The Cave and Basin National Historic Site is a world-class example of how Parks Canada protects and conserves natural resources and cultural history. Awaken your senses to the sulphurous smell of the turquoise thermal water bubbling up in the Cave and Basin pools, see what inspired the creation of Canada’s first national park.

Dates
  • Year round
  • Program lasts 1 hour
  • Group reservations are required
Price
  • Program Fee $73.60/group (28 max), per hour
  • $3.40 /person
Details

Walk through the historic 1914 Bathing Pavilion designed by Walter Painter, architect of the Banff Springs Hotel. Spot the endangered Banff Springs Snail – the only place in the world where you can see them. Look out at the timeless, jaw-dropping views of the Bow Valley that have inspired people to gather at this special place for millennia. After the guided tour, you can enjoy some free time to explore the site, including a large 4 screen HD movie experience, exhibits and endless photo opportunities.

Add a 1-hour ‘Biodiversity Experience’:

Explore the biodiversity of the marsh land and hot springs area surrounding the Cave and Basin- where garter snakes, blue herons, chipmunks, fish, microbial mats and the Banff Springs Snail all share a connection with the sulphur-rich thermal waters. A Parks Canada interpreter will show you why this place has captured the interest of scientists and nature enthusiasts over generations.

Reserve

Special Notes

  • Group reservations are required
  • This experience is outdoors, be prepared, weather can change at any time
  • Site has limited accessibility; please inquire for accessible tour
  • There is a 28 maximum number of people allowed on the experience
Travel trade
  • Suitable for large groups
  • Suitable for small groups
  • Group reservations are required
  • Available in French upon request
  • Motorcoach parking available
  • Washrooms on site
  • Gift shop

Le lieu historique national Cave and Basin est un excellent exemple des mesures prises par Parcs Canada pour protéger et conserver des ressources naturelles et une histoire culturelle. Éveillez vos sens en humant l’odeur sulfureuse des eaux chaudes turquoise qui bouillonnent dans les bassins des sources Cave and Basin et découvrez ce qui a inspiré la création du premier parc national du Canada.

Dates
  • Toute l’année
  • La visite guidée dure une heure
  • Les réservations sont obligatoires pour les groupes
Prix
  • TPS comprise
  • Droits : 73,60 $ l’heure par interprète, par groupe d’au plus 28 personnes 3,40 $ par personne, à compter de janvier 2018
Détails

Arpentez les couloirs du pavillon de bain historique de 1914, conçu par Walter Painter, architecte de l’hôtel Banff Springs. Repérez la physe des fontaines de Banff, une espèce en voie de disparition, dans le seul endroit sur la planète où vous pouvez l’apercevoir. Admirez la spectaculaire vallée de la Bow, qui sert de lieu de rassemblement depuis des temps immémoriaux. Après la visite guidée, profitez de quelques moments libres pour explorer le lieu historique, notamment en visionnant un film HD sur quatre écrans géants, en visitant les expositions et en tirant parti d’innombrables possibilités de photo.

Ajout d’une « Expérience de la biodiversité » (1 heure)

Explorez la biodiversité du marais et des environs des sources thermales, là où thamnophis, hérons, tamias, poissons, tapis microbiens et physes des fontaines entretiennent des liens d’interdépendance avec les eaux chaudes riches en soufre. Un interprète de Parcs Canada vous montrera pourquoi ce secteur suscite l’intérêt des scientifiques et des amants de la nature depuis des générations.

Réservations

Notes

  • Les réservations sont obligatoires pour les groupes.
  • L’activité a lieu en plein air. Il faut bien se préparer; les conditions météorologiques peuvent changer en tout temps.
  • Seules certaines installations du lieu historique sont faciles d’accès. Renseignez-vous sur les visites aux personnes à mobilité réduite.
  • Il ne peut y avoir plus de 28 personnes par guide.
Professionnels de voyage
  • Convient aux grands groupes
  • Convient aux petits groupes
  • Réservations obligatoires pour les groupes 
  • Visite guidée offerte en français sur demande 
  • Places de stationnement pour autocars 
  • Toilettes sur place
  • Boutique de cadeaux dans le bâtiment d’accueil