Some Parks Canada places have begun a safe, gradual reopening of some outdoor areas and services, including camping. Visitors are encouraged to plan ahead and be well-prepared for their visit. Details here.


Get face-to-face with Rocky Mountain wildlife, from vintage stuffed bears and bighorn sheep to birds and bees, inside western Canada’s oldest natural history museum. Located on Banff Avenue in the heart of the town of Banff, the Banff Park Museum – a.k.a. the “University of the Hills” – houses more than 5,000 historic botanical and zoological specimens. Explore the Victorian-era collection, while admiring the stately 1903 museum, a log masterpiece and the oldest surviving federal building in any Canadian national park.

Hours of operation

Closed.

Fees

Free admission for youth. Other fees still apply.

Detailed fees list

Contact us

pc.caveandbasin.pc@canada.ca

Explore the collection

The historic Banff Park Museum houses more than 5,000 vintage specimens – from stuffed bears to minerals – collected mainly during the early 1900s from around Banff National Park.

Planning to visit during COVID-19?

Click here for details.

Sites nearby

  • Rocky Mountain House National Historic Site

    Two centuries ago trappers, traders and the First Nation Peoples shared the rugged western frontier of Canada. At Rocky Mountain House National Historic Site - be a part of the story. Explore, hike, camp and discover their challenges and triumphs.

  • Cave and Basin National Historic Site

    Visit the Cave and Basin National Historic Site to experience the birthplace of Canada’s national parks and learn about the natural and cultural history of the mountains.

Parcs Canada a commencé une ouverture progressive et sécuritaire de certains emplacements extérieurs et services, incluant le camping. Les visiteurs sont encouragés à planifier à l'avance et à être bien préparés pour leur visite. Détails ici.


Voyez des animaux empaillés représentant la faune des montagnes Rocheuses. Qu’il s’agisse d’ours ou de mouflons d’Amérique, d’oiseaux ou d’abeilles, contemplez les spécimens d’époque du plus vieux musée d’histoire naturelle de l’Ouest canadien. Au cœur de la ville de Banff, le musée du parc Banff, aussi appelé « l’université des collines », abrite plus de 5000 spécimens botaniques et zoologiques. Explorez une collection de l’ère victorienne tout en admirant le majestueux musée de 1903, une œuvre en bois rond qui se révèle le plus vieux bâtiment fédéral des parcs nationaux du Canada.

Heures d’ouverture

Date: Fermée

Tarifs

Entrée gratuite pour les jeunes. Les autres droits sont exigibles.

Tarification complète

Nous joindre

caveandbasin.pc@canada.ca

Explorez la collection

Le lieu historique national du Musée-du-Parc-Banff renferme plus de 5000 spécimens d’époque – depuis des ours empaillés jusqu’à des minéraux – prélevés principalement au début du XXe siècle dans le parc national Banff.

Vous planifiez une visite durant la COVID-19?

Cliquez ici pour plus de détails.

Sites de Parcs Canada à proximité

  • Lieu historique national Rocky Mountain House

    Il y a deux siècles, les coureurs des bois, les marchands et les Amérindiens se partageaient l’Ouest canadien, encore à l’état sauvage. En visitant le lieu historique national Rocky Mountain House, vous ferez partie de cette histoire. Explorez, marchez, campez et découvrez les exploits que ces gens ont accomplis.

  • Lieu historique national Cave and Basin

    Visitez le lieu historique national Cave and Basin pour découvrir le berceau des parcs nationaux du Canada et vous renseigner sur l’histoire naturelle et culturelle des montagnes.