Table of contents

A sign that says Jasper House. Two orange rectangles. Written in white text are the words Jasper House National Historic Site of Canada Management Statement 2017 

© Her Majesty the Queen in Right of Canada, represented by the Chief Executive Officer of Parks Canada, 2017

Cette publication est aussi disponible en français.

For more information about the management statement or about Jasper House National Historic Site of Canada:

Mailing address:
Jasper Field Unit, Parks Canada
PO Box 10
Jasper, AB T0E 1E0
Canada

Telephone:
780-852-6176


Approval

Approved on September 18, 2017 by:

Alan Fehr
Field Unit Superintendent
Jasper National Park
Parks Canada

Introduction

The Parks Canada Agency manages one of the finest and most extensive systems of protected natural and historic areas in the world. The Agency’s mandate is to protect and present these places for the benefit and enjoyment of current and future generations. This management statement outlines Parks Canada’s management approach and objectives for Jasper House National Historic Site.

Jasper House National Historic Site of Canada is located at a once-strategic point on routes through both Yellowhead Pass and the Athabasca Pass in the Canadian Rockies, approximately 35 km east of Jasper, Alberta. It was also strategically located for Indigenous people traveling through Snake Indian Pass into the upper Smoky River drainage, the Fraser River drainage and the interior of British Columbia.

First established by the North West Company in 1813, Jasper House was relocated in 1830 to the west bank of the upper Athabasca River near the north end of Jasper Lake, and became the centre of a modest and diverse community and an important staging post for travelers, serving as a warehouse for those crossing the two passes.

The post is associated with the Moberly family, as Henry John Moberly operated the post on a seasonal basis from 1858-1861, and whose descendants were among the first settlers in what was to become Jasper National Park. Similarly, Lewis Swift settled at Jasper House in 1891/1892 and modified the surviving structure, using it as a base from which to survey the valley for a suitable homestead location.

Jasper House served as a meeting place for all persons journeying through the Athabasca and Yellowhead passes throughout much of the 19th century including Indigenous peoples, explorers, missionaries, surveyors and homesteaders.

The remaining structures at Jasper House were destroyed in 1909. Today, the hectare and a half clearing where Jasper House stood is an archaeological site and cemetery with few remaining vestiges of the past but a strong sense of history. A road-side stop features the commemorative plaque, and a short walking trail with interpretive signs leads to a lookout with views across the Athabasca River to the clearing. The historic site fosters an appreciation of the landscape and conditions Indigenous peoples, fur traders and explorers endured when they travelled through here over 150 years ago.

Management approach

Parks Canada continues to manage the semi-remote site as a Zone I - Special Preservation area under the Jasper National Park Management Plan (2010). Jasper House has a strong sense of place and time, having maintained the relationship between the cultural landscape and the natural environment. Cultural resources of national significance include the remains of building footprints and chimney mounds, and archaeological resources such as middens, depressions, the cemetery and historic trails.

With pedestrian-only access from the Celestine Lake Road, the site receives few visitors. However, the plaque at the road-side stop, the interpretative walking trail, and information online and through partners such as the Jasper Yellowhead Museum and Archives highlight the stories of early human use of the Athabasca Valley, including traditional use by Indigenous peoples, the fur trade route and Jasper House.

For a map, please refer to: http://www.pc.gc.ca/en/lhn-nhs/ab/jasperhouse/visit.

Management objectives

  1. Parks Canada works collaboratively with Indigenous peoples in the planning, management and operations of our heritage places and is committed to building mutually beneficial relationships with Indigenous communities, based on trust, respect and understanding. In managing Jasper House National Historic Site, Parks Canada works with interested Indigenous communities associated with Jasper National Park to incorporate traditional knowledge and values into the protection, interpretation and visitor experience of the area.
  2. Parks Canada protects the cultural and archaeological resources of Jasper House to ensure the commemorative integrity of the national historic site within Jasper National Park. Working with others, Parks Canada preserves the elements that define the character of the historic site and give meaning to the overall pattern and understanding of the cultural landscape, including the cemetery and the surrounding natural environment.
  3. Parks Canada works cooperatively with partners and stakeholders to enhance the understanding and awareness of the site, and to manage appropriate access and visitor use in keeping with its designation as a National Historic Site and Special Preservation area.

Table des matières

Un signe qui dit Jasper House. Deux rectangles orange. Les mots écrits en blanc sont les mots Site historique national du Canada Jasper House - Énoncé de gestion 2017 

© Sa Majesté la Reine du chef du Canada, représentée par le directeur général de l’Agence Parcs Canada, 2017

This document is also available in English.

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur l’énoncé de gestion ou des questions connexes Lieu historique national du Col-Athabasca:

Adresse postale :
Unité de gestion Jasper, Parcs Canada
C.P. 10
Jasper (Alberta) T0E 1E0
Canada

Téléphone :
780-852-6176


Approbation

Approuvé le 18 septembre 2017 par :

Alan Fehr
Directeur d’unité de gestion
Parc national Jasper
Parcs Canada

Introduction

L’Agence Parcs Canada gère l’un des plus beaux et des plus grands réseaux d’aires naturelles et historiques protégées de la planète. Elle a pour mandat de protéger et de mettre en valeur ces lieux patrimoniaux dans l’intérêt des générations actuelles et futurs, tant pour leur agrément que pour l’enrichissement de leurs connaissances. Le présent énoncé de gestion expose l’approche et les objectifs adoptés par Parcs Canada pour la gestion du lieu historique national Jasper House.

Situé à environ 35 km à l’est de Jasper (Alberta), le lieu historique national du Canada Jasper House se trouve à un endroit qui revêtait autrefois une importance stratégique, le long des routes menant au col Yellowhead et au col Athabasca, dans les Rocheuses canadiennes. Ce comptoir d’approvisionnement était aussi commodément situé pour les Autochtones qui traversaient le col Snake Indian en route vers le bassin hydrographique de la haute Smoky, le bassin hydrographique du Fraser et ce qui est aujourd’hui le Centre de la Colombie-Britannique.

Fondé par la Compagnie du Nord-Ouest en 1813, le poste Jasper House a été déplacé en 1830 sur la berge ouest de la haute Athabasca, près de l’extrémité nord du lac Jasper, et il est devenu le centre d’une collectivité modeste mais hétérogène. Ce comptoir représentait une importante halte pour les voyageurs et servait d’entrepôt à ceux qui traversaient les deux cols.

Le poste Jasper House est associé à la famille Moberly, car Henry John Moberly en a assuré l’exploitation de façon saisonnière de 1858 à 1861. Ses descendants figuraient d’ailleurs parmi les premiers colons à s’établir dans ce qui allait devenir le parc national Jasper. Lewis Swift s’y est ensuite installé en 1891-1892 et a modifié le bâtiment principal; il s’en est servi comme base pour arpenter la vallée en quête d’un emplacement convenable pour un homestead.

Pendant la majeure partie du XIXe siècle, le poste Jasper House faisait office de lieu de rassemblement pour tous les voyageurs qui traversaient les cols Athabasca et Yellowhead –Autochtones, explorateurs, missionnaires, arpenteurs et propriétaires de homestead.

Les bâtiments restants du poste Jasper House ont été détruits en 1909. Aujourd’hui, la clairière d’un hectare et demi où se trouvait jadis le comptoir d’approvisionnement abrite un site archéologique et un cimetière renfermant quelques rares vestiges du passé, mais elle dégage une puissante aura historique. La plaque commémorative se trouve dans une voie d’arrêt aménagée en bordure de route. De là, un court sentier de randonnée jalonné de panneaux d’interprétation mène à un belvédère qui donne sur la clairière, de l’autre côté de la rivière Athabasca. Le lieu historique permet aux visiteurs de mieux connaître le paysage et les conditions de vie des peuples autochtones, des commerçants de fourrures et des explorateurs qui ont traversé ce secteur il y a plus de 150 ans.

Approche de gestion

Parcs Canada continue de gérer ce lieu historique semi-reculé comme une parcelle de zone I (Préservation spéciale), conformément à l’orientation donnée dans le Plan directeur du parc national Jasper (2010). Le poste Jasper House est animé d’un puissant esprit des lieux et semble figé dans le temps : la relation entre le paysage culturel et le milieu naturel est intacte. Parmi les ressources culturelles d’importance nationale, il convient de mentionner les empreintes des bâtiments et les monticules de pierre indiquant l’emplacement des cheminées. Viennent également s’y ajouter des ressources archéologiques telles que des tertres, des dépressions, le cimetière et les sentiers historiques.

Comme il n’est accessible qu’à pied à partir du chemin du Lac-Celestine, le lieu historique accueille peu de visiteurs. Cependant, la plaque installée dans la voie d’arrêt, le sentier d’interprétation et les renseignements publiés en ligne ou communiqués par des partenaires tels que le musée et centre d’archives Jasper-Yellowhead racontent les débuts de l’occupation humaine de la vallée de l’Athabasca, y compris les activités traditionnelles des peuples autochtones, le commerce des fourrures et le poste Jasper House.

Pour obtenir une carte, prière de consulter le site suivant : http://www.pc.gc.ca/fr/lhn-nhs/ab/jasperhouse/visit

Objectifs de gestion

  1. Travailler en collaboration avec les peuples autochtones à la gestion des lieux patrimoniaux, à leur exploitation et à l’élaboration de plans connexes et établir avec les collectivités autochtones des relations mutuellement bénéfiques fondées sur la confiance, le respect et la compréhension. Pour la gestion du lieu historique national Jasper House, travailler de concert avec les collectivités autochtones qui ont des liens avec le parc national Jasper afin d’intégrer les valeurs et les connaissances traditionnelles à la protection, à l’interprétation et à l’expérience du visiteur.
  2. Protéger les ressources culturelles et archéologiques du poste Jasper House pour assurer l’intégrité commémorative du lieu historique national dans le parc national Jasper. En collaboration avec d’autres partenaires, préserver les éléments caractéristiques du lieu historique et les aspects qui confèrent un sens au schéma global du paysage culturel, y compris le cimetière et le milieu naturel environnant.
  3. Collaborer avec des partenaires et des intervenants afin de mieux faire connaître le lieu historique et de gérer l’accès et l’activité humaine dans le respect de son statut de lieu historique national et de zone de préservation spéciale.