Commemorative intent identifies the reason(s) why the site was commemorated as being of national historic significance. While the authority to designate a national historic site rests with the Minister, it is on the advice of the Historic Sites and Monuments Board of Canada [HSMBC or the “Board” that this authority is exercised. Commemorative intent, therefore, is based on the Ministerially-approved  recommendations of the Board’s deliberations.

During its deliberations in June 1924, the Historic Sites and Monuments Board first noted the national importance of the Rideau Canal The following year, the Board adopted the resolution “that the construction of the Rideau Canal be declared an event of national importance.”

In 1926, the Canal was commemorated through a Board-approved plaque. It stated:

This tablet commemorates the hundredth anniversary of the beginning of the construction of the Rideau Canal in September, 1826, under the direction of Lieutenant Colonel John By: R.E., connecting the Ottawa River with Lake Ontario for ship navigation, thereby, laying the foundation of the City of Ottawa and advancing the development of Eastern Ontario.

In May 1939, the Board recognized the national significance of the Merrickville Blockhouse by recommending “That a secondary tablet bearing the following inscription be placed on this structure: - MERRICKVILLE BLOCKHOUSE   A fine example of the best type of blockhouses erected for the defense of the Rideau Canal about 1832.”

Plaque text reads as follows:

MERRICKVILLE BLOCKHOUSE

When construction of the Rideau Canal began, Merrickville was already an established village and was considered to be a logical target for an invader. Consequently Colonel John By urged strong measures for the protection of the lockstation. The result was this Blockhouse, built in 1832-33, the largest on the Rideau Canal and the second largest surviving in Canada. It still resembles its early description as “a good blockhouse, the basement and ground floor being of stone, and the upper storey of wood covered with tin, the whole surrounded by a ditch”.

The next Board recommendation came in 1967, when it reconfirmed that “the Rideau Canal is of national historical importance, and further resolves as follows:

the entire lock system of the Rideau Canal including locks, blockhouses, dams, weirs and original lockmasters’ houses be declared of national historical significance.... the Minister  should assume such responsibilities for the policies of Canal maintenance and operation as may be necessary to maintain the existing structures and preserve the unique historical environment of the Canal System.”

During deliberations on the Trent-Severn Waterway in November 1987, the Board commented in a comparative note that the Rideau Canal “is unique among Canadian Canals in that so many of its original structures have survived as built and most of its lockstations retain their integrity....”

The Rideau Canal was designated a national historic site in 1924. The reasons for national significance, based on the 1924, 1967 and 1987 Minutes of the Historic Sites and Monuments Board of Canada are:

  • the construction of the canal system;
  • the survival of a high number of original canal structures including locks, blockhouses, dams, weirs and original lockmasters’ houses plus the integrity of most lockstations, and;
  • the unique historical environment of the canal system.

The Merrickville Blockhouse was designated a national historic site in 1939 because:

  • it is a fine example of the best type of blockhouses erected for the defense of the Rideau Canal.

Previous | Index | Next

Les objectifs énoncés dans le présent document correspondent aux raisons pour lesquelles le canal Rideau doit être commémoré pour son importance historique nationale. Le pouvoir de désigner un lieu historique national appartient au Ministre, mais il exerce ce pouvoir sur recommandation de la Commission des lieux et monuments historiques du Canada [CLMHC ou Commission]. Par conséquent, les objectifs de commémoration sont fondés sur les recommandations que la Commission émet après en avoir délibéré, recommandations qui sont approuvées par le Ministère. 

En juin 1924, la Commission des lieux et monuments historiques, au cours de ses délibérations, souligne tout d’abord l’importance du canal Rideau. L’année suivante, la Commission adopte une résolution spécifiant que la construction du canal Rideau peut être considérée comme étant un événement d’importance nationale.

En 1926, la Commission fait apposer une plaque pour commémorer la construction du canal, portant l’inscription suivante :

Il y a cent ans, débutait en septembre 1826 la construction du Canal Rideau, sous la direction du lieutenant-colonel John By, R.E. Ce canal allait relier la rivière des Outaouais au lac Ontario, donnant ainsi naissance à la ville d’Ottawa et assurant le progrès de l’est ontarien.  

En mai 1939, la Commission reconnaît l’importance nationale du blockhaus de Merrickville en recommandant qu’une deuxième plaque portant l’inscription suivante soit placée sur la structure:         

« Blockhaus de Merrickville Un bel exemple de ce type de blockhaus construit vers 1832 pour défendre le canal Rideau » [traduction]

Le texte de la plaque se lit comme suit :

LE BLOCKHAUS DE MERRICKVILLE
     Le village de Merrickville existait déjà au moment de la construction du canal Rideau et était perçu comme une cible logique pour les envahisseurs. Le colonel John By recommanda donc de prendre des mesures importantes pour assurer la protection du poste d’éclusage. Par conséquent, un blockhaus fut construit entre 1832 et 1833. Il constitue le plus gros des blockhaus bâtis le long du canal Rideau et le deuxième plus gros à subsister au Canada. La description qu’on en fit alors est toujours d’actualité : [c’est un solide blockhaus avec sous-sol et rez-de-chaussée en pierre alors que l’étage supérieur en bois est surmonté d’un toit en tôle, le tout étant entouré d’un fossé]. [Traduction]

En 1967, la Commission émet une autre recommandation dans laquelle elle réaffirme que le canal Rideau revêt une importance historique nationale, et elle prend le parti suivant :

le système complet des écluses du canal Rideau, dont les écluses, les blockhaus, les barrages, les déversoirs et les maisons d’éclusiers d’origine, sera déclaré d’importance historique nationale... Le ministre aura la responsabilité d’élaborer des politiques pour l’entretien et l’exploitation du canal afin de permettre la préservation des structures en place et de l’environnement historique exceptionnel du réseau de canaux. [Traduction]

Dans ses délibérations de novembre 1987 concernant la voie navigable Trent-Severn, la Commission indique, dans une note comparative, que le canal Rideau « est un canal exceptionnel au Canada, dans la mesure où de nombreuses structures d’origine ont survécu et où la plupart des postes d’éclusage ont conservé leur intégrité... » [Traduction]

Le canal Rideau a été désigné lieu historique national en 1924. Les raisons justifiant son importance nationale, d’après les procès-verbaux de 1924, de 1967 et de 1987 de la Commission des lieux et monuments historiques du Canada, sont les suivantes :

  • l’aménagement du réseau de canaux;
  • le grand nombre d’ouvrages qui ont survécu, y compris les écluses, blockhaus, barrages, déversoirs et maisons éclusières d’origine, plus l’intégrité de la plupart des postes d’éclusage;
  • le cadre historique exceptionnel du réseau de canaux.

Le blockhaus de Merrickville a été désigné lieu historique national en 1939, car :

  • c’est un bel exemple de ce type de blockhaus construit pour la défense du canal Rideau.

Page précédente | Index | Page suivante