4. Issues and Strategic Directions

4.2 Strategic Directions

4.2.3 Communicating heritage messages and values of the site

Key considerations

To date, few awareness-heightening means have been developed and implemented to communicate messages of national historic significance as well as messages in support of the meaning and role of the Sainte-Anne-de-Bellevue Canal.

Nonetheless, work is under way to replace the old and out-of-date interpretation panels that used to be located near the lock.

Because of its central location, the old superintendent’s house could serve as a reception and information centre for canal activities and the West Island tourist circuit. Since the main heritage resources are concentrated around the old lock, the lock-master’s house might be a good place for housing interpretation and communication activities.

The current visit experience is still centred mainly on recreational and relaxation activities. Most visitors see the canal as a pleasure boating site/urban hot spot, as well as an excellent place for going on picnics or taking walks. No cultural events are held to foster a better understanding of the meaning of the place or its economic role in Canadian history.

Directions

  • Design and offer an enjoyable visit experience in keeping with the particular character of the site, while also taking steps to ensure the canal fits into the system of national historic sites of Canada.
  • Present messages of national historic significance to visitors in such a way that they clearly understand them.
  • Implement methods and instruments of evaluation to determine the effectiveness with which messages are conveyed.
  • Enrich visitors’ experience by the possible uncovering of archaeological remains and artifacts related to the different periods of canal-building.
  • Upgrade the training given to the lockmasters so that they can better communicate the history of the canal.
  • Develop, with the help of outside resource people and groups, the cultural programming on the site by means of activities and events that have a heritage character and that therefore serve as support for the interpretation efforts.

< Previous Page  | Table of Contents  | Next Page  >

4. Problématique et orientations

4.2 Les orientations

4.2.3 La communication des messages et des valeurs patrimoniales du lieu

Les facteurs d’influence

À venir jusqu’ici, peu de moyens de sensibilisation ont été développés et mis en place pour communiquer les messages d’impor-tance historique nationale ainsi que les messages d’appui relatifs à la signification et au rôle du canal de Sainte-Anne-de-Bellevue.

On a toutefois entrepris de remplacer les panneaux d’interprétation vieillissants et désuets qui étaient disposés aux abords de l’écluse.

En concordance avec sa situation de carrefour, l’ancienne maison du surintendant pourrait servir de lieu d’accueil et d’informa-tion sur les activités du canal et le circuit touristique de l’ouest de l’île. Comme les principales ressources patrimoniales se concentrent autour de l’ancienne écluse, la logette offre un potentiel intéressant pour abriter des activités d’interprétation et de communication.

L’expérience de visite actuelle demeure surtout axée sur la pratique d’activités récréatives et de détente. La plupart des visiteurs perçoivent le canal comme un lieu de plaisance et d’animation urbaine, où il est également intéressant de pique-niquer ou de se promener. Aucun événement culturel ne renforce la compréhension du sens de ce lieu et de son rôle économique dans l’histoire du Canada.

Les orientations

  • Concevoir et offrir une expérience de visite attrayante, adaptée au caractère propre du lieu, tout en renforçant l’ap-partenance du canal au réseau des lieux historiques nationaux du Canada.
  • Présenter les messages d’importance historique nationale aux visiteurs de manière à ce qu’ils en retirent une bonne compréhension.
  • Mettre en place des méthodes et des instruments de mesure pour déterminer l’efficacité de la transmission des messages.
  • Enrichir l’expérience de visite par la découverte éventuelle de vestiges et d’artefacts associés aux diverses périodes de canalisation.
  • Améliorer la formation des éclusiers pour leur permettre de mieux communiquer l’histoire du canal.
  • Développer, avec l’aide de collaborations externes, une animation culturelle sur le site par le biais d’activités et d’événements à caractère patrimonial, de manière à soutenir les efforts d’interprétation.

< Page précédente  | Table des matières  | Page suivante  >