Table of contents

Maligne Lake Chalet. Two orange rectangles. Written in white text are the words Maligne Lake Chalet and Guest House National Historic Site. Management Statement 2020

Cette publication est aussi disponible en français.

For more information about the management statement or about Maligne Lake Chalet and Guest House:

Mailing address:
Jasper Field Unit, Parks Canada
PO Box 10
Jasper, AB T0E 1E0
Canada

Telephone:
780-852-6176


Approval

Approved on January 9, 2020 by:

Alan Fehr
Field Unit Superintendent
Jasper National Park
Parks Canada

Introduction

The Parks Canada Agency manages one of the finest and most extensive systems of protected natural and historic areas in the world. The Agency’s mandate is to protect and present these places for the benefit and enjoyment of current and future generations. This management statement outlines Parks Canada’s management approach and objectives for Maligne Lake Chalet and Guest House National Historic Site of Canada.

Maligne Lake Chalet and Guest House is situated 47 km southeast of the town of Jasper on the north shore of Maligne Lake, a large, glacier-fed lake surrounded by mountains in Jasper National Park. The longest natural lake in the Canadian Rockies, Maligne Lake is of cultural and spiritual significance for Indigenous peoples who have cultural ties to Jasper National Park. It has been considered one of the most scenic tourist attractions in Jasper National Park since the celebrated outdoorswoman Mary Schäffer published an account of her visit to the lake in 1911. The tourism draw of Maligne Lake remains strong today, as it is one of the most popular locations in the park for day trips as well as backcountry hikes and camping.

The chalet and guest house were constructed in 1927-1941 and 1935 by celebrated outfitter and guide Fred Brewster with support from the Canadian National Railways. The two log buildings are examples of the rustic architectural style characterised by peeled log construction, hipped roofs and exposed log detailing. The rustic style is found throughout the mountain national parks in the form of recreational and administrative buildings, many of which have been recognised by the Historic Sites and Monuments Board of Canada for their architecture and historic significance.

This National Historic Site represents the history and development of Jasper National Park as an early example of tourist accommodation in the backcountry. At the time that the Maligne Lake Chalet and Guest House were constructed, Maligne Lake was a remote location and experiencing the place involved making an arduous trip over rough trails. Horse outfitters and guides like Brewster and his staff, including Métis people, played an important role in Jasper National Park’s early development by providing supplies, transport and knowledge to intrepid tourists looking for ‘authentic’ wilderness experiences. The chalet and guest house are also representative of a wider expansion of railway based tourism initiatives and accommodations that took place throughout the Canadian Rocky Mountains during the interwar period.

Management approach

The Maligne Lake Chalet and Guest House National Historic Site is managed within the respective policy, legislative and regulatory frameworks of Jasper National Park.

Parks Canada owns the land and the Maligne Lake Chalet and Guest House, while the license of occupation holder currently operates the buildings as a commercial dining and special event space. The boundary of the National Historic Site encompasses both buildings and their immediate surrounding landscape (i.e. the footprint of the license of occupation) not including three more recent structures that service the chalet and guest house (washroom buildings and storage).

Parks Canada stabilised the chalet’s foundation in 1980 and conducted structural stabilisation of both buildings in 1994 that included foundational work, sill logs, chimneys and roofs. Renovations to the chalet and guest house were undertaken by the former lessee, Maligne Tours, in 2011. The site was designated as the Maligne Lake Chalet and Guest House National Historic Site by the Historic Sites and Monuments Board of Canada in 2014. Despite changes to the interiors and exteriors of the buildings due to their required stabilisation and renovation, they retain formal and structural integrity associated with their original design and purpose.

For a map, please refer to: https://www.pc.gc.ca/en/lhn-nhs/ab/maligne/visit

Management objectives

  • Cultural Heritage: Parks Canada protects cultural resources at its heritage places in accordance with its Cultural Resource Management Policy and the Standards and Guidelines for the Conservation of Historic Places in Canada. This includes ongoing monitoring of the state of cultural resources, documentation of past and future interventions at the site, and communication with the site’s operators to ensure the commemorative integrity of the structures is protected.
  • Building Relationships with Local/Regional Partners: Parks Canada works cooperatively with the license of occupation holder/operator to ensure management and operation of the site, including its interpretation, is consistent with the license of occupation and Jasper National Park of Canada Management Plan.
  • Stewardship: Stewardship of the site is informed by a Commemorative Integrity Statement to be prepared by Parks Canada with the involvement of the license of occupation holder and interested parties.
  • Public Understanding and Appreciation: Parks Canada communicates heritage messages and the reasons for designation of the national historic site through monitoring and maintenance of the Historic Sites and Monuments Board of Canada plaque, and online through the Jasper National Park website.
  • Directional Signage: Parks Canada works with the license of occupation holder/operator to ensure that welcome and directional signage is compatible and integrated with Parks Canada signage and guidelines.

Links:

Table des matières

Le chalet du lac maligne. Deux rectangles orange. Les mots écrits en blanc sont les mots lieu historique national du Chalet-et-de-la-Maison-d’Invités-du-Lac-Maligne. Énoncé de gestion 2020 

© Sa Majesté la Reine du chef du Canada, représentée par le directeur général de l’Agence Parcs Canada, 2017

This document is also available in English.

Pour en savoir plus sur l’énoncé de gestion ou sur le chalet et la maison d’invités du lac Maligne :

Adresse postale :
Unité de gestion Jasper, Parcs Canada
C.P. 10
Jasper (Alberta) T0E 1E0
Canada

Téléphone :
780-852-6176


Approbation

Approuvé le 22 décembre 2017 par :

Alan Fehr
Directeur d’unité de gestion
Parc national Jasper
Parcs Canada

Introduction

L’Agence Parcs Canada gère l’un des plus beaux et des plus grands réseaux d’aires naturelles et historiques protégées de la planète. Son mandat consiste à protéger et à mettre en valeur ces lieux pour que puissent en profiter les générations d’aujourd’hui et de demain. Le présent énoncé de gestion présente l’approche de gestion et les objectifs de Parcs Canada pour le lieu historique national du Canada du Chalet-et-de-la-Maison-d’Invités-du-Lac-Maligne.

Le chalet et la maison d’invités du lac Maligne se trouvent à 47 km au sud-est de la ville de Jasper sur la rive nord du lac Maligne, grand lac alimenté par les glaciers et entouré de montagnes dans le parc national Jasper. Le lac, qui est le plus long lac naturel des Rocheuses canadiennes, a une importance culturelle et spirituelle pour les peuples autochtones qui ont des liens culturels avec le parc national Jasper. Il est considéré comme l’une des attractions touristiques les plus pittoresques du parc national Jasper depuis que Mary Schäffer, célèbre passionnée de la nature, publia un récit du temps qu’elle y passa en 1911. De nos jours, le lac Maligne continue d’attirer un grand nombre de touristes. C’est l’un des endroits les plus fréquentés du parc pour les excursions d’une journée, les randonnées dans l’arrière-pays et le camping.

Le chalet et la maison d’invités du Lac-Maligne ont été construits respectivement entre 1927 et 1941 et en 1935 par Fred Brewster, célèbre pourvoyeur et guide de Jasper, avec le soutien des Chemins de fer nationaux du Canada. Les deux bâtiments en rondins sont des exemples du style architectural rustique caractérisé par la construction en rondins écorcés, les toits en croupe et les détails en rondins exposés. On retrouve ce style rustique dans tous les parcs nationaux des montagnes, qu’il s’agisse de bâtiments récréatifs ou administratifs. La Commission des lieux et monuments historiques du Canada a reconnu un grand nombre de ces bâtiments pour leur architecture et leur importance historique.

Le lieu historique national illustre l’histoire et la création du parc national Jasper en tant qu’exemple des premiers lieux d’hébergement de touristes dans l’arrière-pays. Quand le chalet et la maison d’invités du lac Maligne ont été construits, le lac était un endroit isolé; pour s’y rendre, il fallait faire un voyage ardu en prenant des sentiers accidentés. Les pourvoyeurs de services équestres et les guides, comme Brewster et ses employés, y compris des Métis, jouèrent un rôle important dans le développement initial du parc national Jasper en fournissant l’approvisionnement, le transport et les connaissances à des touristes intrépides qui cherchaient à vivre une expérience authentique dans la nature. Le chalet et la maison d’invités sont aussi représentatifs d’une expansion générale du tourisme ferroviaire et de l’hébergement qui a eu lieu dans toutes les Rocheuses canadiennes pendant l’entre-deux-guerres.

Approche de gestion

Le lieu historique national du Canada du Chalet-et-de-la-Maison-d’Invités-du-Lac-Maligne est géré dans le respect des politiques, des lois et des règlements du parc national Jasper.

Parcs Canada est propriétaire du terrain, ainsi que du chalet et de la maison d’invités du lac Maligne. Le titulaire actuel du permis d’occupation exploite un restaurant et des locaux pour des activités spéciales dans les bâtiments. Ces derniers et les terrains immédiatement adjacents (c.-à-d. l’empreinte du permis d’exploitation) sont compris dans les limites du lieu historique national, mais pas les trois structures les plus récentes qui desservent le chalet et la maison d’invités (bâtiments des toilettes et entrepôt).

Parcs Canada a stabilisé les fondations du chalet en 1980 et a effectué une stabilisation structurelle des deux bâtiments en 1994 laquelle comprenait des travaux sur les fondations, les rondins de seuil, les cheminées et les toits. En 2011, l’ancien locataire, Maligne Tours, a rénové le chalet et la maison d’invités. Le lieu historique national du Chalet-et-de-la-Maison-d’Invités-du-Lac-Maligne a été désigné par la Commission des lieux et monuments historiques du Canada en 2014. Malgré les changements apportés à l’intérieur et à l’extérieur des bâtiments en raison de la stabilisation et des rénovations nécessaires, les bâtisses ont conservé l’intégrité originale et structurelle correspondant à la conception et au but premier.

Pour voir une carte, prière de consulter le site suivant : http://www.pc.gc.ca/fr/lhn-nhs/ab/maligne/visit.

Objectifs de gestion

  • Conservation des ressources culturelles : L’Agence Parcs Canada protège les ressources culturelles situées dans ses lieux patrimoniaux, conformément à la Politique sur la gestion des ressources culturelles et aux Normes et lignes directrices pour la conservation des lieux patrimoniaux au Canada. Il s’agit notamment de continuellement surveiller l’état des ressources culturelles, consigner les interventions passées et futures au niveau du lieu, et communiquer avec les exploitants du lieu pour veiller à la protection de l’intégrité commémorative des structures.
  • Établissement de relations avec des partenaires locaux/régionaux : Parcs Canada coopère avec le titulaire du permis d’occupation/l’exploitant pour s’assurer que la gestion et le fonctionnement du lieu, y compris l’interprétation, sont conformes au permis d’exploitation et au plan directeur du parc national du Canada Jasper.
  • Intendance : L’intendance du lieu est guidée par un énoncé d’intégrité commémorative que Parcs Canada prépare avec la participation du titulaire du permis d’occupation et les parties intéressées.
  • Compréhension et appréciation du public : Parcs Canada communique des messages du patrimoine et les raisons de la désignation du lieu historique national en surveillant et en entretenant la plaque de la Commission des lieux et monuments historiques du Canada, et en ligne au moyen du site Web du parc national Jasper.
  • Panneaux indicateurs : Parcs Canada collabore avec le titulaire du permis d’occupation/l’exploitant pour veiller à ce que les panneaux d’accueil et les panneaux indicateurs soient compatibles, intégrés à la signalisation de Parcs Canada et conformes aux lignes directrices.

Liens