4. Issues and Strategic Directions

4.2 Strategic Directions

4.2.5 Site visitation and use

Key considerations

Services for pleasure boating

The canal offers pleasure boaters an opportunity for a safe stop, with lock and moorage facilities available to them day and night. Stopovers at Sainte-Anne-de-Bellevue are related to the availability of activities that are of interest to pleasure boaters. However, day-and night-time boat services are limited to providing dockside mooring and access to washrooms and recreational activities, but do not include related services such as water and electricity and access to showers.

Visitor activities and services

For the most part, the activities on offer on Parks Canada properties are recreational summertime activities. The high level of services offered to clienteles as a whole stems mainly from the fact that the site is located next to downtown Sainte-Anne-de-Bellevue.

Visitors find watching boats go through the locks a highly entertaining activity. Those who do not have their own boat can take a cruise on the neighbouring lakes or the Ottawa River and enjoy going through the locks themselves.

Potential clienteles

The main market potentials related to pleasure boating are represented by Quebecers, especially those who own boats in the Greater Montréal area; other potential clients include pleasure boaters from other Quebec regions, the United States, particularly New York and New England, and southeastern Ontario.

The Sainte-Anne-de-Bellevue Canal is a strategic hub that links two major pleasure boating lakes (Lake of Two Mountains and Lake Saint-Louis), Montréal and Kingston, as well as the St. Lawrence waterway, the Ottawa River, the Trent-Severn Waterway and the Great Lakes via the Rideau and Carillon canals.

Highlighting the heritage value of eastern Canada’s historic canal circuit as well as boosting its reputation can potentially attract in equal measure pleasure boaters from Quebec and elsewhere. However, pleasure boaters face various constraints, such as going through the locks of the St. Lawrence Seaway, which are often busy with merchant ships. The reopening of the Lachine Canal to pleasure boating should therefore facilitate travel between the Richelieu and Ottawa river systems. Theme cruises and excursions as well as boat rental constitute other market potentials.

In regard to shoreside visitors, the main sources of market potential are residents of the Greater Montréal area and tourists visiting the region. The Sainte-Anne-de-Bellevue Canal is readily accessible by road due to its proximity to the main highways. In addition, since it is situated at the western tip of the Island of Montréal, it enjoys the patronage of residents of the regional county municipalities of Vaudreuil-Soulanges and Deux-Montagnes/Two Mountains as well as the Châteauguay-Valleyfield region.

Despite the proximity of so many tourists and residents in and around Montréal, reaching this clientele still proves difficult, given the number and variety of attractions in the Greater Montréal area. The tourist circuit linking the West Island’s main attractions could help to bolster the latter’s visibility and appeal among this clientele. Cultural or heritage tourism, based on a sense of discovery, is the way of the future and is likely to draw streams of tourists, foster interest among clienteles, and generate economic benefits.

Potential clienteles

  • Promote the expansion and renewal of clienteles by re-establishing a balance between the recreational and heritage dimensions of the site, maintaining the interest and sense of belonging of the existing clientele, and offering service users a high-quality product, while taking into account the site’s visitor capacity.
  • Bolster the role of the Sainte-Anne-de-Bellevue Canal within the West Island tourist circuit.
  • In collaboration with partners, develop new products with a “heritage flavour”, related in particular to the history of the canal and the Ottawa waterway.
  • Enhance the role of the lockmasters in terms of welcoming pleasure boaters and informing them about the heritage character of the canal.
  • Boost the reputation of the historic canal system of eastern Canada amongst pleasure boaters from Quebec and elsewhere.

< Previous Page  | Table of Contents  | Next Page  >

4. Problématique et orientations

4.2 Les orientations

4.2.5 La fréquentation et l’utilisation du site

Les facteurs d’influence

Les services à la navigation de plaisance

Le canal actuel offre l’opportunité d’une halte sécuritaire pour le plaisancier grâce à la disponibilité de l’éclusage et de l’amarrage de jour ou de nuit. L’escale à Sainte-Anne s’as-socie à la disponibilité d’activités recherchées par les plaisanciers. Les services liés à l’amarrage de jour ou de nuit sont toutefois limités à l’ancrage au quai, à l’accès aux installations sanitaires et aux activités récréatives et ne comprennent pas de services connexes, comme l’eau, l’électricité ou l’accès à des douches.

Les activités et services aux visiteurs

Sur les propriétés de Parcs Canada, les activités demeurent essentiellement récréatives et reliées à la période estivale. Le haut niveau de services offert à l’ensemble de la clientèle tient essentiellement au fait que le site jouxte le centre-ville.

L’éclusage des bateaux constitue une activité divertissante pour les visiteurs. Ceux qui ne possèdent pas d’embarcation peuvent effectuer une croisière sur les bassins limitrophes ou sur la rivière des Outaouais et vivre à leur tour l’expérience de l’éclusage.

Les clientèles potentielles

En ce qui a trait à la navigation de plaisance, les principaux marchés potentiels demeurent les plaisanciers québécois et au premier chef, ceux qui sont propriétaires d’une embarcation dans la région de Montréal. Les autres marchés sont constitués par les plaisanciers en provenance des autres régions du Québec, des plaisanciers américains provenant surtout des régions de New York et de la Nouvelle-Angleterre et enfin, des plaisanciers du sud-est de l’Ontario.

Le canal de Sainte-Anne jouit d’une position stratégique de carrefour, assurant la communication entre deux bassins de plaisance d’importance (les lacs des Deux-Montagnes et Saint-Louis), entre Montréal et Kingston, et entre la voie navigable du Saint-Laurent, l’Outaouais et les voies navigables de Trent Severn et des Grands Lacs, par le canal Rideau et le canal de Carillon.

La valorisation et la promotion du circuit des canaux historiques de l’Est canadien et le développement de la notoriété de ce réseau représentent un potentiel d’attraction auprès des plaisanciers québécois et de ceux de l’ex-térieur du Québec. Toutefois, les plaisanciers font face à diverses contraintes, dont le passage par les écluses de la voie maritime du Saint-Laurent, occupées par un important trafic marchand. À cet égard, la réouverture récente du canal de Lachine à la navigation de plaisance devrait faciliter le transit entre l’axe du Richelieu et l’axe de l’Outaouais. L’of-fre de croisières et d’excursions thématiques de même que la location d’embarcations représentent par ailleurs certains marchés potentiels.

En ce qui concerne l’affluence sur les berges du canal, les principaux potentiels de marché s’appliquent aux résidents et aux touristes en visite dans la région de Montréal. Par ailleurs, le canal de Sainte-Anne dispose d’une excellente desserte routière du fait de la proximité des grands axes autoroutiers. Sa localisation à l’extrémité ouest de l’île de Montréal lui permet également de profiter des bassins de population des MRC de Vaudreuil-Soulanges, des Deux-Montagnes et de la région de Châteauguay-Valleyfield.

Malgré la proximité de l’important bassin montréalais de touristes et de résidents, cette clientèle demeure difficile à rejoindre devant l’étendue et la diversité des attraits disponibles dans la grande région de Montréal. Le circuit touristique qui relie les principaux at-traits de l’ouest de l’île, pourrait contribuer à renforcer leur visibilité et leur pouvoir d’attrac-tion auprès de cette clientèle. Le tourisme culturel ou patrimonial, axé sur l’expérience de découverte, s’avère également porteur d’avenir, apte à stimuler des flux touristiques, à intéresser des clientèles et à générer des retombées économiques.

Les orientations

  • Susciter l’accroissement et le renouvellement des clientèles en rééquilibrant les dimensions récréatives et patrimoniales, en maintenant l’intérêt et le sentiment d’appartenance des clientèles actuelles et en offrant aux usagers des services de haute qualité, tout en tenant compte de la capacité d’accueil du site.
  • Consolider la présence du canal de Sainte-Anne-de-Bellevue au sein du circuit touristique de l’ouest de l’île.
  • En collaboration avec des partenaires, développer de nouveaux produits à « saveur patrimoniale » reliés, notamment, à l’histoire du canal et de la voie navigable de l’Outaouais.
  • Parfaire le rôle des éclusiers en matière d’accueil et d’information à caractère patrimonial destinée aux plaisanciers.
  • Accroître la notoriété du réseau des canaux historiques de l’Est canadien auprès des plaisanciers québécois et des plaisanciers hors Québec.

< Page précédente  | Table des matières  | Page suivante  >