5. Presentation

5.4 Use Areas


Darvard Island and the west bank of the Richelieu should remain natural zones reserved for “free” or “informal” activities— that is, recreational and non-organized activities that do not require any sport -or competition- related framework or any major infrastructure. Recreational activities on the island should not interfere with the preservation of the red pine stand or with interpretation activities.

Recreational activities will be concentrated near the existing lock (walking, relaxing, boat watching, etc.) or around the island (picnics, hiking along the existing network of paths, etc.). Open areas on the west bank will also be used for picnicking.

The riverbanks could be made accessible to sports fishing at selected periods compatible with species preservation. However, for reasons of safety and incompatibility, fishing will be banned near the lock, dam and fish ladder.

The dam will serve as a link between the west bank of the Richelieu and Darvard Island. Parks Canada’s decision to limit usage to pedestrians and maintenance vehicles is motivated by the need to preserve the character of the island and to maintain an area of free activity on the island and the west bank.23 Considering the crowding that occurs on the east and west banks and on Darvard Island, we have been prompted to forbid cycling on the Saint-Ours Canal property; cyclists will now have to walk in these areas. Bike racks will be available on both banks and on Darvard Island.

Finally, the need for maintenance vehicles on the island will be reduced by using the eastern tip of the dam as a workshop and storage area. Moving the existing workshop and rehabilitating the adjacent parking lot will also facilitate presentation of the remains of the old canal operations buildings.


23 In winter, the dam could be used by snowmobiles, subject to an environmental impact assessment and an agreement with the principal stakeholders.




< Previous Page  | Table of Contents  | Next Page  >

5. La mise en valeur

5.4 Les aires d'utilisation


L’île Darvard et la rive ouest du Richelieu demeureront des zones d’ambiance naturelle dédiées à des activités « libres », c’est-à-dire des activités récréatives non organisées, ne nécessitant aucun encadrement de type sportif ou compétitif ni d’installations ou d’équipements d’envergure. Sur l’île, les activités de nature récréative ne devront pas nuire à la préservation des peuplements de pins rouges ni aux activités d’interprétation.

Les activités récréatives se concentreront aux abords de l’écluse actuelle (promenade, détente, observation des bateaux...) ou se répartiront sur l’île (pique-nique, randonnée pédestre à travers le réseau de sentiers existants). Les espaces dégagés de la rive ouest seront également utilisés pour le pique-nique.

Les abords de la rivière pourront être accessibles à la pêche sportive, selon des périodes compatibles avec la protection des espèces. Cependant, pour des raisons de sécurité et d’incompatibilité, la pêche sera interdite à proximité de l’écluse, du barrage et de la passe à poissons.

Le barrage servira de lien entre la rive ouest du Richelieu et l’île Darvard. La préservation du caractère de l’île et le maintien d’une zone d’activités libres sur l’île et sur la rive ouest motivent la décision de Parcs Canada de restreindre l’utilisation du barrage aux piétons et aux véhicules d’entretien23. L’exiguïté des es-paces sur les rives est et ouest et sur l’île Darvard nous incite à interdire l’usage des bicyclettes sur la propriété du canal de Saint-Ours. Les cyclistes devront donc circuler à pied; des supports à bicyclette seront disponibles à la fois sur la rive ouest, sur la rive est et sur l’île Darvard.

Enfin, les abords de l’extrémité est du barrage serviront d’aire d’atelier et d’entreposage afin de restreindre le mouvement des véhicules de service sur l’île. La relocalisation de l’atelier actuel et la réhabilitation du stationnement attenant faciliteront également la mise en valeur des vestiges des anciens bâtiments reliés à l’opération du canal.


23 En période hivernale, l’utilisation du barrage pour le passage des motoneiges pourrait être envisagée suite à une évaluation d’impacts et sous réserve d’une entente avec les principaux intervenants.




< Page précédente  | Table des matières  | Page suivante  >