6. Summary of the Strategic Environmental Assessment

6.5 Identifying Impact Sources and Evaluating Preoccupations

Owing to the urban nature and intensive use of Sainte-Anne-de-Bellevue Canal National Historic Site of Canada, the preservation of its natural components is related primarily to preserving the surrounding environment. In general, the anticipated impacts on natural resources do not give cause for concern. However, the increased level of services offered to shoreside visitors and pleasure boaters, particularly through the improvements planned in the area around the lock and the greater number of mooring places, raises concerns about possible negative impacts on the environment. Indeed, it is hard to predict the extent to which site use will increase, and, during peak periods, it will be difficult to keep visitors in the areas specially designed for them. The site’s ornamental vegetation is likely to be trampled and damaged. Similarly, birdlife and fish are likely to be disturbed by the growing number of visitors, although the impact might not be as great as anticipated given that wildlife frequent this sector to only a limited degree.

The main source of potential negative impacts on the site’s cultural resources is the projected increase in the level of services to shoreside visitors and pleasure boaters. Reorganization of the area for the purpose of delivering services might have major repercussions on both buried and surface resources, while growth in the number of visitors could damage or lead to the premature wear of surface vestiges.

Any effort to market the site through products and services that fail to highlight its historical value or that are out of keeping with the main messages delivered to underscore this aspect would inevitably be detrimental to preserving its cultural character.


< Previous Page  | Table of Contents  | Next Page  >

6. Résumé de l’évaluation environnementale stratégique

6.5 Identification des sources d’impacts et évaluation des préoccupations

Étant donné sa nature urbaine et la forte utilisation que le lieu historique national du Canada du Canal-de-Sainte-Anne-de-Bellevue supporte, la préservation des composantes naturelles est liée principalement à la conservation du cadre environnemental ambiant. Les impacts appréhendés sur les ressources naturelles sont dans l’ensemble non préoccupants. Toutefois, l’augmentation du niveau de service offert aux visiteurs et aux plaisanciers, notamment par les améliorations projetées aux abords de l’écluse et par l’augmentation du nombre de places d’amarrage, soulève des préoccupations quant à son potentiel d’impacts négatifs sur le milieu. En effet, l’accroissement de l’utili-sation du site demeurera difficile à prévoir et, en période d’achalandage, les visiteurs seront plus difficiles à contenir dans les endroits aménagés. La végétation ornementale du site est susceptible d’être piétinée et endommagée. La faune ailée et aquatique est également susceptible d’être dérangée par l’augmentation du nombre de visiteurs sur le site, bien que l’impact appréhendé soit réduit compte tenu de la faible utilisation de ce secteur par la faune.

L’augmentation projetée du niveau de services aux visiteurs des berges et aux plaisanciers constitue la principale source potentielle d’im-pacts négatifs sur les ressources culturelles du lieu. La réorganisation des espaces aux fins de dispenser ces services pourrait générer des répercussions majeures sur les ressources apparentes et enfouies alors que l’achalandage accru risque d’entraîner des dommages et une usure prématurée aux vestiges apparents.

Par ailleurs, la commercialisation éventuelle du lieu par le biais de produits et de services qui iraient à l’encontre de la valorisation historique du site et des principaux messages qui en découlent serait évidemment néfaste à la préservation de son caractère culturel.


< Page précédente  | Table des matières  | Page suivante  >