4. Issues and Strategic Directions

4.2 Strategic Directions

4.2.6 Architectural motif and site planning

Key considerations

None of the well-crafted buildings shown in old illustrations and photographs of the site have survived. For visitors, the modern architecture of the existing structures represents, as it were, a break with the past.

The current facilities, with their modern design, are not very evocative of the site’s heritage. Furthermore, because of the vegetation layout, observers are unable to obtain a clear idea of the site’s general features. Trees limit the amount of usable space and undermine the visual link with the surrounding bodies of water and the two locks.

Owing its central location and proximity to the marina, the old superintendent’s house could potentially serve as a reception and service centre for both pleasure boaters and shoreside visitors.

The presence of large numbers of visitors sometimes leads to dissatisfaction about the lack of mooring places and can create conflict between pleasure boaters passing through the canal and those moored at the dock. The fact that the dock is located beside a public boardwalk creates security problems for boats moored there at night.

Periods of intensive use also led to dissatisfaction about the lack of parking spaces. However, finding a solution to parking problems is one of the issues that will be addressed in concert with the borough council. The poor layout of the area around the workshop and the presence of pillars and parking spots beneath the viaducts have helped to reduce the pedestrian link between the locks sector and the boardwalk.

Directions

  • Highlight the distinctive character of the Sainte-Anne-de-Bellevue Canal by using a coherent, meaningful architectural motif and recalling various significant elements of the canal-building period.
  • Work with the borough council and a cooperative association to set up a reception and service centre in the old superintendent’s house.
  • Improve the functional organization of outdoor spaces with respect to the requirements of the main activities, the comfort of shoreside visitors, and any future developments affecting the remains of the first lock.
  • Improve the functional organization of the mooring docks and access to the lock based on the specific needs of pleasure boaters passing through or mooring in the canal.

 


< Previous Page  | Table of Contents  | Next Page  >

4. Problématique et orientations

4.2 Les orientations

4.2.6 Le motif architectural et l’aménagement du site

Les facteurs d’influence

Aucun des bâtiments d’époque dont l’icono-graphie ancienne révèle la facture soignée n’est parvenu jusqu’à nous. L’architecture plutôt moderne des bâtiments existants marque en quelque sorte, aux yeux des visiteurs, une rupture avec l’histoire.

Les aménagements actuels, d’inspiration contemporaine, concourent peu à évoquer la dimension patrimoniale du lieu et l’organisation de la végétation, notamment, ne permet pas à l’observateur de saisir clairement et globalement les particularités du site. Les plantations d’arbres limitent l’utilisation de l’espace et réduisent la relation visuelle avec les plans d’eau et l’emplacement des deux écluses.

Du fait de sa localisation et de sa proximité avec la marina, l’ancienne maison du sur-intendant offre un potentiel de lieu d’accueil et de services pour les visiteurs, tant pour les plaisanciers que ceux qui fréquentent les berges.

L’affluence génère à l’occasion certaines insatisfactions concernant le manque d’es-paces d’amarrage et peut s’avérer une source de conflits entre les plaisanciers en transit et ceux en ancrage au quai. La localisation du quai d’amarrage des bateaux le long d’une promenade publique occasionne des problèmes de sécurité pour les bateaux qui s’y amarrent durant la nuit.

L’affluence génère par ailleurs certaines in-satisfactions au sujet du manque d’espaces de stationnement. Toutefois, la résolution des problèmes de stationnement s’inscrit désormais dans le cadre d’une concertation avec le conseil d’arrondissement. La faible qualité de l’aménagement autour de l’atelier et la présence des piliers des voies élevées et du stationnement sous ces voies ont par ailleurs contribué à réduire le lien piéton entre la zone des écluses et la promenade publique.

Les orientations

  • Rappeler le caractère distinctif du canal de Sainte-Anne-de-Bellevue par le biais d’un motif d’aménagement, cohérent et signifiant, et par le rappel de certains éléments témoins des périodes de canalisation.
  • Collaborer avec le conseil d’arrondissement ainsi que l’association coopérante pour créer un lieu d’accueil et de services dans l’ancienne maison du surintendant.
  • Améliorer l’organisation fonctionnelle des espaces extérieurs en fonction des besoins des principales activités, du confort des usagers aux abords du canal et de la valorisation éventuelle des vestiges de la première écluse.
  • Améliorer l’organisation fonctionnelle des quais d’amarrage et de l’accès à l’écluse en fonction des besoins spécifiques des plaisanciers en transit et en ancrage au canal.

< Page précédente  | Table des matières  | Page suivante  >