Japanese escort vessel Amakusa and crashing into the bay on 9 August 1945.

Alice “Ruddy” Adams shortly after enlisting in the WRCNS; her nickname was a diminutive of her maiden name Rutherford. (image courtesy Adams family)

Alice Adams

b. 1922

As the Second World War (1939-45) intensified, the Navy began recruiting Canadian women for volunteer service. With the creation in 1942 of the Women’s Royal Canadian Naval Service (WRCNS), more than 6,700 “Wrens” as they were called, stepped in to play a range of shore trades thus freeing sailors for active sea duty. One early recruit was Alice Adams (née Rutherford).

While a teacher at an elementary school in rural Saskatchewan at the start of the war, Adams saw a recruitment ad that brought her to Saskatoon where she enlisted among the first group of wireless telegraphists. After completing basic military training then multiple specialized signal courses, she was posted to top-secret wireless stations near the cities of Ottawa, Moncton, and Victoria.

Her duties included copying enemy naval traffic and tracking the location of U-boats. Such information was vital to Allied intelligence and helped steer merchant convoys away from danger. Upon war’s end, Adams came in direct contact with victims, processing liberated Canadian and British POWs returning from the Pacific.

Achieving the rank of Petty Officer, Adams’ service came to an end in 1946 when she was demobilized. Her wartime experiences led to lifelong friendships and gave her a self-confidence that she thereupon always exuded as a civilian.

 

left: Wren wireless telegraphists monitor receivers for enemy transmissions at the HMCS Coverdale station near Moncton, New Brunswick; right: Wrens on parade

Trevor Shuckburgh at the start of his distinguished naval career. (image courtesy Shuckberg family)

Trevor Cole Shuckburgh

b. 1922

Raised on a farm in Alberta, Trevor Shuckburgh grew restless to see the world. He seized his chance at 17 when he joined the Royal Canadian Navy during the Second World War (1939-45). He enlisted as a Boy Seaman and trained at HMCS Naden in British Columbia.

His first posting at sea was aboard HMCS Prince Henry, which intercepted two German merchant ships in the Pacific Ocean off South America. Next, he served aboard minesweepers off the coast of Newfoundland, and later in the English Channel and Bay of Biscay, all the while keeping up his studies and working hard for a promotion to petty officer.

In June 1944, Shuckburgh took part in Operation Neptune during the Normandy landings, aboard the frigate HMCS Teme. While chasing an enemy U-boat, he and his crewmates suffered a nighttime collision with an Allied escort carrier that nearly cut their ship in half. The following year, Shuckburgh earned a Commander-in-Chief Commendation for helping save Teme from sinking when the 20-metre stern section was lost during a torpedo attack.

With the help of the Royal Canadian Legion, Shuckburgh completed his education following the war and transitioned to the officer ranks, retiring in Victoria after a 32-year naval career.

 

left: HMCS Teme after the loss of her stern following a torpedo attack in the English Channel in March 1945; right (image courtesy Shuckberg family): Shuckburgh (on left) served as Aide-de-Camp to the Lieutenant-Governor of British Columbia, Major-General George Pearkes (on right).

Des milliers d’hommes et de femmes originaires de la région du fort Rodd Hill ou ayant une connexion avec celle-ci ont servi dans les Forces canadiennes au cours des guerres mondiales et des autres conflits. Venez-vous joindre à nous pour rendre hommage aux personnes qui ont contribué à l'effort de guerre du Canada pendant la Seconde guerre mondiale.



Lt Gray was the Royal Canadian Navy’s only member and the last Canadian to receive the Victoria Cross in the Second World War.
Le lieutenant Gray fut l’unique membre de la Marine royale du Canada et le dernier Canadien à se voir décerner la Croix de Victoria pendant la Seconde Guerre mondiale. 

Robert Hampton Gray

1917-1945

Natif de Colombie-Britannique, Robert Hampton « Hammy » Gray s’était inscrit à l’université avec l’ambition de devenir médecin. L’avènement de la Seconde Guerre mondiale (1939-1945) allait toutefois contrecarrer ses projets. Un an après le début du conflit, Gray s’enrôle dans la Réserve de volontaires de la Marine royale canadienne. Détaché auprès de la Royal Navy, il devient aviateur au sein de sa force aéronavale.

Après un entraînement rigoureux et de nombreuses heures de vol, le lieutenant Gray est nommé en 1944 pilote en chef de l’escadron 1841 de l’aéronavale, à bord du porte-avions HMS Formidable. Il se distingue par ses talents de pilote et son courage lors d’une série d’attaques aériennes contre le cuirassé allemand Tirpitz. Posté d’abord dans l’Atlantique, le HMS Formidable est envoyé dans le Pacifique pour la bataille d’Okinawa contre les forces impériales japonaises. En juillet 1945, Gray reçoit la Croix du service distingué pour avoir coulé un destroyer japonais. 

Mais quelques jours avant la fin de la guerre, le lieutenant Gray meurt en menant une attaque audacieuse sur la baie de Onagawa. On lui décerne à titre posthume la Croix de Victoria, la plus haute décoration militaire du Commonwealth. La mort de ce leader courageux, jovial et adulé porte un dur coup à ses compagnons d’armes. Aujourd’hui, ses qualités exceptionnelles de leadership se perpétuent grâce au sixième navire de patrouille arctique et extracôtière de la Marine royale du Canada nommé en son honneur.

 

À gauche : Aéronefs sur le pont d’envol du HMS Formidable avec d’autres porteavions britanniques à l’horizon pendant les opérations de la flotte du Pacifique. À droite : Intitulé Finale, ce tableau représente le chasseur-bombardier Corsair du lieutenant Gray en flammes sous le feu nourri de l’ennemi quelques instants avant de couler le navire d’escorte japonais Amakusa et de s’écraser dans la baie le 9 août 1945.


Alice « Ruddy » Adams peu après son enrôlement dans le WRCNS; son sobriquet était un diminutif de son nom de jeune fille Rutherford. (avec la permission de la famille Adams)

Alice Adams

née en 1922

Comme la Seconde Guerre mondiale (1939-1945) prend de l’ampleur, la Marine commence à recruter des Canadiennes pour le service volontaire. Avec la création en 1942 du Service féminin de la Marine royale du Canada (WRCNS), plus que 6 700 « Wrens », ainsi qu’on les surnomme, sont appelées à exercer divers métiers sur le littoral, libérant ainsi les marins pour le service actif en mer. Alice Adams (née Rutherford) se retrouve parmi les premières recrues.

Alors qu’elle est enseignante dans une école élémentaire de la Saskatchewan rurale au début de la guerre, Adams tombe sur une annonce de recrutement qui la conduira à Saskatoon où elle s’enrôlera au sein du premier groupe de télégraphistes. Après qu’elle ait suivi une formation militaire de base puis plusieurs cours dans les transmissions spécialisées, on l’affecte à des stations de radio sans fil ultrasecrètes près des villes d’Ottawa, de Moncton, ainsi que de Victoria.

Ses tâches consistaient notamment à copier les transmissions du trafic naval ennemi et à localiser les sous-marins. Cette information était essentielle pour les services de renseignement alliés et servait notamment à éloigner les convois marchands du danger. À la fin de la guerre, Adams eut des contacts directs auprès de victimes du conflit, en s’occupant de prisonniers canadiens et britanniques de retour du Pacifique après leur libération.

Sa carrière d’officier marinier prit fin en 1946, année de sa démobilisation. Ses expériences en temps de guerre lui permirent de tisser des liens d’amitié indéfectibles et lui insufflèrent une confiance en elle qui ne la quitta plus jamais dans son rôle de civile.

 

À gauche : Des « Wrens » télégraphistes écoutent les transmissions ennemies sur des récepteurs à la station NCSM Coverdale près de Moncton (Nouveau-Brunswick) ; À droite : Défilé de « Wrens »

Trevor Shuckburgh au début de sa carrière navale distinguée. (avec la permission de la famille Shuckburgh)

Trevor Cole Shuckburgh

né en 1922 

Vivant sur une ferme en Alberta, Trevor Shuckburgh rêvait de voir le monde. À 17 ans il saisit l’occasion et s’enrôle dans la Marine royale canadienne pendant la Seconde Guerre mondiale (1939-1945). Il fait ses classes comme matelot au centre de formation NCSM Naden, en Colombie-Britannique.

Il effectua sa première mission en mer à bord du NCSM Prince Henry, qui intercepta deux navires marchands allemands dans l’océan Pacifique au large de l’Amérique du Sud. Il fut ensuite membre d’équipage de dragueurs de mines au large de Terre-Neuve, puis dans la Manche et le golfe de Gascogne, tout en poursuivant ses études et en travaillant dur pour être promu au grade d’officier marinier.

En juin 1944, Shuckburgh participe à l’opération Neptune lors du débarquement en Normandie à bord de la frégate NCSM Teme. Lors d’une poursuite en pleine nuit d’un sous-marin ennemi, son navire faillit être coupé en deux à la suite d’une collision avec un transporteur allié. L’année suivante, Shuckburgh reçoit une Mention élogieuse du commandant en chef pour avoir aidé à maintenir le Teme à flot malgré la perte de sa section arrière longue de 20 mètres lors d’une attaque par torpille. 

Avec l’aide de la Légion royale canadienne, Shuckburgh a pu terminer ses études après la guerre, ce qui lui permit de joindre le rang des d’officiers. Il prit sa retraite à Victoria après 32 ans de carrière dans la marine.

 

À gauche: Le NCSM Teme après la perte de la poupe du navire suite à une attaque à la torpille dans la Manche en mars 1945; À droite (avec la permission de la famille Shuckburgh): De 1962 à 1965 Shuckburgh (à gauche) a été aide de camp du major-général George Pearkes (à droite), lieutenant-gouverneur de la Colombie-Britannique.