Phase One, October 2019

1. Context

Established in 1882, the Bar U Ranch National Historic Site (Bar U Ranch) became one of a small group of very large corporate ranches in western Canada. At its height, the Bar U Ranch was nearly seven townships of deeded and leased land, totalling 63,184 hectares (157,960 acres).

Indigenous people have played a significant role in the history of the ranch since the early 1900’s; providing skilled labor to many ranches in the area and enjoying personal relationships with many of the ranch families.

For most of its history, because of its size as well as the knowledge and connection of its owners and managers, the Bar U Ranch was able to establish strategic relationships within the shifting economic market during its lifetime to ensure the success of the ranch. Today, the majority of former Bar U Ranch leases are still in use by neighbouring ranchers.

Bar U Ranch was designated nationally significant in 1989 and purchased by Parks Canada in 1991. Parks Canada worked with Friends of the Bar U Historic Ranch Association (Friends of the Bar U), a volunteer organization, to establish Bar U Ranch as a National Historic Site.

The site was officially opened to the public on July 1, 1995. Bar U Ranch is the only Parks Canada heritage place that commemorates the history of ranching in Canada. The site consists of the original headquarters of the Bar U Ranch, representative fields and outbuildings, and a portion of the Pekisko Creek. Thirty buildings are included in the Classified Federal Heritage Building designation.

Resources of other heritage value include a handful of recognized or unevaluated historic structures and a system of corrals, fences, and gates.

Parks Canada Agency manages Bar U Ranch as part of one of the most extensive networks of protected historic and natural places in the world. An important requirement in the management of this national historic site is the development of a management plan. Management plans are important documents that guide the future of Parks Canada heritage places.

The Bar U Ranch management plan will set out a vision and strategic direction for the site, along with specific objectives over the next 10 years. The plan is intended to reflect the values and views of Canadians and will be developed through engagement with Indigenous peoples, stakeholders, youth and the public.

In June, 2019, Parks Canada invited Canadians to share their views and opinions on the future of Bar U Ranch. Canadians were asked to review a summary of key challenges, opportunities and vision elements to be considered in the development of the draft management plan.

Invitations to discuss Bar U Ranch’s strategic direction were also sent out to a number of Indigenous nations and regional stakeholders. Below is a summary of the comments received during this stage of the management planning process.

2. What We Heard

Hundreds of comments on the proposed challenges, opportunities and vision elements were received from the public during the three-month consultation window.

Comments were received through a number of on-site meetings hosted by the Bar U Ranch, including workshops for youth, staff and the Friends of the Bar U.

Site management discussions with Indigenous groups are preliminary and more discussions will take place over the following year. The site received no comments electronically, though at the workshops, support for the national historic site was high and participants were generally in agreement with the proposed challenges, opportunities and vision elements.

The following key themes emerged through consultation.

On Indigenous involvement

Participants highlighted that the heritage of Indigenous peoples in the region should be better reflected and more visible in both personal and non-personal interpretation, including panels and signs, an interpretive area with hands-on activities, and Indigenous story telling.

We heard that Parks Canada needs to tell a more holistic story of the history of Bar U Ranch and of Indigenous peoples in the area; from before the ranch was founded in 1882, throughout the inception of the ranch, right up to present day. These stories should be told by Indigenous people themselves to ensure partnership, involvement and historical accuracy, and can be shared through Indigenous on-site employment, co-developed interpretive programs and special events or staff interpretive training from members of local First Nations.

It was identified that Parks Canada should continue to seek meaningful partnerships and strengthen relationships with Indigenous peoples and organizations.

On promotion, outreach and partnerships

We heard that respondents would like Bar U Ranch to be a top attraction in Southern Alberta. Participants recommended that Parks Canada improves their advertising and promotional activities, including an added social media presence, more curbside appeal and the creation of a new marketing, promotions and outreach plan. It was recommended that Parks Canada encourages increased visitation while ensuring the sustainability of the sites artifacts, infrastructure and natural landscape.

Parks Canada was advised to grow their on- and off-season outreach programs in local communities, schools and at regional festivals and events. There was a strong desire to pursue new, and strengthen current, partnerships to open new markets, protect cultural and natural resources and improve visitor experiences.

On quality experiences for visitors

The majority of respondents want Bar U Ranch to stay “true to their roots” by maintaining the authentic ranching culture and character of the site. They emphasized that Southern Alberta’s ranching history should be valued and presented. We heard that the site should tell stories of Indigenous peoples, ranching across Canada, environmental stewardship and the ranch’s inspiring pioneers and Percherons.

There was interest in growing and improving interpretive experiences at the Bar U Ranch with a focus on interactive activities and displays. For some, this came in the form of ranching demonstrations and a diverse and dynamic range of special events. For others, this meant simulation technologies, audio tours and hands-on activities such as crafting or cooking workshops.

Some were concerned that visitors are currently unable to fluidly move through the site. They made suggestions to improve trail systems and bridges to allow visitors to move from building to building in an efficient and more accessible manner. Others noted an interest in more hiking trails and campsites for outdoor recreational opportunities.

On artifacts, objects and infrastructure

Participants highlighted the importance of preserving historical and archaeological artifacts and objects. Some suggested improvements to storage, including more storage space, enhanced climate control and ensuring artifacts and objects stay on site. Maintaining an updated inventory system of the artifacts and objects to improve organization and monitoring was also suggested. Others want to see artifacts and objects displayed in exhibits and historical buildings to showcase their importance to ranching and present Bar U Ranch’s story.

Many people commented on the need to maintain and conserve historical buildings while leaving them as spaces that visitors can explore and learn. Some respondents were interested in the reconstruction of buildings such as the Percheron show barn and bunk house, while others were interested in better utilizing existing buildings to enhance story telling and artifact display.

On landscape and the environment

Respondents identified interest in preserving Bar U Ranch’s landscape and environment. Some were concerned with the risk of more frequent and severe flooding and the impacts on the natural landscape. We heard that there is a need to mitigate the risks of extreme natural events and adapt to changing patterns of weather.

Understanding the ecological value and environmental history of the site was also noted as an opportunity to learn, share and improve the ranch’s ongoing relationship with the environment. Parks Canada should foster an ethos of stewardship and a commitment to conservation.

3. Moving forward

This information, along with the State of the Site Assessment, Parks Canada mandate and vision, Government of Canada priorities, regulatory and policy obligations, the 2005 Bar U Ranch management plan, site management research and trends, are all carefully considered and will inform the development of Bar U Ranch’s management plan.

The next phase of engagement and consultations will occur in winter 2020. At that time, there will be an opportunity to review and comment on the draft management plan.


For more information on the Bar U Ranch National Historic Site, contact:

Dylan Spencer, National Historic Site Manager
Phone: 403-395-3044
Email: pc.infolhnbaru-barunhsinfo.pc@canada.ca

Phase un, Octobre 2019

1. Contexte

Établi en 1882, le lieu historique national du Ranch-Bar U (ranch Bar U) est devenu l’un d’un petit groupe de grands ranchs commerciaux exploités dans l’Ouest canadien. À son apogée, le ranch Bar U s’étendait sur presque sept cantons de terres louées ou lui appartenant en propre, totalisant 63 184 hectares (157 960 acres).

Les Autochtones ont joué un rôle important dans l’histoire du ranch, formant une main d’œuvre qualifiée pour de nombreux ranchs et entretenant des relations étroites avec les familles des éleveurs.

Pendant presque toute son histoire, grâce à sa taille ainsi qu’aux connaissances et aux relations de ses propriétaires et gestionnaires, le ranch Bar U a réussi à établir des liens stratégiques dans un marché économique en évolution pour assurer son succès. Aujourd’hui, la majorité des anciens baux du ranch Bar U sont toujours détenus par les éleveurs avoisinants.

Le ranch Bar U a été reconnu d’importance nationale en 1989, et Parcs Canada en a fait l’acquisition en 1991. Parcs Canada, de concert avec les Amis de l’association du ranch historique Bar U (Amis du Bar U), a travaillé à l’établissement du ranch Bar U en tant que lieu historique national.

Le lieu a officiellement ouvert ses portes au public le 1er juillet 1995. Le ranch Bar U est le seul lieu patrimonial de Parcs Canada qui commémore l’histoire de l’élevage au Canada.

Il est constitué de l’emplacement original du ranch Bar U, de dépendances et de champs représentatifs, ainsi que d’une partie du ruisseau Pekisko. Trente bâtiments ont le statut d’édifice fédéral du patrimoine classé. Les ressources d’une autre valeur patrimoniale comprennent un petit nombre de structures historiques reconnues ou non évaluées et un réseau de corrals, de clôtures et de barrières.

L’Agence Parcs Canada gère le ranch Bar U en tant que composante d’un des plus grands réseaux de lieux historiques et naturels protégés dans le monde.

Une exigence importante de la gestion de ce lieu historique national est la rédaction d’un plan directeur. Les plans directeurs sont des documents importants qui orientent l’avenir des lieux patrimoniaux de Parcs Canada.

Le plan directeur du ranch Bar U exposera la vision et l’orientation stratégique du lieu, accompagnées d’objectifs précis pour les dix prochaines années. Il reflètera les valeurs et les points de vue des Canadiens et sera élaboré avec la participation des Autochtones, des parties prenantes, des jeunes et du public.

En juin 2019, Parcs Canada a invité les Canadiens à formuler leur opinion à propos de l’avenir du ranch Bar U. On leur a demandé de passer en revue un sommaire des principaux enjeux, occasions et éléments de vision dont il faudra tenir compte dans la rédaction de l’ébauche du plan directeur.

Des invitations à examiner l’orientation stratégique du ranch Bar U ont également été lancées à un certain nombre de groupes autochtones et parties prenantes régionales. On trouvera ci-dessous un résumé des commentaires formulés lors de cette phase du processus de planification de gestion.

2. Ce qu'on nous a dit

Parcs Canada a obtenu des centaines de commentaires du public au sujet des enjeux, occasions et éléments de vision proposés pendant la période de consultation de trois mois. Ces commentaires ont été formulés dans le cadre de réunions tenues au ranch Bar U, y compris d’ateliers pour les jeunes, le personnel et les Amis du Bar U.

Les discussions avec les groupes autochtones au sujet de la gestion du lieu historique en sont au stade préliminaire et se poursuivront au cours de l’année à venir. Le lieu historique national n’a obtenu aucun commentaire par voie électronique, mais il a reçu un appui solide lors des ateliers, les participants étant généralement d’accord avec les enjeux, occasions et éléments de vision proposés.

Les thèmes ci-dessous sont ressortis des consultations.

À propos de la participation des autochtones

Les participants ont souligné que le patrimoine des peuples autochtones de la région doit être davantage mis en évidence dans les méthodes d’interprétation avec et sans personnel, y compris les panneaux, une section d’interprétation offrant des activités pratiques, et des récits autochtones.

On nous a dit que Parcs Canada doit présenter des récits plus holistiques de l’histoire du ranch Bar U et des peuples autochtones de la région; récits qui devraient porter sur la période d’avant la fondation du ranch en 1882 jusqu’à ce jour. Ils devraient également être racontés par les peuples autochtones, de manière à favoriser les partenariats et la vérité historique. Pour ce faire, on pourrait préconiser l’emploi d’Autochtones, l’élaboration conjointe de programmes d’interprétation, ainsi que des activités spéciales et la formation du personnel d’interprétation par des membres des Premières Nations locales.

Il a été fait mention que Parcs Canada doit continuer d’établir des partenariats significatifs et de renforcer ses relations avec les peuples et les organisations autochtones.

À propos de la promotion, de la diffusion externe et des partenariats

Les répondants disent souhaiter que le ranch Bar U se hisse au rang des meilleures attractions dans le sud de l’Alberta. Ils recommandent que Parcs Canada rehausse ses activités de publicité et de promotion, notamment en accroissant sa présence dans les médias sociaux, en renforçant l’attrait du site et en concevant un plan de marketing, de promotion et de diffusion externe. Il est aussi recommandé que Parcs Canada encourage l’augmentation du nombre de visiteurs tout en veillant à la durabilité des artefacts, de l’infrastructure et du paysage naturel du lieu historique.

On conseille à Parcs Canada d’accroître ses programmes de diffusion externe en haute et hors saison dans les collectivités locales, les écoles, les festivals et les événements régionaux. On désire fortement que soit établi de nouveaux partenariats ou renforcé les partenariats actuels afin d’ouvrir de nouveaux marchés, de protéger les ressources culturelles et naturelles et d’améliorer l’expérience des visiteurs.

Certains se sont dits préoccupés par le fait que les visiteurs ne peuvent pas se déplacer facilement à l’intérieur du site. Ils suggèrent d’améliorer le réseau de sentiers et les passerelles pour que les visiteurs puissent se déplacer plus facilement, et d’une manière plus accessible, d’un bâtiment à l’autre. D’autres ont manifesté leur intérêt dans l’aménagement d’un plus grand nombre de sentiers de randonnée et d’emplacements de camping en vue d’offrir des occasions de loisirs de plein air.

À propos d'une expérience de qualité pour le visiteur

La plupart des répondants souhaitent que le ranch Bar U reste « fidèle à ses origines » en conservant le caractère et la culture de ranch authentiques du lieu historique. Ils estiment que l’histoire de l’élevage dans le sud de l’Alberta doit être valorisée et mise en valeur. On nous a dit que le lieu doit présenter des récits sur les peuples autochtones, l’élevage au Canada, l’intendance environnementale, les pionniers du ranch et ses percherons.

On s’est dit intéressé à accroître et à améliorer l’expérience d’interprétation au ranch Bar U en mettant l’accent sur des activités et des présentations interactives. Pour certains, il y aurait lieu d’organiser des démonstrations d’élevage et d’offrir une gamme diversifiée et dynamique d’activités spéciales. Pour d’autres, cela signifie avoir recours à des techniques de simulation, à des visites audioguidées et à des activités pratiques comme l’artisanat ou des ateliers de cuisine.

Certains se sont dits préoccupés par le fait que les visiteurs ne peuvent pas se déplacer facilement à l’intérieur du site. Ils suggèrent d’améliorer le réseau de sentiers et les passerelles pour que les visiteurs puissent se déplacer plus facilement, et d’une manière plus accessible, d’un bâtiment à l’autre. D’autres ont manifesté leur intérêt dans l’aménagement d’un plus grand nombre de sentiers de randonnée et d’emplacements de camping en vue d’offrir des occasions de loisirs de plein air.

À propos des artefacts, objets et infrastructure

Les participants ont souligné l’importance de préserver les artefacts et objets historiques et archéologiques. Certains suggèrent d’améliorer l’entreposage, soit d’accroître les lieux d’entreposage, d’améliorer le contrôle de la température et de faire en sorte que les artefacts et objets demeurent sur le site. On a également suggéré de maintenir un système d’inventaire des artefacts et objets afin d’améliorer l’organisation et la surveillance. D’autres souhaitent que les artefacts et objets soient exposés et que les bâtiments historiques témoignent de leur importance pour l’industrie de l’élevage et mettent en valeur l’histoire du ranch Bar U.

De nombreuses personnes ont mentionné qu’il fallait entretenir et conserver les bâtiments historiques tout en permettant aux visiteurs de les explorer et de parfaire leurs connaissances. Certains répondants ont manifesté de l’intérêt pour la reconstruction de bâtiments tels qu’une écurie de démonstration pour les percherons et un pavillon-dortoir. D’autres souhaitent qu’on utilise mieux les bâtiments actuels afin de rehausser la mise en valeur des artefacts et la façon dont on raconte l’histoire du ranch.

À propos du paysage et de l'environnement

Les répondants ont dit vouloir préserver le paysage et l’environnement du ranch Bar U. Certains sont préoccupés par le risque d’inondations plus fréquentes et plus graves et de leur incidence sur le paysage naturel. On nous a dit qu’il y avait lieu d’atténuer les risques de phénomènes naturels extrêmes et de s’adapter aux changements climatiques.

Comprendre la valeur écologique et l’histoire environnementale du site est également vu comme une occasion d’acquérir des connaissances, de partager et d’améliorer les liens qui unissent le ranch à l’environnement. Parcs Canada doit favoriser une culture d’intendance et un engagement à l’égard de la conservation.

3. À venir

La présente, ainsi que l’évaluation de l’état du lieu historique, le mandat et la vision de Parcs Canada, les priorités du gouvernement du Canada, les obligations imposées par les règlements et les politiques, le plan directeur du ranch Bar U 2005, la recherche et les tendances au sujet de la gestion du lieu, seront examinés soigneusement et contribueront à la rédaction du plan directeur du ranch Bar U.

La prochaine étape de mobilisation et de consultation débutera à l’hiver 2020. Les gens auront alors l’occasion d’examiner et de commenter l’ébauche du plan directeur.


Pour de plus amples renseignements au sujet du lieu historique national du Ranch-Bar U, veuillez communiquer avec :

Dylan Spencer, Directeur du lieu historique national
Téléphone : 403-395-3044
Courriel : pc.infolhnbaru-barunhsinfo.pc@canada.ca