4. Issues and Strategic Directions

4.2 Strategic Directions

4.2.1 Conserving and presenting a significant landscape

Key considerations

The national historic significance of the Sainte-Anne-de-Bellevue Canal is symbolized by both the landscape surrounding the site and the canal’s continued use as a navigation corridor. The landscape testifies to the strong link between the site’s natural and cultural components, namely, Lake of Two Mountains, Lake Saint-Louis, the canal and its lock, the railway bridges, the archaeological remains and downtown Sainte-Anne-de-Bellevue. It also reveals an intelligent choice of locality at a strategic river and road hub, an ingenious system of canal-building and the builders’ judicious use of the site’s natural strengths, stemming from the presence of a channel.

The Sainte-Anne-de-Bellevue Canal is an integral part of the urban landscape of the Island of Montréal. It meshes with Sainte-Anne Street, the main artery of downtown Sainte-Anne-de-Bellevue. The site is made up of five main sectors, each with its own particular characteristics: the downstream section of the canal, the downstream pier, the lock sector, the upstream section of the canal and the upstream pier.

Although the canal and the lock have continued to be operated down to the present time, most of the site is now closely integrated with the urban network and observers are afforded little evidence of how old it actually is. The site has no “historic appeal” or personality and its main functions are operational and recreational.

Directions

  • Use the existing landscape to highlight the site’s heritage value and convey its historic significance, while respecting its spatial structure, configuration of natural and cultural components and the way in which these elements are interrelated.
  • Maintain visual relationships between, on the one hand, the main spaces, traffic and activity areas, and the major buildings, and, on the other, the canal, the lock, and neighbouring bodies of water.
  • Ensure that future developments respect the historic layout of the site and its heritage value.
  • Foster awareness among borough council members of the importance of preserving the scale and character of the built environment surrounding this national historic site.

Previous Page | Table of ContentsNext Page >

4. Problématique et orientations

4.2 Les orientations

4.2.1 La conservation et la mise en valeur du paysage significatif

Les facteurs d’influence

Le paysage du canal de Sainte-Anne-de-Bellevue, tout comme le maintien de son caractère fonctionnel, est révélateur de l’im-portance historique nationale du lieu. Ce paysage significatif témoigne de la forte interrelation entre les composantes naturelles et culturelles que sont le lac des Deux-Montagnes, le lac Saint-Louis, le canal avec son écluse, les ponts ferroviaires, les vestiges archéologiques et le centre-ville de Sainte-Anne-de-Bellevue. Il révèle le choix judicieux de cette localisation à un emplacement stratégique de voies de communication fluviales et routières, l’ingéniosité du système de canalisation mis en place ainsi que la perspicacité des bâtisseurs à tirer profit des forces du milieu, grâce à la présence d’un chenal.

Le canal de Sainte-Anne s’intègre au paysage urbanisé de l’île de Montréal; le lieu se greffe à la rue Sainte-Anne, axe principal du centreville de Sainte-Anne-de-Bellevue. Le site se divise en cinq grandes zones aux caractéristiques propres : le canal et la jetée d’aval, le secteur de l’écluse, le canal et la jetée d’amont.

Malgré que l’état fonctionnel du canal et de l’écluse se soit perpétué jusqu’à nos jours, le lieu est aujourd’hui fortement intégré à la trame urbaine et, pour l’observateur, il reste peu évocateur de l’ancienneté de ses fonctions. Le site n’a pas à proprement parler de « cachet historique » et les aspects opérationnels et récréatifs prédominent.

Les orientations

  • Tirer parti du paysage actuel pour révéler le caractère patrimonial du lieu et traduire sa signification historique, tout en respectant la structure spatiale, l’agen-cement des composantes naturelles et culturelles et leurs interrelations.
  • Maintenir les relations visuelles des principaux espaces, aires de circulation et d’activités, et des principaux bâtiments avec le canal, l’écluse et les plans d’eau adjacents.
  • S’assurer que les aménagements à venir tiendront compte de l’organisation spatiale historique du lieu et respecteront son caractère patrimonial.
  • Sensibiliser le conseil d’arrondissement à l’importance de préserver l’échelle et le caractère du bâti qui environne le lieu historique national.

Page précédente | Table des matièresPage suivante >