Introduction

The Sainte-Anne-de-Bellevue Canal

A National Historic Site

In 1925, the Historic Monuments and Sites Board of Canada (HMSBC) recommended that the development of a national network of Canadian canals should be considered as a theme of national historic significance, and it undertook a study of various Canadian canals with a view to establishing a commemoration project. Four years later, the Board recommended that 14 canals be recognized as sites of national historic significance, but the Sainte-Anne-de-Bellevue Canal was omitted from the list.

In 1972, under the Recreation and Conservation Agreement (RCA) Program, the management of certain canals that had come to be used mainly for pleasure boating was entrusted to Parks Canada. Eight historic canals, including the Sainte-Anne-de- Bellevue Canal were thus transferred, on the condition that they should be managed in a manner that took into consideration not only their former role as transportation corridors but that also promoted the protection, enjoyment and interpretation of their heritage values.1

In 1987, the Board recommended that, "the Sainte-Anne-de-Bellevue Canal was of national significance as a waterway belonging to the national network of canals in Canada and should be commemorated with a plaque." Furthermore, the Board recommended that a study should be conducted to identify structures or components of the Sainte-Annede- Bellevue Canal that might have taken on national historic significance or deserve to be preserved.2 In 1990, the Board reiterated the recommendations it had made in 1987.

In 1994, Parks Canada established its Guiding Principles and Operational Policies, which represents a comprehensive statement providing a framework for the definition of the general principles intended to guide national programs for the protection and presentation of natural and cultural heritage. The HSMBC's 1987 opinion concerning the Sainte-Anne-de-Bellevue Canal could thus be acted upon on the basis of the more detailed directives expressed in the Historic Canals Policy, the National Historic Sites Policy and the Cultural Resource Management Policy.

1Considering the two roles played by historic canals, these sites are managed in accordance with the Department of Transport Act and the regulations concerning historic canals under this act, as well as with the Historic Sites and Monuments Act, which governs the administration, protection and maintenance of national historic sites.

2 Deliberations and recommendations of the HSMBC, November 1987.


< Previous Page  | Table of Contents  | Next Page  >

Introduction

Le canal de Sainte-Anne-de-Bellevue

Un lieu historique national

En 1925, la Commission des lieux et monuments historiques du Canada (CLMHC) recommande que le développement d’un réseau de canaux au Canada soit considéré comme thème d’histoire d’importance nationale et elle entreprend une étude sur les divers canaux canadiens aux fins d’élaborer un projet de commémoration. Quatre ans plus tard, la Commission recommande que 14 canaux soient reconnus en tant que lieux d’importance historique nationale, omettant cependant le canal de Sainte-Anne de cette liste.

En 1972, dans le cadre du Programme des accords sur la récréation et la conservation, certains canaux, dont la vocation est désormais axée sur la navigation de plaisance, passent sous la tutelle de Parcs Canada. Huit canaux historiques, dont le canal de Sainte-Anne-de-Bellevue, sont ainsi transférés, sous condition que leur gestion déborde leur ancienne affectation de voie de transport et mette désormais l’accent sur la protection, la jouissance et l’interprétation de leurs valeurs patrimoniales.1

En 1987, la Commission recommande qu’« à titre de voie navigable faisant partie du réseau national des canaux du Canada, le canal de Sainte-Anne-de-Bellevue a une importance nationale et doit être commémoré au moyen d’une plaque ». Par ailleurs, elle recommande qu’une étude fasse le point sur les ouvrages ou les éléments du canal de Sainte-Anne qui pourraient revêtir une importance historique nationale ou mériter d’être préservés 2. En 1990, la Commission réitère ses recommandations de 1987.

En 1994, les « Principes directeurs et politiques de gestion » de Parcs Canada viennent définir, dans le cadre d’un énoncé global, les principes généraux visant à orienter les programmes nationaux touchant la protection et la mise en valeur du patrimoine naturel et culturel. Au-delà de l’avis exprimé par la CLMHC en 1987, le canal de Sainte-Anne-de-Bellevue devient alors assujetti aux orientations plus détaillées exprimées dans la « Politique sur les canaux historiques », la « Politique sur les lieux historiques nationaux » ainsi que la « Politique sur la gestion des ressources culturelles ».

1Compte tenu de leur double vocation, les canaux historiques sont administrés en vertu de la Loi sur le ministère des Transports et les règlements afférents aux canaux historiques sous cette loi, ainsi qu’en vertu de la Loi sur les lieux et monuments historiques, qui régit l’administration, la protection et le maintien des lieux historiques nationaux.

2Délibérations et recommandations de la CLMHC, novembre 1987.


< Page précédente  | Table des matières  | Page suivante  >