Commemorative integrity describes the health and wholeness of a national historic site. A national historic site possesses commemorative integrity:

  • when the resources that relate to the reasons for designation of the national historic site or symbolize or represent its importance are not impaired or under threat,
  • when the reasons for the site’s national historic significance are effectively communicated to the public, and
  • when the site’s heritage values including those not related to national significance are respected by all whose decisions or actions affect the site.

2.1 Commemorative Integrity Statement

A Commemorative Integrity Statement is a site-specific elaboration of what is meant by commemorative integrity for a particular national historic site. The CIS is intended to provide the benchmark for planning, managing operations, reporting and taking remedial action. It is divided into three main elements:

  • Resources that relate to the reasons for designation of the national historic site or symbolize or represent the site’s importance are not impaired or under threat - This section of the CIS identifies the resources that relate directly to the site’s national significance. It also describes the historic values of these resources, which can be symbolic as well as physical. These values must be safeguarded and communicated. The CIS provides guidance, through indicators and objectives, about the meaning of “not impaired or under threat” in the context of the site.
  • Reasons for the site’s national significance are effectively communicated to the public - This section of the CIS identifies messages of national significance, as well as any additional, essential information required to ensure their understanding. It provides guidance, through objectives, on integrity in presentation and effective communication with audiences.
  • Site’s heritage values (including those not related to national significance) are respected in all decisions and actions affecting the site - This section of the CIS covers heritage resources and values that are not related to national significance, as well as any other matters not covered under the other two elements of commemorative integrity. It provides guidance, through indicators and objectives, on what is meant by “respect” in the context of the site.

Previous | Index | Next

On entend par intégrité commémorative la santé et l’intégralité d’un lieu historique national. Un lieu historique national possède une intégrité commémorative lorsque :

  • les ressources qui ont permis de classer cet endroit comme lieu historique national et qui symbolisent ou représentent son importance ne sont ni altérées ni menacées;
  • les raisons justifiant son importance historique nationale sont bien expliquées au public;
  • ses valeurs patrimoniales, même celles qui ne sont pas d’importance nationale, sont respectées par tous ceux dont les décisions ou les interventions influent sur lui.

2.1 Énoncé d’intégrité commémorative

Un énoncé d’intégrité commémorative (EIC) est un document propre à un lieu, qui indique ce que l’on entend par intégrité commémorative pour ce lieu historique national en particulier. L’EIC doit servir de point de référence aux activités de planification et de gestion, lorsque des rapports sont établis et que des mesures correctives doivent être envisagées. Il comprend les éléments principaux ci-dessous :

  • Les ressources qui ont permis de classer cet endroit comme lieu historique national et qui symbolisent ou représentent son importance ne sont ni altérées ni menacées - Cette partie de l’énoncé d’intégrité commémorative présente les ressources directement liées à l’importance nationale du lieu historique et décrit leur valeur historique, qu’elle soit symbolique ou physique. C’est cette valeur qui doit être préservée et expliquée. L’EIC contient des indicateurs et des objectifs qui permettent de mieux comprendre le sens, dans le contexte du lieu historique, de l’expression « ni altérées ni menacées ».
  • Les raisons de son importance historique nationale sont bien expliquées au public - Cette partie de l’EIC renferme les messages d’importance nationale ainsi que tous les renseignements complémentaires essentiels à leur bonne compréhension. Elle fournit des orientations relatives à l’intégrité, sous forme d’objectifs, permettant une communication efficace avec le public. 
  • Les valeurs patrimoniales du lieu historique, même celles qui ne sont pas d’importance nationale, sont respectées par tous ceux dont les décisions ou les interventions influent sur lui - Cette partie de l’énoncé d’intégrité commémorative porte sur les valeurs et les ressources patrimoniales qui ne sont pas d’importance nationale ainsi que d’autres points non traités ailleurs dans le document. Grâce à des indicateurs et à des objectifs, elle donne des orientations sur le sens, dans le contexte du lieu historique, de la notion de « respect ».

Page précédente | Index | Page suivante