5. Presentation

5.3 Navigable Way


The canal will continue to be used as it is at this time, for pleasure boating, cruises, or excursions, as well as additional activities that comply with Parks Canada objectives and the historic character of the site.

As part of efforts dedicated to presenting the Saint-Ours Canal, pleasure boating and other aquatic activities must be reconciled with the principles of cultural resource management. Use of the canal must respect the historic integrity of the existing facilities and remain compatible with presentation of the same; they must also comply with safety and efficiency requirements.

At some point, private sector partners offering theme cruises that highlight the history of the canal and the region will greatly add to the drawing power of the canal.

The rental of certain kinds of recreational boats, a service provided by third parties, could be considered. However, the kind of boat available for rent should not become a source of problems for, or conflicts with, canal users. The use of recreational rental boats must be controlled and will be forbidden at lockside. The rental of personal watercraft (PWC, or “jet skis”) will not be permitted; likewise, water-skiing or swimming will continue to be forbidden within canal limits.




< Previous Page  | Table of Contents  | Next Page  >

5. La mise en valeur

5.3 L'axe nautique


Conformément à son utilisation actuelle, la voie canalisée sera affectée à la navigation de plaisance, à des circuits de croisières ou d’excursions sur l’eau ainsi qu’à des usages complémentaires compatibles avec les objectifs de Parcs Canada et le caractère historique du lieu.

Dans le cadre de la mise en valeur du LHNC du Canal-de-Saint-Ours, la navigation de plaisance et les autres activités en milieu aquatique devront être conciliables avec les principes de la gestion des ressources culturelles. L’utilisation de la voie canalisée devra respecter l’intégrité historique des structures existantes et demeurer compatible avec leur mise en valeur, tout en répondant aux exigences contemporaines de sécurité et d’efficacité.

L’offre éventuelle, par des partenaires privés, de croisières et d’excursions thématiques reliées à l’histoire du canal et à l’histoire régionale devrait constituer, par ailleurs, un complément d’intérêt.

La location de certains types d’embarcations récréatives, offerte par des tiers, pourrait être envisagée. Toutefois, le type d’embarcation récréative en location ne devra pas provoquer de nuisance ou de conflits avec les usagers du canal. Leur usage devra être contrôlé et ne sera pas autorisé aux abords de l’écluse. La location de motomarines ne sera pas per-mise; de même, la pratique du ski nautique et la baignade demeureront interdites dans les limites du canal.




< Page précédente  | Table des matières  | Page suivante  >