Progress Report on Implementation of the Recommendations of the Panel on the Ecological Integrity of Canada's National Parks


Chapter 9: From Islands to Networks
Panel Recommendation Considerations Action
(9-6) We recommend that the Minister launch a national partnership program to protect the ecological integrity of national parks, by establishing a Partnership Fund of $20 million per year. Apply the Partnership Fund to a broad range of co-operative agreements to help maintain the ecological integrity of national parks and other federally administered conservation areas, such as Canadian Heritage Rivers. The Panel recommends that the Fund be administered by Parks Canada and that ... Currently, there is insufficient funding available to national parks to support effective and comprehensive cooperative activities adjacent to national parks on an ongoing basis. Such a fund would assist in building partnerships. UNDER WAY - FUNDING. Measures to support enhanced partnerships in regional ecosystems have been included in the implementation strategy that has been prepared for government consideration as part of the normal budget process. The extent and timing of enhanced partnerships are subject to the availability of new funding.
(9-7) We recommend that Parks Canada use the full range of existing regional co-operation models to enhance maintenance of biodiversity and ecological processes in the greater ecosystem of each national park. Evaluate the effectiveness of each model for its potential contribution to land use change in support of maintaining ecological integrity. Example models include ... There is no one model for regional cooperation which is appropriate to each situation. Parks Canada currently participates in four biosphere reserves and five model forests. Full participation in these institutions has been hampered by lack of funding. UNDER WAY - FUNDING. In considering ways to improve the integration of national parks with their surrounding regional ecosystems, the full range of options will be considered. The extent and timing of greater participation in regional cooperation mechanisms are subject to the availability of new funding.
(9-8) We recommend that Parks Canada develop and support partnerships with First Nations, conservation groups, co-operating associations and the business community to assist in a variety of research, monitoring and public education activities in support of maintaining ecological integrity in greater park ecosystems. National parks currently have a wide variety of partnership projects with other governments, First Nations and stakeholders. These have been developed and pursued on a case-by-case basis in response to park needs, but the effectiveness of such efforts has been limited by a lack of resources. UNDER WAY - FUNDING. Measures to support enhanced partnerships have been included in the implementation strategy that has been prepared for government consideration as part of the normal budget process. The extent and timing of enhanced partnerships are subject to availability of new funding.
(9-9) We recommend that Parks Canada develop partnerships with charitable land trusts to secure habitat adjacent to Canada's national parks, in co-operation with private landowners to acquire critical habitat adjacent to national parks or using conservation easements to create zones of cooperation around parks. Partnerships with charitable land trusts are an excellent way to secure habitat adjacent to national parks. Initiatives have been taken across the country where opportunities have arisen and resources have permitted (e.g. with the Nature Conservancy of Canada, the Canadian Thousand Islands Heritage Conservancy and the Nature Trust of British Columbia). UNDER WAY - FUNDING. Parks Canada will continue to seek opportunities for effective partnerships with charitable land trusts. Enhanced efforts in this area in the future are subject to the availability of new funding for partnerships.


Previous | Index | Next

Rapport d'étape sur la mise en oeuvre des recommandations de la Commission sur l'intégrité écologique des parcs nationaux du Canada


Chapitre 9 : De la plus petite « île » au plus vaste réseau
Recommandation de la Commission Considérations Mesures
(9-6) Nous recommandons que la ministre lance un programme de partenariat national pour protéger l'intégrité écologique des parcs nationaux, en établissant un fonds de partenariats de 20 millions de dollars par année. Que le fonds de partenariats serve à une gamme plus large d'ententes de collaboration pour aider à maintenir l'intégrité écologique des parcs nationaux et des autres aires de conservation de compétence fédérale, comme les rivières du patrimoine canadien. Nous recommandons que le fonds soit administré par Parcs Canada et que... à l'heure actuelle, les parcs ne disposent pas de fonds suffisants pour appuyer de manière continue des activités de collaboration exhaustives dans les zones adjacentes aux parcs nationaux. Un tel fonds aiderait à établir des partenariats. EN COURS – FINANCEMENT. Des mesures favorisant l'amélioration des partenariats dans les écosystèmes régionaux font partie de la stratégie de mise en oeuvre préparée pour être soumise à l'étude du gouvernement dans le cadre du processus budgétaire régulier. L'étendue et le choix du moment de ces partenariats améliorés sont sujets à la disponibilité de nouveaux fonds.
(9-7) Nous recommandons que Parcs Canada utilise toute la gamme des modèles de collaboration régionale existants pour mettre en valeur le maintien de la biodiversité et des processus écologiques à l'intérieur des grands écosystèmes des parcs dans chaque parc national. Que Parcs Canada évalue l'efficacité de chaque modèle pour sa contribution éventuelle au changement de gestion du territoire en vue de maintenir l'intégrité écologique. Voici des exemples de modèles... Aucun modèle de collaboration régionale ne se prête à chaque situation. Parcs Canada participe actuellement à quatre réserves de la biosphère et à cinq forêts modèles. Le manque de financement l'a empêché de participer pleinement à ces institutions. EN COURS – FINANCEMENT. Lorsqu'on étudiera les moyens d'améliorer l'intégration des parcs nationaux aux écosystèmes régionaux environnants, toutes les options seront examinées. L'étendue et le choix du moment d'une participation accrue aux mécanismes de collaboration régionale sont sujets à la disponibilité de nouveaux fonds.
(9-8) Nous recommandons que Parcs Canada forme et entretienne des partenariats avec les Premières nations, les groupes écologistes, les associations coopérantes et le monde des affaires, pour participer à diverses recherches et à des activités de surveillance écologique et de sensibilisation du public en vue de maintenir l'intégrité écologique des écosystèmes qui englobent les parcs. à l'heure actuelle, les parcs nationaux ont une foule de projets de partenariat avec d'autres gouvernements, les Premières nations et les intervenants. Ces projets ont été élaborés et réalisés au cas par cas selon les besoins des parcs, mais le manque de ressources a réduit l'efficacité de tels efforts. EN COURS – FINANCEMENT. Des mesures d'appui à l'amélioration des partenariats ont été incluses dans la stratégie de mise en oeuvre préparée pour être soumise à l'étude du gouvernement dans le cadre du processus budgétaire régulier. L'étendue et le choix du moment de l'amélioration des partenariats sont sujets à la disponibilité de nouveaux fonds.
(9-9) Nous recommandons que Parcs Canada forme des partenariats avec les fiducies foncières de bienfaisance pour protéger les habitats adjacents aux parcs nationaux canadiens, collabore avec des propriétaires fonciers privés en vue d'acheter des habitats vitaux adjacents à des parcs nationaux ou utilise des servitudes de conservation pour créer des zones de collaboration autour des parcs. Les partenariats avec les fiducies foncières de bienfaisance sont un excellent moyen de mettre à l'abri les habitats adjacents aux parcs nationaux. Des initiatives ont été prises à travers le pays là où des occasions se sont présentées et où des ressources ont été consenties (p. ex. avec la Société canadienne pour la conservation de la nature, la Canadian Thousand Islands Heritage Conservancy et la Nature Trust de Colombie-Britannique). EN COURS – FINANCEMENT. Parcs Canada va continuer à chercher des occasions de former des partenariats efficaces avec des fiducies foncières de bienfaisance. L'amélioration des efforts dans ce domaine dans l'avenir est sujette à la disponibilité de nouveaux fonds.


Page précédente | Index | Page suivante