Progress Report on Implementation of the Recommendations of the Panel on the Ecological Integrity of Canada's National Parks


Chapter 8: National Parks in the Canadian Protected Areas Network
Panel Recommendation Considerations Action
(8-3) We recommend that the Minister expand the national park system to include ecological representation of all 39 natural regions as defined by Parks Canada. We recommend that the Minister ensure sufficient funds are allocated for new park establishment, and that new parks have sufficient funds for government planning, operations and ecosystem management, without reducing funds of existing parks (recommendation 13-4). Four new national parks, covering 54,412 sq. km, have been created since 1993. The 2001 Throne Speech committed the government to "invest in the creation of new parks". UNDER WAY - FUNDING. The government is actively pursuing new national parks in 8 of the 14 unrepresented natural regions. It is negotiating for the creation of Ukkusiksalik National Park and the Torngat Mountains national park reserve. It is assembling land in collaboration with the B.C. government for a proposed Gulf Islands national park. Feasibility studies are pending or underway in five other natural regions. Funding requirements for completing the national parks system have been included in the implementation strategy that has been prepared for government consideration as part of the normal budget process. Future progress toward completing the system is subject to the availability of new funding.
(8-4) We recommend that Parks Canada negotiate park establishment agreements that give the highest priority to maintaining ecological integrity by seeking boundaries that meet ecological integrity objectives. Ensure regional co-operation measures are in place to support ecological integrity objectives. This has always been the goal of Parks Canada's negotiations for new park establishment with provincial and territorial governments and Aboriginal peoples. However, prior land use allocation decisions can make the achievement of boundaries with the highest priority on ecological integrity an ongoing challenge. The federal-provincial agreement for Wapusk National Park, recently legislated under the Canada National Parks Act, does include measures for regional co-operation on ecological integrity objectives. UNDER WAY. Parks Canada will continue to negotiate park establishment agreements that give the highest priority to ecological integrity considerations. Parks Canada will also endeavour to ensure that appropriate regional cooperation measures are in place to support ecological integrity objectives, when provincial government support for such measures can be secured.
(8-5) We recommend that Parks Canada improve local support and future regional co-operation for candidate park sites by ... Parks Canada recognizes that local support is essential to the establishment of new national parks and makes every effort to secure and respect the involvement of local communities in park establishment processes. UNDER WAY. Parks Canada will continue its efforts to build and improve upon local support and regional cooperation during park feasibility studies. The specific suggestions for promoting a common vision for land use in the greater ecosystem will be considered on a case-by-case basis, as new park establishment agreements are negotiated.


Previous | Index | Next

Rapport d'étape sur la mise en oeuvre des recommandations de la Commission sur l'intégrité écologique des parcs nationaux du Canada


Chapitre 8 : Les parcs nationaux et le réseau canadien d'aires protégées
Recommandation de la Commission Considérations Mesures
(8-3) Nous recommandons que la ministre élargisse le réseau de parcs nationaux pour assurer la représentation écologique des 39 régions naturelles, selon la définition de Parcs Canada. Nous recommandons également que la ministre assure que des fonds suffisants soient affectés à l'établissement de nouveaux parcs et que ceux-ci disposent de fonds suffisants pour la planification, l'exploitation et la gestion de l'écosystème, non au détriment des fonds affectés aux parcs existants. Quatre nouveaux parcs nationaux couvrant 54 412 kilomètres carrés ont été créés depuis 1993. Dans la discours du Trône de 2001, le gouvernement s'engageait à « investir dans la création de nouveaux parcs nationaux. » EN COURS – FINANCEMENT. Le gouvernement poursuit activement ses efforts en vue d'établir de nouveaux parcs nationaux dans 8 des 14 régions naturelles non représentées. Des négociations sont en cours pour créer le parc national Ukkusiksalik et la réserve de parc national des Monts-Torngat. En collaboration avec le gouvernement de la Colombie-Britannique, on acquiert des terres en vue de l'établissement du parc national des Iles du Golfe. Des études de faisabilité seront entreprises sous peu ou sont en cours dans cinq autres régions naturelles. Le financement requis pour parachever le réseau des parcs nationaux fait partie de la stratégie de mise en oeuvre préparée pour être soumise à l'étude du gouvernement dans le cadre du processus budgétaire régulier. Les progrès futurs dans le parachèvement du réseau seront sujets à la disponibilité de nouveaux fonds.
(8-4) Nous recommandons que Parcs Canada négocie des ententes d'établissement de parc faisant du maintien de l'intégrité écologique la première priorité, en établissant par exemple des limites permettant l'atteinte des objectifs d'intégrité écologique. Il faut également s'assurer que des mesures de collaboration régionales sont en place à l'appui des objectifs d'intégrité écologique. Cela a toujours été le but des négociations de Parcs Canada avec les gouvernements provinciaux et territoriaux et les peuples autochtones en vue de l'établissement de nouveaux parcs. Cependant, en raison de décisions antérieures concernant l'utilisation des terres, l'instauration de limites accordant la plus haute priorité à l'intégrité écologique peut devenir un défi constant. L'entente fédérale-provinciale au sujet du parc national Wapusk, entérinée récemment par la Loi sur les parcs nationaux du Canada contient en effet des mesures de coopération régionale sur les objectifs d'intégrité écologique. EN COURS. Parcs Canada va continuer à négocier des ententes d'établissement de parcs qui donnent la plus haute priorité aux considérations d'intégrité écologique. Parcs Canada va également chercher à s'assurer que des mesures appropriées de collaboration régionale sont prises pour soutenir les objectifs d'intégrité écologique lorsqu'il est possible d'obtenir l'appui des gouvernements provinciaux à de telles mesures.
(8-5) Nous recommandons que Parcs Canada rehausse le soutien local et la collaboration régionale future relativement aux parcs éventuels, par... Parcs Canada reconnaît qu'il est essentiel d'obtenir un soutien local pour l'établissement de nouveaux parcs nationaux et fait tout en son pouvoir pour obtenir et respecter la participation des collectivités locales aux processus d'établissement de parcs. EN COURS. Parcs Canada va poursuivre les efforts qu'il déploie pour miser sur le soutien local et la collaboration régionale durant les études de faisabilité des parcs et pour les améliorer. La suggestion particulière de promouvoir une vision commune pour l'utilisation des terres dans le grand écosystème sera étudiée au cas par cas au fur et à mesure que seront négociées les nouvelles ententes d'établissement d'un parc.


Page précédente | Index | Page suivante