4. Issues and Strategic Directions

4.2 Strategic Directions

4.2.4 Conserving natural resources

Key considerations

Owing to the limited amount of land owned by the Sainte-Anne-de-Bellevue Canal and the proximity of downtown Sainte-Anne-de-Bellevue, all available space is now occupied. The integrity of the natural environment has been completely altered as the result of work on the canal, the building of various structures, and changes to the site for recreational purposes. The current property has been shaped by the raising and alteration of the shoreside terrain following the excavation of the navigation channel. The natural features of the surrounding environment are the navigation basins themselves, namely, Lake of Two Mountains and Lake Saint-Louis, and the vegetation that has colonized the Becker Dam.

The vegetation on the dam, which has simply grown on the fill used to build this structure, is still not accessible to visitors and nor can it be seen from the canal and Sainte-Anne-de-Bellevue Lock. Nevertheless, pleasure boaters can admire this display of greenery when they pass through the navigation channel.

The rest of the canal property harbours mature ornamental vegetation including numerous trees that provide visitors with shade.

A study of old photographs and illustrations has revealed that there used to be very few trees on the site. Indeed, the area around the canal was once an open space, devoid of greenery.

Directions

  • Preserve the existing vegetation, which helps to make the site conducive to recreation, relaxation and pleasure boating, while maintaining a spatial organization that is in keeping with the history of the place.
  • Preserve the vegetation on Becker’s Dam.

< Previous Page  | Table of Contents  | Next Page  >

4. Problématique et orientations

4.2 Les orientations

4.2.4 La conservation des ressources naturelles

Les facteurs d’influence

L’exiguïté des propriétés du canal et sa proximité du centre urbain de Sainte-Anne-de-Bellevue ont conduit à une occupation de tous les espaces disponibles. L’intégrité du milieu naturel a été entièrement modifiée à la suite des travaux de canalisation, des diverses constructions et de la transformation des espaces à des fins récréatives. Les propriétés actuelles proviennent de l’exhaussement et de la modification des terres riveraines à la suite du creusage du chenal de navigation. Les composantes du milieu naturel correspondent aux bassins de navigation eux-mêmes, le lac des Deux-Montagnes et le lac Saint-Louis, et à la végétation qui colonise la digue Becker.

Dans ce dernier cas, le couvert végétal, issu de la renaturalisation des matériaux de remblai formant la digue, demeure inaccessible aux usagers et n’est pas visible à partir du canal et de l’écluse de Sainte-Anne. Les plaisanciers peuvent toutefois en apprécier la présence lors de leur passage dans le chenal de navigation où il forme un cadre verdoyant.

Le reste des propriétés du canal se caractérise par une végétation ornementale adulte comprenant de nombreux arbres offrant aux visiteurs de l’ombrage.

L’examen de l’iconographie ancienne indique qu’on retrouvait jadis peu d’arbres sur le site; ce dernier présentait plutôt l’aspect d’un es-pace dégagé et sans verdure.

Les orientations

  • Préserver le cadre ambiant et verdoyant comme lieu propice à la récréation, à la détente et à la navigation de plaisance, tout en maintenant une organisation spatiale en concordance avec une continuité historique.
  • Préserver la végétation sur la digue Becker.

< Page précédente  | Table des matières  | Page suivante  >