Progress Report on Implementation of the Recommendations of the Panel on the Ecological Integrity of Canada's National Parks


Chapter 9: From Islands to Networks
Panel Recommendation Considerations Action
(9-10) We recommend that the Minister require Parks Canada to maintain and enhance the ecological integrity of the parks by working in co-operation with adjacent landowners, and by participating in regional land use planning, environmental assessments, and other decision-making processes where outcomes are reasonably expected to affect the ecological integrity of a national park.   UNDER WAY - FUNDING. Parks Canada will advance park values more actively through its enhanced participation in local and regional processes which may affect the ecological integrity of national parks. The extent and timing of such activity are subject to the availability of new funding. In this work, Parks Canada will respect private property rights and constitutionally defined jurisdictions with respect to land and resource management outside national park boundaries.
(9-11) We recommend an amendment to the National Parks Act to incorporate a consequential amendment to the Canadian Environmental Assessment Act, requiring the Minister responsible for national parks to undertake an environmental assessment when adverse environmental impacts on a national park are expected to occur. (Such an assessment could be done on the initiative of a request by a provincial or territorial government, members of the public, or on the Minister's own initiative. The federal Environment Minister would retain authority to require an environmental assessment under an existing provision of Canadian Environmental Assessment Act.) Suggestions for specific wording of the National Parks Act are contained in Appendix C. The Canadian Environmental Assessment Act is currently undergoing the required five-year review, including public consultations. In light of the current review of the Canadian Environmental Assessment Act, the House of Commons Standing Committee on Canadian Heritage did not propose any amendments along these lines to the new Canada National Parks Act. The issue of transboundary impacts is being considered as part of the Canadian Environmental Assessment Act review.
(9-12) We recommend that the Minister advise the [G]overnment of Canada to amend the Income Tax Act to exempt ecological gifts from capital gains tax and allow for the part sale/part donation ("bargain sale") of land.   DONE. The budget of February 28, 2000 reduced, from two-thirds to one-third, the income inclusion rate on capital gains arising from donations of ecologically sensitive lands and easements. The October 18, 2000 Economic Statement and Budget Update reduced the income inclusion rate further to 25%, for ecogifts completed after October 18, 2000.
(9-13) We recommend that Parks Canada use the State of the Parks Report to measure progress toward the implementation of those portions of the Canadian Biodiversity Strategy that are within Parks Canada's mandate. The State of the Parks Report has not, to date, been used to report specifically on Parks Canada's contributions toward implementing federal or national initiatives, such as the Canadian Biodiversity Strategy, but rather has focused on the state of Canada's national parks. UNDER WAY. The ecological integrity of national parks and completion of the national park system are central to the State of the Parks Report, are an important contribution to the Canadian Biodiversity Strategy and will be included in future reports.


Previous | Index

Rapport d'étape sur la mise en oeuvre des recommandations de la Commission sur l'intégrité écologique des parcs nationaux du Canada


Chapitre 9 : De la plus petite « île » au plus vaste réseau
Recommandation de la Commission Considérations Mesures
(9-10) Nous recommandons que la ministre exige que Parcs Canada maintienne et mette en valeur l'intégrité écologique des parcs en travaillant en collaboration avec les propriétaires fonciers des terres adjacentes et en participant à la planification régionale de l'utilisation du territoire, aux évaluations environnementales et aux autres processus décisionnels dont les résultats sont susceptibles d'avoir une incidence sur l'intégrité écologique d'un parc national.   EN COURS – FINANCEMENT. Parcs Canada va faire progresser les valeurs des parcs plus activement en participant davantage aux processus locaux et régionaux susceptibles d'avoir une incidence sur l'intégrité écologique des parcs nationaux. L'étendue et le choix du moment d'une telle activité sont sujets à la disponibilité de nouveaux fonds. Dans ce travail, Parcs Canada va respecter les droits à la propriété privée et les compétences définies par la Constitution quant à la gestion des terres et des ressources à l'extérieur des limites des parcs nationaux.
(9-11) Nous recommandons de modifier la Loi sur les parcs nationaux pour incorporer une modification consécutive à la Loi canadienne sur l'évaluation environnementale, exigeant de la ministre chargée des parcs nationaux d'entreprendre une évaluation environnementale quand des incidences environnementales néfastes sont susceptibles de se produire dans un parc national. (Une évaluation de ce genre pourrait être faite à la suite d'une requête d'un gouvernement provincial ou territorial, de membres du public, ou à la propre initiative de la ministre. Le ministre de l'Environnement du gouvernement fédéral conserverait le pouvoir d'exiger une évaluation environnementale en vertu d'une disposition actuelle de la Loi canadienne sur l'évaluation environnementale.) Des propositions pour le libellé précis de la Loi sur les parcs nationaux sont formulées à l'annexe C. La Loi canadienne sur l'évaluation environnementale fait actuellement l'objet de l'examen quinquennal exigé, y compris de consultations publiques. à la lumière de l'actuel examen de la Loi canadienne sur l'évaluation environnementale, le Comité permanent du patrimoine canadien de la Chambre des communes n'a pas proposé de modifications en ce sens à la nouvelle Loi sur les parcs nationaux du Canada. La question des incidences transfrontalières est étudiée dans le cadre de l'examen de la Loi canadienne sur l'évaluation environnementale.
(9-12) Nous recommandons que la ministre conseille au gouvernement du Canada de modifier la Loi de l'impôt sur le revenu afin de prévoir une exonération fiscale à l'égard des gains en capital résultant de dons écologiques, et de permettre la combinaison « vente et don de terres », sous forme de « vente à rabais ».   FAIT. Le budget du 28 février 2000 a ramené des deux tiers au tiers le taux d'inclusion des gains en capital découlant des dons de terres écologiquement sensibles et des servitudes. L'énoncé économique et Mise à jour budgétaire du 18 octobre 2000 a de nouveau réduit l'inclusion des gains à 25% pour les dons en faveur de l'écologie faits après le 18 octobre 2000.
(9-13) Nous recommandons que Parcs Canada utilise le Rapport sur l'état des parcs pour mesurer les progrès réalisés en vue de la mise en oeuvre des objectifs de la Stratégie canadienne de la biodiversité qui relèvent du mandat de Parcs Canada. Le Rapport sur l'état des parcs n'a pas, à ce jour, été utilisé pour faire précisément le point sur les contributions de Parcs Canada à la mise en oeuvre des initiatives fédérales ou nationales telles que la Stratégie canadienne de la biodiversité; il s'est plutôt attardé à l'état des parcs nationaux du Canada. EN COURS. L'intégrité écologique des parcs nationaux et le parachèvement du réseau des parcs nationaux sont au coeur du Rapport sur l'état des parcs, représentent une contribution importante à la Stratégie canadienne de la biodiversité et seront inclus dans les futurs rapports.


Page précédente | Index