4. Issues and Strategic Directions

4.2 Strategic Directions



4.2.1 Conserving and presenting a significant landscape

Key Considerations

The national historic significance of the Saint-Ours Canal is symbolized by both the landscape surrounding the site and the ca-nal’s continued importance as a navigation corridor. The landscape reveals an ingenious system of canal-building, an intelligent choice of locality, and judicious use of its natural strengths.

The Saint-Ours Canal is an integral element of a fertile agricultural plain shaped by the Richelieu River. It meshes with a dispersed, rural residential environment on the outskirts of the village of Saint-Ours, whose character and scale is in harmony with the canal. The canal is made up of three sectors, each with its own particular characteristics: the east bank, the island with the dam, and the west bank.

Although the canal and the lock have continued to be operated down to the present time, little about the site suggests how old it actually is. It has no “historic appeal” or personality and its main functions appear to be operational and recreational.

Directions

  • Recognize the landscape as epitomizing the site’s heritage value and convey its historic significance, while respecting its spatial structure and considering its cultural and natural components as well as component interrelationships.

  • Maintain visual relationships between, on the one hand, the main spaces, traffic and activity areas, and buildings, and, on the other, the canal, the lock, the dam and the Richelieu River.

  • Ensure that future developments respect the historic layout of the site and its heritage value.

  • Foster awareness among neighbouring municipalities of the importance of preserving the scale and character of the built environment surrounding this national historic site.




< Previous Page  | Table of Contents  | Next Page  >

4. Problématique et orientations

4.2 Les orientations



4.2.1 La conservation et la mise en valeur du paysage significatif

Les facteurs d'influence

Le paysage qui environne le LHNC du Canal-de-Saint-Ours tout comme la persistance de ses fonctions de lieu de navigation sont les révélateurs de l’importance historique nationale du lieu. Ce paysage révèle l’ingéniosité du système de canalisation mis en place en relation avec le choix judicieux de localisation et d’utilisation des forces du milieu.

Le LHNC du Canal-de-Saint-Ours s’intègre à un paysage de plaine agricole fertile structurée par la rivière Richelieu. Il se greffe à un habitat rural résidentiel dispersé, à l’entrée du village de Saint-Ours, dont le caractère et l’échelle s’harmonisent avec le canal. Le canal se compose de trois secteurs qui possèdent chacun ses caractéristiques propres : la rive est, l’île avec le barrage et la rive ouest.

Malgré que l’état fonctionnel du canal et de l’écluse se soit perpétué jusqu’à nos jours, le lieu reste aujourd’hui peu évocateur de l’ancienneté de ses fonctions. Le site n’a pas à proprement parler de « cachet historique » et les aspects opérationnels et récréatifs apparaissent nettement prédominants.

Les orientations

  • Reconnaître le paysage comme l’élément révélateur du caractère patrimonial du lieu, de manière à traduire sa signification historique tout en respectant la structure spatiale, l’agencement des composantes culturelles et naturelles et leurs interrelations.

  • Maintenir les relations visuelles des principaux espaces, aires de circulation et d’activités, bâtiments... avec le canal, l’écluse, le barrage et la rivière Richelieu.

  • S’assurer que les aménagements à venir tiennent compte de l’organisation spatiale historique du lieu et respectent son caractère patrimonial.

  • Sensibiliser les municipalités limitrophes à l’importance de préserver l’échelle et le caractère du milieu bâti qui environne le lieu historique national.




< Page précédente  | Table des matières  | Page suivante  >