5. Presentation

5.2 Access and Visitor Reception

Considering the advantages of better integrating the canal with the existing urban landscape and making good use of the superintendent’s house, the presentation plan recommends that the two main points of entry to Parks Canada’s property at present should be consolidated; one of these access points is at the end of the municipal boardwalk, near the parking lot under the elevated lanes, while the other is near the old superintendent’s house.

The consolidation of these two access points would be accomplished mainly by identifying them with signage that gives the site greater visibility and better identifies it as a historic canal, while respecting the urban environment in which this signage is installed.

One of the projects that warrants consideration in the longer term consists in building a boardwalk along the lock and linking it with the municipal boardwalk, where Parks Canada’s property ends, to improve this access point, which is the one generally used by visitors.


< Previous Page  | Table of Contents  | Next Page  >

5. La mise en valeur

5.2 Les accès et les lieux d’accueil

Tenant compte d’une part de l’intérêt à accentuer l’intégration du canal à la trame urbaine existante, et d’autre part à tirer parti de la présence de la maison du surintendant, le concept de mise en valeur préconise de consolider les deux principaux points d’en-trée actuels à la propriété de Parcs Canada, soit dans le prolongement de la promenade municipale, près du stationnement implanté sous l’autoroute, et à proximité de l’ancienne maison du surintendant.

La consolidation de ces deux points d’accès se traduira principalement par leur identification au moyen d’une signalisation propre à accroître la visibilité du lieu et sa perception comme canal historique, tout en tenant compte de son insertion dans la ville.

Parmi les projets qui peuvent être envisagés à plus longue échéance, l’aménagement d’une promenade le long de l’écluse ainsi que son raccordement à la promenade municipale, à la limite de propriété de Parcs Canada, permettraient de mieux souligner cet accès, généralement le plus emprunté par les visiteurs du lieu.


< Page précédente  | Table des matières  | Page suivante  >