Operating dates for 2019: May 13 to September 30.

Opening Day

Monday, May 13, 2019

The Bar U Ranch National Historic Site gates swing open at 10 am. Take a walk through ranching history, ride a horse-drawn wagon and come meet our genuine cowboy staff!

Canada Day

Monday, July 1, 2019

Free admission! Come celebrate Canada’s birthday with cake, flag raising and family fun. Step back in time for an old-fashioned country celebration including live entertainment.

Historic Places Day

Saturday, July 6, 2019

Free admission! Stop in and celebrate Canada’s cultural treasures within Parks Canada. Experience horse-drawn haying. There is always something old, new and fun to discover at the ranch!

Trail Ride

Saturday, August 3, 2019

Friends of the Bar U Historic Ranch Association host their annual day ride across original Bar U lands. Ride your own horse or step up on a horse-drawn wagon. Everyone’s welcome. Reservations are required. Call 403-395-3330 for information.

Old Time Ranch Rodeo

Sunday, August 18, 2019

Time-honoured and traditional skills of ranching comes to the rodeo arena. Cheer on your favourite ranch as teams of working cowboys compete for silver Bar U buckles and bragging rights! You’ll be entertained with events such as broke horse racing, wild cow milking, team sorting as well as branding and doctoring.

A Royal Harvest and Heavy Horse Weekend

September 14 and 15

The horse-powered harvest commences in the Bar U field. On Sunday, watch today’s teamsters guide their heavy horse teams around a course of skill-testing manoeuvres. See how skills of days gone by are demonstrated by drivers from 18 to 80 years of age! Keeping horsepower history alive for all to enjoy and be inspired by.

Special commemoration event: The 100th anniversary of Edward, Prince of Wales visiting the Bar U Ranch and its then owner George Lane. Shortly after visiting the area in 1919, the Prince purchased a neighbouring ranch, now known as the EP (Edward, Prince) Ranch. The prince's visit and purchase brought international attention to the area and made lasting changes to the community. The EP Ranch is situated adjacent to Pekisko Creek, 4 km from the current Bar U Ranch site.

On Sunday, September 15 visitors will have a unique opportunity to visit the EP Ranch. A tractor hayride will take Bar U Ranch visitors to the EP Ranch for a special tour of the ranch house and some of the surrounding buildings.

  • The tour will take approximately 2.5 hours (ride time from Bar U Ranch to EP Ranch is 30 minutes; EP Ranch tour 90 minutes; return ride from EP Ranch to Bar U Ranch is 30 minutes).
  • The special EP tours leave the Bar U Ranch at 11 am and 2 pm and are included in the regular National Historic Site admission price.
  • Space is limited to 30 guests per tour on a first come, first served basis.
  • Register in person on the day at the Bar U Ranch.

Rhythm of the Land

Experience the pulse of the Bar U Ranch, from spring’s rebirth to the gathering of the harvest.

  • Victoria Day Weekend (May): Seeding
  • July 6: Haying
  • September 14: Binding and Stooking
  • To be announced: Threshing

Dates d'ouverture en 2019 : 13 mai au 30 septembre.

Jour d’ouverture

Lundi 13 mai 2019

Nous ouvrons les portes à 10 h! Découvrez l’histoire de l’élevage, faites une promenade en chariot tiré par des chevaux et rencontrez nos employés, de vrais cow-boys!

Fête du Canada

Lundi 1er juillet 2019

Entrée gratuite pour tous! Venez célébrer l’anniversaire du Canada en dégustant du gâteau, en assistant au lever du drapeau et en vous amusant en famille pendant toute la journée. Remontez dans le temps et célébrez à l’ancienne avec des spectacles.

Journée des lieux historiques

Samedi 6 juillet 2019

Entrée gratuite! Arrêtez-vous et venez célébrer les trésors culturels du pays avec Parcs Canada. Faites l’expérience de la récolte du foin avec des chevaux. Il y a toujours quelque chose d’ancien, de nouveau et d’amusant à découvrir au ranch!

Promenade des amis du ranch Bar U

Samedi 3 août 2019

L’Association des amis du ranch historique Bar U organise sa journée annuelle de promenades sur les terres d’origine du Bar U. Montez votre propre cheval ou montez dans un chariot tiré par des chevaux. Tout le monde est bienvenu. Vous devez faire une réservation. Téléphonez au 403-395-3330 pour plus d’information.

Rodéo d’antan

Dimanche 18 août 2019

Les méthodes d’élevage d’antan sont mises à l’honneur au manège du rodéo! Venez encourager votre ranch préféré pendant que les équipes de cow-boys se mesurent les unes aux autres pour remporter des boucles de ceinture en argent du Bar U et le droit de se vanter! Vous assisterez à toutes sortes d’épreuves comme les courses à cheval, la traite de vaches sauvages, les tris d’équipes, le marquage au fer et l’apport de soins.

Fin de semaine des récoltes et des chevaux lourds

14 et 15 septembre

La moisson à l’aide de chevaux débute dans le champ du Bar U. Dimanche, venez voir les équipes d’aujourd’hui guider leurs chevaux lourds dans un parcours les mettant à l’épreuve. Des conducteurs âgés de 18 à 80 ans feront la démonstration de leur savoir-faire d’antan. Une vraie source d’inspiration et de divertissement pour tous.

Activité de commémoration spéciale : Centième anniversaire de la visite d’Edward, prince de Galles, au ranch Bar U et de sa rencontre avec le propriétaire d’alors, George Lane. Peu après avoir visité la région en 1919, le prince acheta un ranch voisin, maintenant connu sous le nom de ranch EP (Edward, prince). La visite et l’achat du prince a conféré une notoriété internationale à la région, apportant des changements durables dans la collectivité. Le ranch EP, qui longe le ruisseau Pekisko, est situé à 4 km du ranch Bar U actuel.

Le dimanche 15 septembre, les visiteurs auront l’occasion unique de se rendre au ranch EP. Un chariot tiré par un tracteur les emmènera faire une visite spéciale de la maison du ranch et de certains bâtiments avoisinants.

  • La visite durera environ 2,5 heures (30 minutes entre le ranch Bar U et le ranch EP, 90 minutes sur les lieux et 30 minutes entre le ranch EP et le ranch Bar U).
  • Le départ se fera du ranch Bar U à 11 h et à 14 h et la visite est incluse dans les droits d’entrée du lieu historique national.
  • L’espace est limité à 30 personnes; premier arrivé, premier servi.
  • Inscrivez-vous en personne le jour même au ranch Bar U.

Rythme de la terre

Vivez les changements saisonniers au ranch Bar U, de la renaissance au printemps à la récolte à l’automne.

  • Fête de la Reine (mai) : Plantation
  • 6 juillet : Récolte de foin
  • 14 septembre : Liage des meulons
  • À annoncer : Battage