3. Present Situation

3.2 Facilities and Services

The Sainte-Anne-de-Bellevue Canal provides facilities and services for pleasure boaters and shoreside visitors to the canal.

Access and parking

Visitors reach the site by the municipal boardwalk or Sainte-Anne Street, mainly via the entrance next to the superintendent’s house. Pedestrians can get to the central area between the piers by crossing the canal via the lock gates.

The site, which is administered by Parks Canada, has only limited parking facilities, in the form of a small lot with 5 spots in front of the lock. This situation stems from the fact that the parking lot is located on land that now belongs to the municipality.

Buildings

All of the buildings on Parks Canada’s property date from the 1960s, when the site’s infrastructures were modernized. The old superintendent’s office and house (a “bun-galow”-style building erected in 1963) were deeded over to the City of Sainte-Anne-de-Bellevue in 1983. However, the land on which they stand still belongs to Parks Canada and is rented to the city. A workshop for performing maintenance work and housing the hydraulic machinery is situated between the two railroads.

The central part of the site between the two piers includes a lockmaster’s house built in 1965, which now contains public washrooms, the lockmasters’ office and a machinery and storage room. Two control stations are used for operating the lock gates and controlling water levels, while a third is used to measure water levels. A concrete-block storage shed has stood on the site since the 1970s, beneath the CN railroad.12

Navigation corridor facilities and pleasure boat services

Various pieces of equipment are employed to operate the lock and ensure site security. Fixed docks upstream and downstream from the lock are used for mooring boats waiting to pass through the lock and for day- and night-time moorage, while a floating dock to the south, inside the lock, facilitates moorage. In addition, a navigational aid structure is located upstream from the lock, and the lock is equipped with a fixed fire extinguishing system and two portable foam fire extinguishers that must be protected and stored at night.

A public launching ramp is situated next to the upstream entrance to the canal. However, it is not only in poor condition, but has no parking facilities for vehicles with trailers, making it difficult for them to manoeuvre.

The pontoons of the Le Pingouin yacht club, located at the upstream entrance to the first lock, complete the mooring facilities available to pleasure boaters. A fee is charged for using these pontoons.

Activity areas and visitor services

Visitors have access to small picnic and relaxation areas on the central and downstream piers and to the west of the superintendent’s house. Elderly people in wheelchairs often sit in the well-shaded spot next to the lock and Sainte-Anne Street. A paved path, which is an extension of the municipal boardwalk, runs along the canal and the lock; other paths lead to the piers. Visitors also have access to washrooms in the former lockmaster’s house.

Visitors can engage in a number of activities at the site, such as picnicking, relaxing, watching boats or taking walks. They can also fish on the upstream and downstream piers. Interpretation panels used to be found on the site, but had to be removed a few years ago as they were no longer in good condition. Plans have been made to replace them with several attractively designed panels.

Related facilities

The pillars of the two railway bridges are located on Parks Canada property, along with a number of other public utility infrastructures, including two power lines. One of the lines is supported by steel pylons and the other by wooden poles, and they are situated between the viaducts of “Autoroute” 20 and the CN railway.

 

12These buildings, except for the superintendent’s house, which has been deeded back to the City of Montréal, will soon be eligible for a review by the Federal Heritage Buildings Review Office (FHBRO).


< Previous Page  | Table of Contents  | Next Page  >

3. État actuel

3.2 Les installations et services

Le canal de Sainte-Anne dispose d’installations et de services destinés aux plaisanciers et aux visiteurs des abords du canal.

Accès et stationnement

Les visiteurs accèdent au site à partir de la promenade municipale ou de la rue Sainte-Anne, principalement par l’entrée qui côtoie la maison du surintendant. Les piétons accèdent à la zone centrale intercalée entre les jetées en franchissant le canal au-dessus des portes de l’écluse.

Le site sous la gouverne de Parcs Canada offre peu d’espaces de stationnement (une petite aire d’une capacité de 5 places localisée en face de l’écluse), puisque ces infrastructures se retrouvent maintenant sur les propriétés municipales.

Les bâtiments

Tous les bâtiments situés sur la propriété de Parcs Canada remontent à la période de modernisation des années soixante. L’ancien bureau et résidence du surintendant (1963), une maison de type « bungalow », a été cédé en 1983 à la Ville de Sainte-Anne-de-Bellevue. Le terrain sur lequel elle s’élève appartient toujours à Parcs Canada et est aujourd’hui loué à la Ville. Un atelier servant aux travaux d’entretien et abritant les mécanismes hydrauliques occupe l’espace compris entre les deux voies ferrées.

La partie centrale comprise entre les deux jetées inclut une logette construite en 1965, qui accueille des toilettes publiques, le bureau des éclusiers et une salle de mécanique et d’entreposage. Deux postes de contrôle servent à l’opération des portes de l’écluse et au contrôle du niveau d’eau, tandis qu’un troisième poste sert à la mesure des niveaux d’eau. Un cabanon d’entreposage en blocs de béton apparaît depuis les années 1970 sous la voie du CN12.

Les équipements du couloir nautique et les services aux plaisanciers

Le fonctionnement de l’écluse et la sécurité des lieux sont assurés par divers équipements. On retrouve des quais fixes en aval et en amont de l’écluse, pour l’amarrage d’at-tente à l’éclusage et l’amarrage de jour ou de nuit, un quai flottant du côté sud, dans l’écluse, pour faciliter l’éclusage et, enfin, une structure d’aide à la navigation en amont de l’écluse. L’écluse est également pourvue d’un système d’extinction fixe et de deux dispositifs mobiles d’extincteurs à mousse devant être protégés et entreposés pour la nuit.

Une rampe publique de mise à l’eau jouxte l’entrée supérieure du canal; présentement en mauvais état, la rampe n’est desservie par aucun stationnement pour véhicule avec remorque et demeure difficile de manoeuvre.

Les pontons flottants du Club nautique Le Pingouin, installés à l’entrée amont de la première écluse, complètent l’offre en quais d’amarrage accessibles aux plaisanciers moyennant une tarification.

Les aires d’activités et les services aux visiteurs

Les visiteurs ont accès à de petites aires de pique-nique et de détente qui sont localisées sur la jetée centrale, sur la jetée aval ainsi qu’à l’ouest de la maison du surintendant. L’espace bien ombragé adjacent à l’écluse et à la rue Sainte-Anne accueille fréquemment un certain nombre de personnes âgées en fauteuil roulant. Un sentier asphalté longe le canal et l’écluse dans le prolongement de la promenade municipale; d’autres sentiers donnent accès aux jetées. Les visiteurs ont également accès aux installations sanitaires de la logette.

Les visiteurs peuvent s’adonner à quelques activités, telles que le pique-nique, la détente, l’observation des bateaux et la marche. Les jetées aval et amont sont également accessibles pour la pêche. Les quelques panneaux d’interprétation installés sur les lieux étaient défraîchis et ont dû être retirés il y a quelques années. Plusieurs panneaux présentant un graphisme attrayant sont prévus en rem-placement.

Les équipements connexes

Les piliers des deux ponts ferroviaires sont situés sur la propriété de Parcs Canada. On retrouve également certaines installations de services dont une ligne hydro-électrique sur pylônes d’acier et une ligne d’alimentation électrique sur poteaux de bois, toutes deux localisées entre le viaduc de l’autoroute 20 et celui du CN.

12Exception faite de l’ancienne maison du surintendant, rétrocédée à la Ville de Montréal, ces bâtiments deviendront bientôt éligibles à l’examen de la part du Bureau d’examen des édifices fédéraux du patrimoine.


< Page précédente  | Table des matières  | Page suivante  >