Progress Report on Implementation of the Recommendations of the Panel on the Ecological Integrity of Canada's National Parks


Chapter 6. Tools for Understanding and Monitoring Ecological Integrity
Panel Recommendation Considerations Action
(6-18) We recommend that Parks Canada make suitable Parks Canada databases publicly available on the Internet. This will ensure data standards are maintained and allow researchers to conduct additional analysis that can benefit Parks Canada. Costs associated with the translation of databases to comply with official languages requirements may be prohibitive. Some Parks Canada databases include data purchased from other agencies and Parks Canada may not have the right to distribute these data further. UNDER WAY - FUNDING. Parks Canada will make metadata available on the Internet. The Chief Information Officer is leading preparation of a Recorded Information Management Strategy for Parks Canada and, along with the Geomatics Steering Committee, is studying mechanisms for data and information diffusion for internal and external usage (in conjunction with Natural Resources Canada - GeoConnections). The extent and timing of doing so are subject to the availability of new funding.
(6-19) We recommend that Parks Canada enhance its ability to manage and share information at the National Office, Service Centres and national parks, so that Parks Canada can share data and information "vertically" within the organization and "horizontally," at appropriate scales, with external partners, as follows ... Parks Canada is actively involved in projects with other governments and a wide range of stakeholders. In these projects, exchanging data will be vital and Parks Canada needs to make significant improvements in this area. Parks Canada is a member of several federal interdepartmental committees which promote the sharing and development of standards, technology and policies for information. UNDER WAY - FUNDING. The Recorded Information Management Strategy will provide the framework for facilitating the exchange of information across Parks Canada. For ecological data specifically, the Ecological Data Management Directive will provide data standards to facilitate future exchange of ecological data within Parks Canada. It will also direct national parks to design and develop their ecological databases within a regional context to ensure they can be shared with adjacent land managers. The extent and timing of progress in this area are subject to the availability of new funding.
(6-20) We recommend that Parks Canada become an active partner in ongoing national efforts to establish a Biodiversity Resource Network. Parks Canada's involvement could range from cataloguing its databases for network access to participating in the design of the Network's structure to ensure the Network will meet Parks Canada's needs.   UNDER WAY - FUNDING. Parks Canada is participating in the federal interdepartmental CBIN (Canadian Biodiversity Information Network) initiative to create a national Internet-accessible database on Canadian biodiversity The extent and timing of Parks Canada's participation are subject to the availability of new funding.


Previous | Index

Rapport d'étape sur la mise en oeuvre des recommandations de la Commission sur l'intégrité écologique des parcs nationaux du Canada


Chapitre 6 : Outils de compréhension et d'évaluation de l'intégrité écologique
Recommandation de la Commission Considérations Mesures
(6-18) Nous recommandons que Parcs Canada rende certaines de ses bases de données accessibles au public dans Internet, en vue d'assurer le maintien des normes sur les données et de permettre aux chercheurs de réaliser des analyses supplémentaires dont Parcs Canada pourrait profiter. Il pourrait être prohibitif de traduire les bases de données pour respecter les exigences en matière de langues officielles. Certaines bases de données de Parcs Canada comprennent des données achetées d'autres organismes et Parcs Canada pourrait ne pas avoir le droit de diffuser ces données davantage. EN COURS – FINANCEMENT. Parcs Canada rendra l'ensemble des données accessibles sur Internet. Le dirigeant principal de l'information dirige la préparation d'une Stratégie de gestion de l'information consignée pour Parcs Canada et, avec le Comité directeur sur la géomatique, étudie des mécanismes de diffusion des données et de l'information pour usage interne et externe (conjointement avec Ressources naturelles Canada – GéoConnections). L'étendue et le choix du moment de cette mesure sont sujets à la disponibilité de nouveaux fonds.
(6-19) Nous recommandons que Parcs Canada rehausse sa capacité de gestion et de partage d'information au Bureau national, dans les Centres de services et dans les parcs nationaux, de sorte que Parcs Canada puisse partager des données et de l'information verticalement, à l'intérieur de l'organisation, et horizontalement, avec ses partenaires de l'extérieur, comme suit... Parcs Canada participe activement à des projets avec d'autres gouvernements et une foule d'intervenants. Dans ces projets, l'échange de données sera vital et Parcs Canada a d'importantes améliorations à apporter dans ce domaine. Parcs Canada est membre de plusieurs comités interministériels fédéraux faisant la promotion du partage et de l'élaboration de normes, de technologies et de politiques pour l'information. EN COURS – FINANCEMENT. La Stratégie de gestion de l'information consignée va fournir un cadre pour faciliter l'échange de l'information à Parcs Canada. Pour les données écologiques proprement dites, la Directive sur la gestion des données écologiques va fournir des normes pour les données, ce qui va faciliter l'échange futur des données écologiques au sein de Parcs Canada. Elle va également exiger que les parcs nationaux conçoivent et développent leurs bases de données écologiques dans un contexte régional afin de s'assurer qu'elles peuvent être partagées avec les gestionnaires des terres adjacentes. L'étendue et le choix du moment des progrès dans ce domaine sont sujets à la disponibilité de nouveaux fonds.
(6-20) Nous recommandons que Parcs Canada participe activement, à titre de partenaire, aux initiatives nationales visant à créer un réseau de ressources sur la biodiversité. La participation de Parcs Canada pourrait revêtir plusieurs formes, par exemple le catalogage de ses bases de données pour les rendre accessibles à l'échelle du réseau ou la participation à la conception de la structure du réseau afin d'assurer qu'il répond aux besoins de Parcs Canada.   EN COURS – FINANCEMENT. Parcs Canada participe au Réseau canadien d'information sur la biodiversité (RCIB), une initiative interministérielle fédérale visant à créer une base de données nationale sur la biodiversité canadienne accessible sur Internet. L'étendue et le choix du moment de la participation de Parcs Canada sont sujets à la disponibilité de nouveaux fonds.


Page précédente | Index