Cannabis is now legal and regulated in Canada.
Find out how this will affect your visit.

No highways existed when in 1813, the North West Company built a provision depot on Brule Lake to support fur brigades crossing the Rocky Mountains. When Jasper Haws took command of the post in 1817, it became known as "Jasper's House" to avoid confusion with Rocky Mountain House on the Saskatchewan River. He ran the post for three years, providing travelers with food and horses, and trading with Indigenous people.

In 1821, the North West Company merged with Hudson’s Bay Company and Jasper House moved upriver in 1829. The staging post became a major destination for travellers using the Athabasca and the Yellowhead passes and First Nations route through the Smoky River Pass. Though mid-century traffic to the post declined, Jasper’s legacy lives on in the adopted name of Canada’s largest Rocky Mountain Park. By 1909, the last remnants of Jasper's House were gone, but you can visit the plaque and viewpoint commemorating these historic fur trade routes and traders.

From the Jasper townsite, a 35km (22 mile) drive east will take you to the commemorative plaque and viewpoint overlooking Jasper House National Historic Site. Follow the short, beautiful trail to a wooden platform with interpretive panels and look out across the Athabasca River to a clearing where only the footprint of log buildings from Jasper House remain. Jasper National Park is a four hour drive west of Edmonton, and five hour drive northwest of Calgary.

Getting here

Location

Jasper National Park
PO Box 10
Jasper AB T0E 1E0

Highway 16, roadside pullout 35 km east of Jasper

Free admission for youth. Other fees still apply.
Detailed fees list

Facilities and services

Information Information
Restrooms Restrooms
Lookout Lookout
Parking Parking

Le cannabis est dorénavant légal et réglementé au Canada.
Découvrez quelle en sera l’incidence sur votre visite.

En 1813, la Compagnie du Nord-Ouest a érigé un poste près du lac Brûlé. Auparavant, il n’existait aucune voie rapide pour ravitailler les commerçants de fourrures qui traversaient les Rocheuses. Lorsque Jasper Haws en a pris le commandement en 1817, le poste a été rebaptisé Jasper House, pour le distinguer de la Rocky Mountain House sur la rivière Saskatchewan. Opérateur du poste pendant trois ans, Haws procurait de la nourriture et des chevaux aux voyageurs, et traitait avec les Autochtones.

En 1821, la Compagnie de la Baie d’Hudson et la Compagnie du Nord-Ouest ont fusionné. Jasper House a alors été reconstruit plus en amont de la rivière. Ce nouveau poste se trouvait à un endroit stratégique pour les voyageurs empruntant les cols Athabasca et Yellowhead, ainsi que pour les Premières Nations passant par le col de la rivière Smoky. La fréquentation du poste s’est faite plus rare au milieu du siècle, mais son nom est resté et a été donné au plus grand parc des Rocheuses du Canada. Les derniers vestiges de Jasper House ont disparu en 1909, mais le poste d’observation demeure. Rendez-vous sur ce lieu historique et profitez de la vue panoramique. Observez la plaque commémorative qui témoigne de ces routes et des commerçants qui les empruntaient.

Le lieu historique national Jasper House est situé à 35 km à l’est de la ville de Jasper. Il abrite une plaque commémorative et un poste d’observation. Empruntez le court sentier menant à une plateforme en bois agrémentée de panneaux d’interprétation. Observez le paysage grandiose qui se dresse devant vous, par-delà la rivière Athabasca, jusqu’à une clairière où seules les marques au sol des bâtiments en bois de Jasper House subsistent. Le parc national Jasper se trouve à quatre heures de route à l’ouest d’Edmonton et à cinq heures de route au nord-ouest de Calgary.

Comment s’y rendre

Emplacement

Parc national Jasper
CP 10
Jasper AB  T0E 1E0

Route 16, halte routière située à 35 km à l'est de Jasper

Entrée gratuite pour les jeunes. Les autres frais s'appliquent.
Tarification complète

Installations et services

Information Renseignements
Restrooms Toilettes
Lookout Belvédère
Parking Stationnement