Progress Report on Implementation of the Recommendations of the Panel on the Ecological Integrity of Canada's National Parks


Chapter 9: From Islands to Networks
Panel Recommendation Considerations Action

(9-1) We recommend that the Minister work with the provinces and territories to protect the ecological integrity of the national, provincial and territorial network of protected areas through formal agreement. In developing the agreement, include First Nations governments, municipalities, non-government organizations and industry as partners in the discussions.

We recommend that the Minister initiate a federal inter-departmental memorandum of understanding to support the maintenance of ecological integrity of national parks by ensuring consistent policies and plans with respect to lands under federal jurisdiction in greater ecosystems that include national parks.

Federal, provincial and territorial parks agencies manage their own parks networks under their own legislation. In most cases, the protection of ecological integrity is not a specific mandate of these agencies. Regular communications with provincial and territorial parks agencies occur through the Federal-Provincial Parks Council and Parks Ministers' meetings.

Collaboration among federal departments has traditionally been undertaken on a case-by-case basis and on issues of common interest (e.g. species at risk). Departments have a range of objectives which need to be harmonized through sharing of information and dialogue.

UNDER WAY. Parks Canada will continue to seek appropriate bilateral agreements with other governments.

Support of other federal departments is important to maintaining ecological integrity in national parks. Parks Canada is exploring appropriate mechanisms with key federal departments and agencies, particularly Environment Canada.

(9-2) We recommend that the Minister requests the [G]overnment of Canada to use existing federal government authority within its jurisdiction regarding fisheries, endangered species, migratory birds, long range air pollution, navigable waters and environmental impact assessment to support the maintenance of ecological integrity in national park ecosystems. (A similar action was also recommended with respect to boreal forest management by the Senate Subcommittee on the Boreal Forest, 1999.) Existing federal authorities are already being used on a case-by-case basis as opportunities arise. For example, Parks Canada has participated in the environmental assessment of the Cheviot mine proposal based on authorities under the Fisheries Act. UNDER WAY. As the need and opportunities arise, Parks Canada will continue to take advantage of federal authorities in other areas to support the ecological integrity of national parks.
(9-3) At the provincial and territorial level, we recommend that Parks Canada undertake regular and continuing dialogue among senior executives of federal, provincial and territorial agencies responsible for land and resource management to support improved co-operation on the maintenance of ecological integrity in national parks and other protected areas. For example ... Park managers regularly participate in regional strategies and plans affecting national parks. UNDER WAY. Parks Canada's senior managers have met with and briefed appropriate senior provincial and territorial officials on the Panel's report and Parks Canada's response to it. This dialogue will continue.


Index | Next

Rapport d'étape sur la mise en oeuvre des recommandations de la Commission sur l'intégrité écologique des parcs nationaux du Canada


Chapitre 9 : De la plus petite « île » au plus vaste réseau
Recommandation de la Commission Considérations Mesures

(9-1) Nous recommandons que la ministre collabore avec les provinces et les territoires afin de préserver l'intégrité écologique du réseau national, provincial et territorial d'aires protégées par l'entremise d'accords officiels; qu'au cours du processus d'entente, les gouvernements des Premières nations, les municipalités, les organisations non gouvernementales et les industries prennent part aux discussions.

Nous recommandons que la ministre élabore un protocole d'entente interministériel fédéral, afin d'appuyer le maintien de l'intégrité écologique des parcs nationaux, en s'assurant que soient conçus des politiques et des plans cohérents en ce qui concerne les terres relevant de la compétence fédérale dans les écosystèmes qui englobent les parcs nationaux.

Les agences fédérale, provinciales et territoriales des parcs gèrent leurs propres réseaux de parcs en vertu de leur propre législation. Dans la plupart des cas, ces agences n'ont pas précisément pour mandat de protéger l'intégrité écologique. Des communications ont régulièrement lieu avec les agences provinciales et territoriales des parcs par l'entremise du Conseil fédéral-provincial des parcs et des réunions des ministres des Parcs.

La collaboration entre les ministères fédéraux se fait traditionnellement au cas par cas et sur des questions d'intérêt commun (p. ex. les espèces en péril). Les ministères ont un éventail d'objectifs qui doivent être harmonisés par le partage de l'information et le dialogue.

EN COURS. Parcs Canada va continuer à tenter de conclure des ententes bilatérales appropriées avec d'autres gouvernements.

Le soutien des autres ministères fédéraux est important pour le maintien de l'intégrité écologique des parcs nationaux. Parcs Canada étudie des mécanismes appropriés avec les principaux ministères et organismes fédéraux, surtout avec Environnement Canada.
(9-2) Nous recommandons que la ministre demande à ce que le gouvernement du Canada se prévale de son autorité actuelle, dans les limites de sa compétence, en ce qui a trait aux pêches, aux espèces en danger de disparition, aux oiseaux migrateurs, à la pollution atmosphérique à longue distance, aux eaux navigables et à l'évaluation des incidences environnementales, afin d'appuyer le maintien de l'intégrité écologique dans les écosystèmes des parcs nationaux. (Le Sous-comité sénatorial sur la forêt boréale (1999) a recommandé une mesure similaire relativement à la gestion de la forêt boréale.) Le gouvernement fédéral se prévaut déjà de son autorité actuelle au cas par cas au fur et à mesure que les occasions se présentent. Par exemple, Parcs Canada a participé à l'évaluation environnementale de la proposition de la mine Cheviot en se fondant sur les pouvoirs conférés par la Loi sur les pêches. EN COURS. Au fur et à mesure des besoins et des occasions, Parcs Canada va continuer à se prévaloir des pouvoirs fédéraux dans d'autres domaines pour soutenir l'intégrité écologique des parcs nationaux.
(9-3) à l'échelle provinciale et territoriale, nous recommandons que Parcs Canada se charge d'établir et de maintenir un dialogue suivi entre les gestionnaires supérieurs des organismes fédéraux, provinciaux et territoriaux chargés de la gestion des ressources et des terres, afin de favoriser une coopération accrue en matière de maintien de l'intégrité écologique dans les parcs nationaux et autres aires protégées. Par exemple, nous recommandons que Parcs Canada ... Les gestionnaires des parcs participent régulièrement à des stratégies et à des plans régionaux touchant les parcs nationaux. EN COURS. Les gestionnaires supérieurs de Parcs Canada ont rencontré des représentants provinciaux et territoriaux compétents et les ont mis au courant du rapport de la Commission et de la réponse de Parcs Canada à ce sujet. Cet échange va se poursuivre.


Index | Page suivante