4. Issues and Strategic Directions

4.2 Strategic Directions



LOOKING TOWARDS THE FUTURE
The Saint-Ours Canal National Historic Site of Canada at the Dawn of the 21st Century

In the year 2020, the Saint-Ours Canal will be a national historic site that is recognized and much frequented because of its heritage value and varied cultural, recreational and nautical functions.

The preservation and presentation of the resources and remains related to the two periods of canalbuilding and canal operations provide visitors with an opportunity to discover, appreciate and learn more about the role played by this lock in the Richelieu River waterway and, at the same time, to grasp the canal's national historic significance.

The Saint-Ours Canal represents a major heritage attraction in the region. The uniqueness of its varied functions and the high quality of its facilities and programs make it a remarkable cultural site that considerably enhances the regional concept of "Heritage River". The site is of great interest to the local and regional population, as well as to tourists. The pleasure craft that dock or travel through the lock hail from every region of Quebec and from many places outside the province thanks to the site's growing reputation as destination.

The site has become a genuine museum, recalling various functions fallen in disuse, presenting artifacts from different periods of development, and featuring an exhibition in the superintendent's house. The layout and facilities of the visitor reception services give the site an historic atmosphere that is recognized and shared by walkers, picnickers and pleasure boaters keen to enjoy a pleasurable outing.

Visitors take great interest in observing the various fish species thanks to the presentation of the fish ladder, which thus encourages further discovery of the riches of the Richelieu River. The fish ladder has had a beneficial effect on the fish populations above the dam. The forest on the island is also in better health and is showing promising signs of regeneration.

The various levels of federal and provincial government, municipalities, private companies, local organizations and community groups have formed a close network of partnerships focused on attaining common goals. By working together and sharing various responsibilities, they reinforce the Saint-Ours Canal's ties with its community and enhance its attraction for the local and regional population, as well as for tourists. These partners contribute to the harmonious management of the site, making it a place where culture, nature and recreation can be experienced and enjoyed in equal measure.




< Previous Page  | Table of Contents  | Next Page  >

4. Problématique et orientations

4.2 Les orientations



UN REGARD SUR L'AVENIR :
Le lieu historique national du Canada du Canal-de-Saint-Ours au tournant du XXIe siècle

Vers l’an 2020, le canal de Saint-Ours est un lieu historique national reconnu et recherché pour sa valeur patrimoniale ainsi que pour la polyvalence de ses vocations culturelle, récréative et nautique.

La préservation et la mise en valeur des ressources et des vestiges associés aux deux périodes de canalisation et à l’opération du canal permettent à tous les visiteurs de découvrir, d’apprécier et de comprendre le rôle joué par cette écluse à l’intérieur de la voie navigable du Richelieu et de saisir son importance historique nationale.

Le LHNC du Canal-de-Saint-Ours constitue un attrait remarquable dans l’ensemble du patrimoine régional. L’originalité de sa vocation polyvalente ainsi que la qualité de ses aménagements et de sa programmation en font un lieu culturel remarquable qui enrichit le concept régional de « rivière patrimoniale ». Il suscite l’attrait et l’intérêt des clientèles locale, régionale et touristique. Les plaisanciers qui y accostent ou y transitent proviennent de toutes les régions du Québec et de l’extérieur du Québec, en réponse à la notoriété grandissante du lieu.

L’évocation in situ des ouvrages disparus et la présentation d’artefacts témoins des différentes périodes d’évolution du site, en complément à l’exposition présentée dans l’ancienne maison du surintendant, contribuent à former un véritable musée de site. Le caractère des aménagements et des installations destinés à l’accueil des visiteurs confère au lieu une ambiance historique que randonneurs, pique-niqueurs et plaisanciers reconnaissent et partagent tout en s’y récréant.

Les visiteurs profitent avec intérêt de l’observation de différentes espèces de poissons, grâce à la mise en valeur de la passe migratoire et peuvent ainsi découvrir la grande richesse de la rivière Richelieu. La passe migratoire suscite un impact positif sur l’équilibre des populations de poissons en amont du barrage. De même, la santé des peuplements forestiers de l’île Darvard s’améliore et ceux-ci présentent une régénération prometteuse.

Les différents paliers des gouvernements fédéral et provincial, les municipalités, les entreprises privées, les organismes locaux et les groupes communautaires forment un maillage et créent un partenariat axé sur l’atteinte d’objectifs communs. Leur concertation et leur partage de diverses responsabilités renforcent l’appartenance du LHNC du Canal-de-Saint-Ours à son milieu et augmentent son pouvoir d’attraction auprès de la population locale, régionale et touristique. Les intervenants harmonisent leurs efforts en vue d’offrir un lieu où s’équilibrent les dimensions de culture, de nature et de récréation.




< Page précédente  | Table des matières  | Page suivante  >