5. Presentation

5.4 Use Areas

With the exception of the new boardwalk, the upstream and downstream piers, along with the canal banks on the east shore, will remain atmospheric zones used essentially for “free” recreational activities, that is to say, non-organized activities, requiring no measures related to sports and competition, nor any substantial facilities or equipment. Non-intensive use of these areas will ensure the preservation of cultural resources and the general atmosphere that is created by grassed areas and enhanced by mature ornamental plants.

The main recreational activities include watching boats and lock operations, walking and relaxing. The canal banks, the central pier and downstream pier will continue to be used as picnic areas. The upstream pier will be used principally for walking and to gain access to the marina. On Parks Canada’s property, priority will continue to be given to pedestrians, and the facilities will provide easy access for the handicapped.

The upper end of the upstream pier and the west bank of the downstream pier could be made available for sports fishing. However, because of concerns about safety and compatible use, fishing will be prohibited from other banks and docks, as well as near the lock and in the canal.


< Previous Page  | Table of Contents  | Next Page  >

5. La mise en valeur

5.4 Les aires d’utilisation

Les jetées supérieure et inférieure de même que les abords du canal formant la rive est, à l’exception de la nouvelle promenade, demeureront des zones d’ambiance dédiées à des activités essentiellement récréatives « libres », c’est-à-dire des activités non organisées, ne nécessitant aucun encadrement de type sportif ou compétitif ni d’installations ou d’équipements d’envergure. L’usage non intensif de ces aires assurera la préservation des ressources culturelles et du cadre ambiant, constitué d’espaces gazonnés et agrémentés d’une végétation ornementale adulte.

Les activités récréatives comprendront essentiellement l’observation des bateaux et des manoeuvres d’éclusage, la marche et la détente. La rive est du canal, une portion de la jetée médiane et la jetée inférieure continueront à servir d’aires de pique-nique. La jetée supérieure sera utilisée principalement pour la marche et l’accès à la marina. Sur les propriétés de Parcs Canada, la priorité continuera d’être accordée aux piétons et les aménagements faciliteront l’accès aux personnes handicapées.

L’extrémité amont de la jetée supérieure et la rive ouest de la jetée inférieure pourront être accessibles à la pêche sportive. Cependant, pour des raisons de sécurité et d’incompatibi-lité, la pêche sera interdite à partir des autres rives et quais, à proximité de l’écluse et dans la voie canalisée.


< Page précédente  | Table des matières  | Page suivante  >