Progress Report on Implementation of the Recommendations of the Panel on the Ecological Integrity of Canada's National Parks


Chapter 8: National Parks in the Canadian Protected Areas Network
Panel Recommendation Considerations Action
(8-6) We recommend that Parks Canada increase the resources available to conduct biophysical inventories and greater park ecosystem analyses, to ensure that proposed park boundaries are based on the best available conservation science (Recommendations 6-2 and 13-2).   UNDER WAY - FUNDING. Increasing the resources devoted to biophysical inventories and greater park ecosystem analyses are subject to the availability of new funding for system completion.
(8-7) We recommend that Parks Canada appoint conservation scientists to new park establishment negotiating teams in order to help provide convincing arguments for boundaries based on ecological integrity criteria. Ensure that park planners and conservation scientists who participated in the park establishment phases are available to take part in new park management planning efforts (Recommendation 3-3). Parks Canada policy clearly articulates a range of ecological criteria that, when applied, can produce candidate national park boundaries that meet ecological integrity objectives, land use allocations and practises notwithstanding. The input of conservation scientists is required well before new park negotiations are underway, particularly during the feasibility study phase. Park establishment staff have always been available to new park management planning efforts. UNDER WAY. Parks Canada will seek the best possible conservation science advice regarding ecologically sound park boundaries from scientists and park planning experts. Collaboration between the Parks Establishment Branch and the Ecological Integrity Branch will continue to improve to ensure the best park boundaries are identified. Expertise and information used in the park establishment process will continue to be readily available during the initial management planning exercise. Parks Canada now increasingly involves its field unit staff in the park establishment process to ensure that proposed park boundaries and agreements address later requirements for park administration and management.
(8-8) We recommend that Parks Canada reach agreement with the provinces, territories and other federal departments to use their legislative powers to withdraw candidate national park sites from development as early as possible to preserve their ecological integrity during the planning process. For example, with respect to the boreal forest, urge the responsible governments not to issue timber or other development permits in candidate park sites on federal lands (as recommended by the Senate Subcommittee on the Boreal Forest in Competing Realities: The Boreal Forest at Risk, 1999). It is current Parks Canada policy to consider, in cooperation with agencies having jurisdiction over land and resource use, ways to prevent the loss of ecological values during the feasibility assessment process. The goal is to achieve interim protection when a joint feasibility study is launched. UNDERWAY. Parks Canada will continue to pursue interim protection for proposed parks, in consultation and negotiation with its partners. For example, in July 2000, the Government of Newfoundland and Labrador provided interim protection to the lands proposed for the Torngat Mountains national park reserve.


Previous | Index

Rapport d'étape sur la mise en oeuvre des recommandations de la Commission sur l'intégrité écologique des parcs nationaux du Canada


Chapitre 8 : Les parcs nationaux et le réseau canadien d'aires protégées
Recommandation de la CommissionConsidérationsMesures
(8-6) Nous recommandons que Parcs Canada augmente les ressources disponibles pour réaliser des inventaires biophysiques et des analyses des écosystèmes entourant les parcs, afin d'assurer que les limites proposées sont fondées sur les meilleures données scientifiques sur la conservation (recommandations 6-2 et 13-2).   EN COURS – FINANCEMENT. L'accroissement des ressources consacrées aux inventaires biophysiques et aux analyses des grands écosystèmes des parcs est sujet à la disponibilité de nouveaux fonds.
(8-7) Nous recommandons que Parcs Canada nomme des scientifiques de la conservation au sein des équipes de négociation visant l'établissement des nouveaux parcs, afin qu'ils fournissent des arguments probants sur les limites prévues en fonction des critères d'intégrité écologique. Il faut s'assurer que les planificateurs des parcs et les scientifiques de la conservation ayant participé à l'établissement d'un parc prennent part à la planification préliminaire de la gestion du nouveau parc (recommandation 3-3). La politique de Parcs Canada énonce clairement toute une série de critères écologiques dont l'application peut produire dans les parcs nationaux prévus des limites qui satisferont aux objectifs d'intégrité écologique, malgré les allocations d'utilisation des terres et les pratiques établies. Il faut avoir recours à des spécialistes de la conservation bien avant le début des négociations en vue de créer de nouveaux parcs, surtout pendant la phase de l'étude de faisabilité. Le personnel chargé de l'établissement des parcs a toujours été disponible pour participer aux efforts de palnification des nouveaux parcs. EN COURS. Parcs Canada va demander aux scientifiques et aux experts de la planification des parcs les meilleurs conseils scientifiques possibles en matière de conservation au sujet des limites écologiquement saines des parcs. La collaboration entre les Directions générales de l'établissement des parcs et de l'intégrité écologique continuera de s'accroître pour permettre d'établir le mieux possible les limites des parcs. L'expertise et l'information utilisées dans le processus d'établissement des parcs vont continuer à être immédiatement disponibles durant l'exercice initial de planification de gestion. Parcs Canada implique de plus en plus son personnel sur le terrain dans le processus d'établissement des parcs pour assurer que les limites et les ententes proposées tiennent compte des exigences futures de l'administration et de la gestion des parcs.
(8-8) Nous recommandons que Parcs Canada conclue une entente avec les provinces, les territoires et les autres ministères fédéraux afin qu'ils fassent appel à leurs pouvoirs législatifs pour faire obstacle le plus tôt possible aux activités de développement dans les parcs nationaux proposés, dans le but de préserver leur intégrité écologique au cours du processus de planification. Dans le cas de la forêt boréale, par exemple, il faut demander avec insistance aux gouvernements responsables de ne pas accorder de permis de coupe ou d'autres permis d'exploitation dans les parcs nationaux proposés sur les terres fédérales (selon la recommandation du sous-comité sénatorial sur la forêt boréale dans Réalités concurrentes: la forêt boréale en danger, 1999). Parcs Canada a pour pratique courante d'étudier, en collaboration avec les organismes ayant compétence sur l'utilisation des terres et des ressources, des moyens de prévenir la perte des valeurs écologiques durant le processus d'évaluation de la faisabilité. L'objectif est d'obtenir une protection temporaire lors d'une étude de faisabilité conjointe. EN COURS. Parcs Canada va continuer à chercher des moyens d'assurer la protection temporaire des parcs proposés, et ce, en consultant ses partenaires et en négociant avec eux. Ainsi, en juillet 2000, le gouvernement de Terre-Neuve et du Labrador a accordé une protection provisire aux terres que l'on se propose d'inclure dans la réserve de parc national des Monts-Torngat.


Page précédente | Index